University Barber Shop

University Barber Shop

892 Foothill Boulevard
San Luis Obispo CA 93405
805-543-8253

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Facebook
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Sep 16, 2020 by Louie Morones

    Best hair barbershop in SLO county

  • Sep 12, 2020 by Elijah Ellison

    Very friendly barbers and did a great job with my hair. 15 dollars for a haircut is a very good price especially for students.

  • Jun 28, 2020 by Kenneth Egan

    GREAT HAIRCUTS

  • Jan 15, 2020 by Carrie A.

    If you don't know how to cut longer men's hair  SAY SO before you mess up a hair cut. What my son wanted www shoulder length hair not hair 3" above the shoulder with layers that look horrible.  It looks like a kid who did thiS. Don't go here.

  • Aug 05, 2019 by Cynthia P.

    Deffenetly recommend ROY! He  makes sure that the cut is what I want and if not he'll take the time to satisfy my needs . Great personality and great techniques go check him out !

  • Jun 23, 2019 by El Feo

    Great service. Very accommodating.

  • May 30, 2019 by Gonzalo A.

    I had a great experience here. Got my haircut by Roy, who was really friendly, took his time to make sure that everything came out just the way I wanted, and offered some advice on how to keep my hair looking good. Great haircut and well worth the price!

  • Apr 26, 2019 by Marly S

    They cut all of our sons hair and do an awesome job!

  • Apr 26, 2019 by Dominic Nakagawa

    Good

  • Feb 23, 2019 by Tina L Clay Clay

    I didnt leave home today

  • Jan 29, 2019 by shelley booker

    Walk right in, sit right diwn for a great cut at a shop conveniently located!

  • Jan 11, 2019 by Not A.

    Thoroughly enjoyed my experience here, great cut, nice barbers. They said hello when I walked in and have a great day as I left. Just great old school customer service. The barber shop takes me back to the type of barber shops I went to as a kid, very clean, sports games on the TV, plush leather waiting chairs and great assortment of magazines on the rack. I came in expecting a long wait with all the people already there, but I was in a chair getting cut within 10 minutes. I will be back!

  • Jan 10, 2019 by Effbb D.

    What the F U C K. They didn't even asked me what I wanted they just started chomping away. Now I look like a goddamn hard-boiled egg.

  • Dec 18, 2018 by Rich Gallegos

    A classic barbershop with usually three chairs open. The barbers give suggestions on style. Best for businessmen or people in a public setting. The cost is cheaper than Supercuts. There’s restaurants nearby if you have to wait a bit.

  • Dec 14, 2018 by Anna Yarwood

    Fantastic stylists. Cash only. They have an ATM on site.

  • Nov 18, 2018 by Shane Alayvilla

    The haircut is decently priced but you get what you pay for. Most of the barbers don't really know how to do more of the modern haircuts. They also only accept cash.

  • Nov 11, 2018 by Cian Amor

    God awful if you want a contemporary haircut. These old men are so old fashion and can't match modern trends. Awful haircuts for me and my friends, I don't even know how they can think that the haircut is satisfactory. Low price for the worst satisfaction. Would not recommend if you are under 30.

  • Oct 24, 2018 by Samuel P.

    One of the worst haircuts I've ever gotten. I came in with semi-long hair and left with sideburns and bangs cut way too short. The sides were uneven and the back was left long. I had to go to another barber shop to get it fixed, but there was only so much they could do. Horrible experience. Barber was not very communicative and cut my bangs straight across like a bowl cut. I was utterly and totally shocked. Never would come back again. I definitely could've cut my hair better.

  • Oct 08, 2018 by Jared C.

    I'm not from the area, so I've only been to a couple places in SLO, but this one was by far the worst. I went less than a year ago because I heard they were cheap and accepted walk-ins. When I showed up, there was almost no one in the place, but there was also only one or two guys cutting hair. I ended up only having to wait for a couple minutes before getting my cut. An older man cut my hair, and while he was friendly, he seemed rushed and did a mediocre job at best. I have very thick hair, so sometimes it's hard to cut and style. I asked for a 1-2 fade on the sides, and that was alright I guess. The sideburns were fine. None of that was too terrible. However, most barbers use some type or spray bottle to dampen the hair before going for a scissor cut on top and blending the sides. However, this dude just straight up starts grabbing random pieces of hair and cutting away with scissors. I was confused at first, but I figured he knew what he was doing. Boy was I wrong. My hair was unevenly cut and just looked a mess. It wasn't the worst cut I have ever had, but it looked like whoever cut my hair had never done this before. Furthermore, I mainly went because everywhere online said they only charged $14. I was charged close to $20, and they didn't even accept cards. I might as well have just gone to any of the more reputable places in town. I would not recommend unless you're unable to schedule an appointment elsewhere. Two stars is generous...

  • Sep 27, 2018 by David Darbyshire II

    A great "Home town" barber shop.

  • Sep 04, 2018 by Summer worsham

    I am really particular about my hair, it’s my leading feature; the woman who cut my hair was about to execute my vision. She did a great job. The conversation was a bit awkward but it rarely isn’t when you’re getting a cut. I believe UBS is the least expensive place in SLO to get a haircut. I wish they had more product options in stock. The shop gave a very old person vibe. However I would go back.

  • Aug 20, 2018 by Paul Kane

    Well priced, nice staff, and I love taking my son here to show him how things are still amazing while being simple.

  • Jul 24, 2018 by Kevin Matea

    Quality service fair prices.

  • Jul 09, 2018 by Paying C.

    Really genuinely nice guys who cut your hair the way you want it. Way better than some other places I've been to in town.

  • Jun 22, 2018 by Brad Hampton

    Both my son and I got cuts from Casey. Good, skilled cuts in a comfortable shop at a good price. Five stars.

  • Jun 15, 2018 by Charles Smith

    Was pretty happy with the service here got a cut and color and they gave me a nice shave with a hot rag after the shave quick head massage and neck great value for the buck 2

  • Jun 05, 2018 by Brian S.

    I usually get my haircut here in town and they've done a great job so far! I usually get a skin fade and it comes out well. If you want a good cut, ask for Chris. She really likes to make sure you're getting the cut you want and is very polite about it. You can't go wrong with her   The environment is welcoming and the price of 14$ for a cut is pretty unbeatable in SLO. I've had only good experiences here :)

  • May 23, 2018 by Jon Bauer

    This spot is solid for a good haircut, can get very busy at times. Casey is my barber, but they all do a great job. Do not overpay for a fade somewhere else that looks nicer, this is the place to go...

  • Mar 24, 2018 by Anmika C.

    I am very upset. I took my son here because we have a funeral to go to tomorrow. My son walked in there with what I consider semi-long hair, and walked out looking as if he got a haircut at an orphanage or prison because of a lice outbreak. He said he wanted it short around the sides and longer on top. I took out the ruler; it's 1/4" top and sides. Which means the lady used a #2 and just buzzed his head. To top it off I had to take scissors out to cut off the long wisps of hair, and the sideburns are too short and uneven. My son refuses to go to the funeral and I'm not sure if I'll be able to convince him to go to school. My son has been going into Supercuts and Sportclips for years. We've had a few haircuts that were less than perfect. But I have never seen or experienced anything like this. The look in my sons eyes when he got in the car was complete devastation. I would have went in to complain and ask for my money back, but I didn't want to upset him more. I keep telling him it's just hair, and it will grow back. But this should never happen.

  • Mar 20, 2018 by Rogan Ritchie

    It had been 3 YEARS since I got a haircut and it was easy as

  • Mar 13, 2018 by Teresa Rempe

    I must say that this Barber Shop is very Open and Offers Friendly Services, This is the kind of place where you take your son for his first big boy hair cut!!!......

  • Mar 09, 2018 by Jack Montgomery

    They cut my hair good

  • Mar 08, 2018 by Hans guy

    Great place to get a haircut reasonable price

  • Feb 11, 2018 by Adam Lesmeister

    Made me feel like a man again.

  • Feb 07, 2018 by Kamyar J.

    Let me start by saying I've never written a yelp review. This place was so terrible that I couldn't hold myself back from doing so. I walked and proceeded to ask for a clean up around the sides of my hair. I felt the barber continuously jabbing into my head and he kept making comments about how cutting the hair was difficult. When he thought he has finished, he showed me the back of my head and I saw uneven spots and a laughable attempt at a fade. The cut was so bad that I had to contact another shop in town to fix the damage. Very disappointed!

  • Dec 14, 2017 by Kinser C.

    It's so quick and easy to walk in and get an amazing haircut here for a very low price!! The owner, Bob, and his staff give University Barber Shop an enjoyable, sociable atmosphere that anyone can enjoy. I highly recommend it to the college crowd of SLO and anyone else who wants the best bang for their buck on an extraordinary haircut

  • Dec 02, 2017 by casey sears

    Very clean and great cuts good attention to detail

  • Dec 02, 2017 by Jacob Rumpf

    I had a very good experience with one barber, who was professional, efficient, and knew how to translate my poor description into a good cut. However, another barber was hard of hearing and didn't do a very good job of matching my description. I believe that the best barber working here is always in the farthest chair from the front door (that's his assigned booth). For $14, he does a fantastic job.

  • Oct 07, 2017 by Samuel Verkruyse

    Some of the guys here do a better job than others, and they're a bit hesitant to cut really short, but it is still a solid cut for the price

  • Sep 14, 2017 by Spencer L.

    Just got my hair cut here yesterday. One of the worst cuts I've ever had. Stray hair was left uncut around my ears. The taper down to my sideburns was choppy and noticeable. They tapered the back of my neck to a 0 when I asked for a 3. And despite asking for a 3 on the sides, there were patches of hair on the left side that were left up to an inch long. They didn't even cut the top of my hair to the length that I asked for. At the end, I didn't even ask them to fix it because I didn't trust them at all to do a better job. Won't be coming back.

  • Sep 12, 2017 by John L.

    This place is absolute trash. I gave this guy specific directions, none of which were followed. He finished off by shaving off a small area near the part of my hair which will take at least 2 weeks to grow back. At which point I will go get another haircut far away from this awful place

  • Aug 12, 2017 by Jake KidsTube

    They cut all of our sons haor and do an awesome job!

  • Jul 16, 2017 by Matt Walker

    Excellent haircut for $14. Very friendly. Cash only

  • Jul 08, 2017 by Max Thornton

    Friendly staff, they know what they are doing. I have tried new hairstyles there and they always do a good job at making the styles work. Though I should note that trying a new style wasn't always intentional. Asking for something with some small sideways motion got me an ivy league haircut. It looked good in the end, but communication can hard sometimes

  • Jul 02, 2017 by Sai Sujit Madiraju

    Good old-school vibes with friendly staff make this place real nice. Prices are also more affordable than the local chain barber shops.

  • Jun 27, 2017 by Eric Ralls

    They have good prices

  • Jun 19, 2017 by Dirk Cummings

    Good bunch of barbers. Friendly, good prices.

  • Jun 09, 2017 by Faustino Edralin

    Don't get me wrong. They're really good here but they're not my favorite.

  • Jun 03, 2017 by Patrick Maguire

    Haircut was good, shave was so-so. Cash only.

  • May 29, 2017 by Lawrence Pedrosa

    Clean, professional, not much of a wait. They went a little closer to the skin than I would've liked but maybe I should've been more clear.

  • May 21, 2017 by Gary Stevenson

    Convenient location with talented barbers.

  • Apr 09, 2017 by Brian C.

    I unfortunately do not remember my barber's name but man was he great. I came here on a Saturday afternoon and there was only a ten minute wait. There were about five or six barber chairs and three of them were filled. I usually go to Kut to be the Best or Beauty College. This is now my go to spot. Service was phenomenal!! My barber has been cutting hair for 49 years and only works part time. I got a comb over and fade. $14 for a haircut!!!!!!!!!!!!! My favorite part is that they use a vacuum cleaner to dust you off in the end and it feels great. Great Service! Short Wait time! $14! Interior is new and clean but decorated like its old. Barber chairs are old fashioned!! :)

  • Mar 28, 2017 by Gabriel Levy

    Quick and easy hair cut

  • Mar 18, 2017 by Jacob Rumpf

    Very professional with a classic old barbershop experience. I was expecting to be charged upwards of $30 from how good of a job they did, but it was only $14 (including tax). I cannot recommend this place more to college students looking for a good, incredibly priced haircut.

  • Feb 02, 2017 by Bill Leys

    Great place to get an inexpensive cut. After your done head to Miles tavern for an IPA.

  • Jan 29, 2017 by Ted Seeley

    Best barber shop in town.

  • Jan 25, 2017 by Chris H.

    Gotta be kidding me dude! Don't even think about it. I've been growing my hair out, was looking for a trim on the sides to clean it up. Asked for no more than an inch off the back and sides... Got an undercut unevenly faded to a 0 at the back! 8 months of patience gone with $14. Can't even go somewhere else to get the fade fixed because he went to a f*cking 0!!! STAY AWAY!

  • Jan 21, 2017 by Mike B.

    I went in at around 9 and asked for a taper with my hair long enough on top to have a combover. Hair was not cut even on both sides and way shorter than I asked for. I'll be wearing a hat for a couple of weeks and am not satisfied at all with my haircut.

  • Oct 25, 2016 by Nick W.

    Walked in today about noon was greeted by Bob who gave me the exact cut I wanted and when it came time to check out it was only 14$! Probably the cheapest haircut I've ever gotten.  Really clean, nice shop, with great customer service.  Highly recommend!

  • Jul 21, 2016 by Garret G.

    I am from out of town and needed a haircut. I walked and one guy was free. He gave the cut I wanted and I am happy I found the place.

  • Jul 18, 2016 by Russee Parvin

    Hi John and I was in school from first grade on . we lived in . Arroyo and we're neighbors. Russee PARVIN. I like his work and we both laughf about lifelong friends class of 1964.amen. Smile.

  • Jun 07, 2016 by Jerry W.

    This is the only place in SLO where I've felt satisfied with my hair cut. All the barbers are very nice and know their stuff...even with my difficult hair they were able to deal with it and weren't afraid to give recommendations on how it might grow out better. Definitely recommend Casey, he's fast, pays attention to detail, and easy to talk to. Wish I found this place sooner!

  • May 31, 2016 by Regen W.

    From my boyfriend: After leaving my old barber of twenty years, I was on the search for a new barber who could treat me and my hair well. I have found that in spades with the guys at University Barber Shop. Every barber there has done a good job in cutting my hair the way I would like it to be done. The shop is a no frills establishment, but you'll usually find good company, good conversation, and guys that know what they're doing. And at $13 a head, you can't really do any better than these guys.

  • Apr 20, 2016 by Kyle M.

    I've been getting my hair cut from Casey for almost a year now and I only have good things to say. He is friendly, listens to what I want to get get done, has impeccable attention to detail, and lets me know ahead of time if he wont be in the shop on the days I usually stop by. Other than Casey's expertise, the shop is always clean, has a restroom, and there are rarely women inside (other than that rare occasion that some silly dude decides to bring is GF with him to get his haircut) DON'T BE THAT GUY. I recomend

  • Mar 18, 2016 by Emily Fox

    My boyfriend goes here for his haircuts and loves it. It's his favorite barbershop in SLO. Clean, professional, courteous service. Theses guys really know what they're doing. It's easy to walk in and get a cut right away and they have great rates. He highly recommends them.

  • Nov 21, 2015 by David S

  • Jan 12, 2015 by Tim S.

    Well, I've been coming to University Barber Shop since I was a little kid. I'm now quite a bit older and no longer live in SLO. Whenever I'm home visiting I come in for a haircut because every other barber shop I've ever visited has left me with an unsatisfying haircut. University Barber is old school, no razzle dazzle. They'll give you exactly the haircut you want.

  • Oct 12, 2014 by S B.

    I took my son here last week and had the BEST barbershop experience I could have asked for! Experience, reputation, and the history of this barber shop standing the test of time for over 50 years is evidence enough for me! ASK FOR CASEY!!!

  • Aug 26, 2014 by Jack B.

    Awesome cut every time I come here. They always pay great attention to detail and take their time. One if the cheapest places in town from my experience. Just a bunch of old dudes cutting hair all day.

  • Oct 12, 2013 by Brian C.

    Heard there were only military style haircuts, was proven wrong. I got complemented the whole day about the cut. Even though the barber didn't cut it exactly how I explained, he got the jist of what style I was going for. And I agree with his better judgement. only con: pricier than my viet barber at home

  • Jun 01, 2013 by Christina G.

    Five stars to Eva alone, for putting up with our 2 year old's screaming and crying during his haircut. Not only did she manage to complete the haircut,.. She really gave him a great stylish one!   She was incredibly patient (and skillfull), we'll definitely be using her again for his future haircuts.

  • Nov 06, 2012 by Richard Straight

    University Barber Shop has been an SLO "best of choice" for myself, locals and Poly students for decades in this area. They have always had great prices, friendly service and do a professional job. What else can you ask for. I highly recommend them.

  • Sep 08, 2012 by Randall O.

    This place is like a Casino, you bet $13 and either walk out a winner... or a huge loser. The sad part is that the odds are about the same, 99% of the time you'll  walk out looking like a piece of crap. I kept going out of habit and convenience. There have been times where I go in and they only cut the left side of my head and then brush the right side over to cover it up. Sometimes the only cut the back and leave the front growing wild. There have only been two times where I didn't go home and finish the haircut myself. Avoid this place if you need to look good in the following weeks.

  • Jun 06, 2012 by John A.

    Pretty disappointed with the place. It just felt like the whole time it was trying to be a barber shop. I'll tell you this: what makes a barber shop are the barbers and their skill. Not how long they've had their license or how many old photos they have plastered on the wall. I had the female barber who was not afraid to take her time on "detail". But her idea of detail wasn't really good. My friend asked me if I got a bucket cut when I came back. Lol. Not the type of comment I paid $12 + $5 tip for. Also the seating arrangement is awkward as you face the people getting hair cuts and they face you. A big negative for me was the woman's (though while waiting, I noticed it for all the other barbers) was their disposition towards using the trimmer the majority of the time. Not once did my barber use scissors and elbow grease- kind of was turned off because that's why I left super cuts a while back. Pass this place on your way to a more legitimate barber.

  • May 20, 2012 by Ben C.

    Pros: Very inexpensive ($13 for a cut). I just got a clipper cut and it turned out very nice, they even vacuumed my head after to remove all the little hairs! Cons: Cash Only, although the stylist offered to cut my hair first and let me walk to the atm after she was finished.

  • Apr 01, 2012 by Fan T.

    This place is very close to campus and the prices aren't that bad. This place is only $13 for a normal haircut. Children and seniors are only $12. The problem though is the attention to detail. When I looked in the mirror there were obvious mistakes. The hairline was jagged instead of straight and a lot of loose hairs chunks were misplaced. I pointed it out and the barber did not seem too happy about it. Then proceeded to cut a couple times without really looking and didn't seem to fix the problem but make it worse. This is just for the from of the hairline where most make it an even straight line, not something terribly difficult. In the end I decided it wasn't worth arguing since he seemed annoyed when I first asked if he could straighten it out. The total haircut took about 15 minutes. They are fast but not very good, seems like they just want to get your money and move on to the next. I recommend going somewhere else.

  • Oct 13, 2010 by Chuck N.

    Saturday, 11:30AM. Confirmed with Barber A (there were three, so I randomly picked one to chop the locks) that there were two people ahead of me. Waited and read the latest Sports Illustrated. As the second patron was leaving, another customer came in and greeted Barber A. He tried to seat the new customer as I was getting ready for my turn. I let people cut if there's a good reason but there was none here. When I inquired, Barber A's response: "he's in a rush", which is why you attempted to seat him while I was engrossed in the basketball article. And then...? Never thought I would experience extended nepotism, in the hair cutting industry no less. Nope, choler didn't best me...though Chris Brown's song sums up the potential of future business nicely: "Chuckin' up them deuces!"

  • Apr 10, 2010 by Matt C.

    Basic cuts at a great price, perfect for my uninspiring look.  Three guys, one girl, all of whom work as independent contractors, and all with years of experience.  Barbering is like surgery -- go to someone with lots and lots of experience.  I've tried Eva once and Rich twice, and I've been very happy all 3 times.  This place always reminds me of the shops where I used to get those stupid flat-top cuts when I was a kid, except they don't seem to give out Bazooka bubble gum.

  • Nov 25, 2008 by Anthony Giardina

    Old fashioned barber shop, but at a good price. They are all very nice there, and its a short walk/bike from Poly. Definitely recommended.

  • Apr 28, 2007 by Red W.

    University Barber shop is a unique experience, almost all of the barbers are male (one female exception), and I believe all of them are over 50.  This probably isn't he place to go if you're looking at getting highlights done, but I get traditional male haircuts and the attention to detail is amazing. A lot of times at supercuts, they almost rip your hair out with the buzzer, I suspect because most of the people working at supercuts have never had that thing used on them.  At the Barber Shop, they take appropriate care while brandishing a buzzer while still getting the job done quickly. On top of that, they're much more laid back, and they often have ESPN on the tv while you're there, which is great. The only weird/annoying thing about the place is they're closed on Tuesdays, but that's my biggest complaint.  They also only accept cash.