Salon Glo

Salon Glo

2240 Emily Street
San Luis Obispo CA 93401
805-541-1803

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Facebook
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Nov 18, 2020 by Bill Westmoreland

    Jackie is awesome and always accommodating with my crazy schedule.

  • Nov 07, 2020 by Jan Speer

    Great service and quality hair care!

  • Oct 02, 2020 by Ayesha G.

    Salon Glo is so amazing! They had covid-safe procedures of temp checking and mask wearing. I came ~40 minutes late for my appointment due to complications and not only did they take me in, they took their time with my cut and style and the stylist was so sweet! Reasonably priced as well. Thank you!!

  • Sep 23, 2020 by Maison Rod

    I was nervous to try out a new hair stylists, but Jacki from Salon Glo was super professional and did a great job on my hair. The environment was very relaxing, and stations were super clean. I will definitely be going back, and recommend this salon to others!

  • Jul 20, 2020 by Elizabeth Rivera

    I'm a first time visitor and very happy with my haircut appointment with Sharelle. I'm definitely coming back.

  • Jan 11, 2020 by Deidra L.

    This is a true hidden Gemi I had the Best experience with Jacki,?The Owner and I am so thrilled to have best hair color and style in very long time! Highly recommend her salon for all your best life needs

  • Jan 08, 2020 by Debbi Nicole

    I didnt go in just walked by

  • Dec 14, 2019 by Jess Kolak-Mallett

    Super friendly staff!
    Very knowledgable about product, most importantly can do great hair!
    Jacki L. is my Stylist, and she is amazing.

  • Nov 10, 2019 by Jan Speer

    Excellent .. great colors and cut for all of us. Thank you!

  • Oct 24, 2019 by Melissa Micka Fitness Coaching Ltd.

    LOVE this salon and LOVE Jackie even more! I love how she did exactly what I wanted all while adding her own creative spin. This will be my home salon from here on out!

  • Aug 30, 2019 by Teresa Pemberton

    Rekesha is great, totally gets my curly hair. Nice salon.

  • Aug 30, 2019 by Teresa Pemberton

    Rekesha is great, totally gets my curly hair. Nice salon.

  • Aug 27, 2019 by Melissa S.

    I found myself in SLO on my anniversary with quite possibly the worst hair cut I've had in a while. I decided to call around and see if I could find someone to fix my hair Well I hit the jackpot with Rakesha. She not only fixed my hideous hair, she gave me one of the best haircuts I've ever had. She is a miracle worker! She is precise and a perfectionist, both great qualities in a hairdresser. She had some great tips on conditioning too! Now my only problem is how to get back to SLO for my next haircut? If you're lucky enough to live there, go see Rakesha, she is a true artist and a super sweet lady.

  • Jul 21, 2019 by Dennis N.

    Jackie made my out of control hair look wonderful. She shaped it so that as it grows out it won't look like a patch of weeds.  I can't speak to the quality of their waxing services or the skin care.

  • Jun 20, 2019 by Sally S.

    I have paid as little as $12 for a haircut and as much as $100 and been dissatisfied.  Today I paid $55 for a great haircut.  I was shopping in SLO and my hair looked awful the result of both $12 and $100 hair stylists who didn't know how to handle my thick hair with 2 cow licks.  I called at 2:30 pm and got an appointment for 4:30 pm.  Perfect!  Everything about the experience with Aurajoy was great.  She understood what I wanted and had the skills to get me there.  The shop is on Emily Street out of the downtown area which means it has free designated parking.  I am a seasonal visit to the SLO.  I live half the time in Tucson, AZ and half of the time in Pismo Beach.  From now on I will only get my hair cut here.

  • Jun 17, 2019 by Sean

    Aurajoy is the best!!

  • Jun 16, 2019 by Affie D.

    Loved my experience last weekend! I was in SLO for a wedding and I got the most beautiful half up-do done by the owner!!!

  • Jun 04, 2019 by Jessica B.

    I haven't been to Salon Glo for hair services (although every time I've been in they seem to be doing an amazing job with people's locks). I do however come here regularly for waxing services and their esthetician Megan is the best! She makes you feel so comfortable and relaxed, whether you are in for a Brazilian bikini wax, eyebrow tweeze, or other service. She always gives me amazing results with her waxing and keeps its as painless as possible. It makes me excited for my monthly appointment knowing that I get to catch up with her. Highly highly recommend for top quality and affordable waxing services in SLO!

  • Jun 01, 2019 by Alexandra W.

    Loved the salon and I love my hair  - stoked that Aura offers free bang trims between visits. I appreciated her knowledgeable product suggestions and look forward to making this salon and Aura's expertise a part of my regular beauty routine. Thanks Aura!

  • Feb 02, 2019 by Kristina T.

    Rakesha is the best! She fit my sister and I in last minute, skipping her lunch! I came in for a trim and got the best trim I've ever gotten! She treats my hair with such care and she is such a perfectionist and wants everything (even a trim) to be absolutely perfect!! She styled my hair and made me look amazing!! I completely recommend her for any and all styles and cuts!! In general, the place is very clean and everyone is super friendly! They have very nice hair products and a very welcoming space!!

  • Jan 02, 2019 by Harley H.

    Great experiences always at salon glo. Megan kenny has been doing a great job with getting my eyebrows exactly how i want them and she also has a great personality to match the work ethic . I highly recommend her .

  • Aug 16, 2018 by chloe erwin

    Aura Joy dyed my hair and it turned out great. Super talented, super professional, fantastic prices, and great location. Definitely recommend this place, will be going back.

  • May 10, 2018 by Olivia E.

    I got my bangs cut by Sharelle and I couldn't be happier! She was kind, enthusiastic and made for a great conversation buddy. Personality aside, she did exactly what I wanted and more! She is tallented and knew how to cut my hair based on it's texture and length. Im a student at Cal Poly, so working around my class schedule was very difficult and I had been searching for a salon for days. I called Salon Glo late at night on Tuesday and I received a call back the next morning. I couldn't respond because I was in class but as soon as I called again (around 2) I was able to book two appointments, one for me and one for my friend, and 4:30. The salon is clean and everyone was very friendly! Overall amazing experience. I will be coming here to get my hair cut for the next four years of college!!

  • May 05, 2018 by Judith Howard

    I love my Aura Joy!

  • Feb 08, 2018 by Leslie Nelson

    Friendly & professional staff; clean & beautiful salon! Fully stocked with products - & locally-made artisan jewelry (mine!).

  • Nov 30, 2017 by Corey E.

    This place is just...everything. It's comfy, friendly, and clean. Aura does my hair and she's the coolest! She does a wonderful job and always leaves you feeling beautiful and your very best. She really  listens to you and walks you through getting to your vision. I cannot recommend Aura, or Salon Glo, enough.

  • Oct 14, 2017 by Whitney Szentesi

    Jackie is fantastic and this salon is wonderful. I have gone there for a haircut and style and Jackie also did my hair on my wedding day. It was gorgeous and exactly what I had envisioned. I highly recommend this salon.

  • Sep 30, 2017 by Keri R.

    I was in dire need of a haircut and saw the good reviews on yelp. Melissa cut my hair and did an awesome job. She didn't try to force the salons products on me and listened to what I wanted, but also gave me some input when I asked for it! Overall a good cut and pretty affordable!

  • Sep 21, 2017 by Marley G.

    Very friendly salon. Melissa did a beautiful cut and color for me I definitely recommend! Great atmosphere and they use all my favorite hair products which is a huge plus.

  • Sep 19, 2017 by Gabrielle V.

    I've been going to Stacey for YEARS now. I have LONG hair, she's always willing to accommodate & work around my schedule. My highlights stay in for 3-6 months. I get compliments constantly on my hair.  I'm super picky with my hair and found this Salon on Yelp when they were at the old location on Orcutt. Everyone is always so sweet, not judgy. Stacey and I always have the best conversations. Look no further I definitely recommend this Salon & Staff

  • Sep 03, 2017 by Sheena S.

    Nice place. I went her a few years back and the experience still shocks me. Stylist kind of condescending. Wouldnt recommend certain products because I "couldnt afford them"..I should have never said I had any children, I guess. I was reminded also how close-minded some people are, when she took the ethnicity of my children into discussion. She went on and on about how as a white child she was picked on by blacks in her neighborhood. Made a big deal out of what products I was using, even went to tell her coworkers in the back how much she disliked my choice for WEN products. I sat there embarassed and able to hear her behind the color mixing station. Was there for almost three hours and had to leave with wet hair because her next appointment arrived and she still wasn't finished. I wouldn't recommend here unless you are white, with white kids(and not too many), and have a perfect life. Who was the stylist you might ask?, Her name sounds unique and sounds like Fakesha, Good luck!

  • Sep 03, 2017 by M M.

    Aura did an AMAZING job on my hair! I came in with medium length hair and lots of light blonde highlights looking for a change to shoulder length darker blonde. I showed her a few pictures of what I wanted and it came out perfect. The color is exactly what I was hoping for and not only did she take immense pride in her work, she is soooo nice and booked me an appointment that ran well past closing time because she knew I was trying to get my hair done before I went out of town a couple days later. I just moved here for college, took a chance on a new place and I'm so glad I chose Salon Glo!

  • Sep 02, 2017 by T. B.

    This review is for Megan and her superb waxing services! I have been getting my bikini waxes from her for over 6 years and have followed her over to Salon Glo. Megans experience with waxing is second to none! She is detailed, quick and so friendly. The wax she uses is for sensitive skin and pain free. I HIGHLY recommend her services!!

  • Aug 25, 2017 by jessica c.

    I've been going to this place since 2012 when I moved back to the area.  I have no reason to leave anytime soon either.  Jacqui, I love you and you're place is awesome to me.  Thanks again. -Kyle

  • Jul 30, 2017 by Elaine L.

    This is a fantastic salon! They accommodated a large wedding party and gave us all the attention needed. Our bride was given top priority and they were professionals and guaranteed their work. Very happy!

  • Jun 22, 2017 by Sean N.

    2 reviews here Updated: Aurajoy is my hairstylist and I follow her where she goes. She is THE BEST. Service, dependablility, friendly and her skill and quality are THE BEST. She has cut my hair and styled it for the past 5 years now and I can't say enough. Megan (wax and esthetician) I'm a guy and keeping the manscaping and body hair under control make a difference. With my back hair waxed off, I stay cooler. My girlfriend loves it. It looks better when your at the beach with you shirt off. She was pain free and her prices are very reasonable. She is very friendly, helpful and Kind. SALON GLO IS THE BEST!!

  • Jun 08, 2017 by Stephanie Linson

  • Apr 21, 2017 by Leyla L.

    This review is for the waxing here. I absolutely love their waxer Megan! She's super nice and does an amazing job. I've been getting everything waxed for almost 8 years now and it's so hard to find someone who really knows what they're doing, especially in a smaller town like Slo. I was so happy to find Megan! Megan takes the time to make sure she doesn't miss any spots, and she really is so thorough. I highly recommend coming to see her for waxing as she makes you feel comfortable and does a great job.

  • Mar 29, 2017 by Mission Country Properties

    Jacki is the BEST!!! Clean and professional salon with talented stylists. I love the new location because of the convenient parking!

  • Feb 04, 2017 by Gina L.

    I had my hair cut today by Melissa and once again it's an amazing cut. Perfection and precision talent. Thank you.

  • Dec 06, 2016 by SpikeTFA

  • Aug 12, 2016 by A Google User

  • Jul 20, 2016 by Chai T.

    This is a great salon with friendly (not snobby) stylists, comfortable vibe and fair prices. I have been seeing Stacey for a couple of years as have a few friends and my hubby, but she just had a baby so not sure if or when she's coming back. I hope so, because she's the bee's knees and I can't find another stylist I like as much. I can't STAND most stylists I go to who act like I should be grateful I got in to see them. Stacey has always been humble, super kind, a great conversationalist (without being overly chatty) and gives me a great cut. She also cuts my daughter's hair (she's 5) and has always made her feel totally at ease and even excited to get her hair cut. I hope Stacey will continue to cut hair here because I don't know what I'll do without her.

  • Jun 26, 2016 by Meg C.

    Got my hair cut in March, got so many complements, I was really pleased.  Next time I likely will insist that the sideburns (sic)! be kept longer, maybe the bangs a bit thinned and more uneven, but otherwise it was so perfect, and it wasn't even cut by the recommended stylist, who was busy.

  • Jun 10, 2016 by Yarina Valverde

    This review is specifically for Pam Cosart, who does waxing at this salon. She is awesome, if you are looking for an experienced, personable and professional statistician, look no more. She is your best bet in town. And the price is good, too!

  • May 25, 2016 by melanie c.

    Jackie has done my cut and color..love her..always get lots of compliments on my hair. My hair is soft and shiny even though I color often. I have also been to Pam several times for a wax, she makes clients feel at ease, and love the hair free outcome..the staff is professional, respects the clients time, the atmosphere is relaxing. Have been to many of the large salons in San Luis, noisy, clients waiting, atmosphere not relaxing..

  • Mar 24, 2016 by A F.

    Great experience at Salon Glo! Facility: updated, clean, comfortable, and pretty large space for a salon, not crowded. Stylist: The owner, Jackie, cut my hair, and I have never had such a good experience with a stylist before! She talked to me about all the specifics of the cut I was looking for, asked great questions, and really got to know my hair and what I was looking for. Price: great price for a cut, maybe just a little under what I consider standard for a woman's cut at a nice salon, so my budget is very happy! All in all a great cut and will be going back!

  • Mar 23, 2016 by Parker H.

    There is no other place to get a Brazilian wax. Pam is seriously the sweetest person - she makes you feel so comfortable and prepared with every step! Yes, the first one hurts, but Pam knows what techniques make it easier. Totally worth it and gets better every time!

  • Mar 18, 2016 by Lisa B.

    My husband and I have been to Melissa twice - both time w/ great results.  I have fine, limp, straight hair - resistant to color and Melissa did a great job.  She suggested improvements to my previous style and she was clearly on track w/ her recommendations.  My husband jumps into her chair between my color and cut and is also very happy w/ the result.  Be sure to ask for Melissa!! :)

  • Dec 05, 2015 by L. A.

    I'm always very reluctant to let others in on beauty secrets, but this one is too good to not mention. I have been through hair dresser after hair dresser, spending from all different ranges of prices to achieve an apparently unobtainable color. My hair is thick and very dark, and it mostly lifts to a Bozo-like orange which I despise. Even knowing the odds were against me, I booked an appointment with Stacey. She is a Godsend! She is very detailed and honest and will work tirelessly to get your hair looking how you want it to. I will never go to anyone else! Thank you Stacey, for always making my blonde highlights look amazing!

  • Nov 04, 2015 by L L.

    Go see Pam. She is the absolute friendliest and the best waxer. I have gone to a few in San Luis and no one did a very good job. I even got a infection from the waxer at Bladerunner. Pam is worth every penny. She makes you feel comfortable and talks to you like you're a friend. You practically forget she's waxing your woo ha!

  • Oct 02, 2015 by Irene U.

    As a college student, there are very few hours in the day that aren't designated for studying. With that being said, Pam accommodated both my roommate and me. She was sweet, helpful, and professional. I will definitely be back!! Thank you, Pam!

  • Sep 24, 2015 by Courtney A.

    Rakesha always does such a great job. I have a lot of hair and she takes excellent care of it!

  • Sep 11, 2015 by Erica H.

    I really like the all the women who work here. And the owner, she is the best most kind. I decided to stop  "getting my hair done". But I still use salon products and this is where I buy them.

  • Aug 19, 2015 by Pamela S.

    Melissa was great.  I have long hair and she nailed the cut and style first time.  I will be back

  • Aug 18, 2015 by Tupelo C.

    Melissa has been my hair dresser for 20+ years. She is the only one I let touch my hair. People always compliment me on how healthy and good my hair is. I owe it all to her. She is a genius with color and I have never had a bad hair cut in all the years I have gone to her.

  • Jul 15, 2015 by Audrey T.

    Pam is an amazing waxing guru! I go to her for Brazilians. I cannot recommend her enough! She makes you feel incredibly comfortable and keeps you laughing the whole time. She is also available for post waxing concerns or troubles. You can tell she really loves what she does.

  • May 05, 2015 by katie k.

    I love this place! Shannon is the only one I let cut my hair since the girl back home who has cut my hair for 20 yrs! She cut it perfectly and my hair is difficult to cut! Pam is my favorite person for waxing and I've tried a few in slo! She makes you feel so welcome and is a sweetheart! I love salon glo! :)

  • Apr 09, 2015 by Michelle B.

    Aurajoy gave me the most spectacular color and cut that I may have ever had. I hadn't had my style updated in a very long time and my hair was very long. She turned a total mess into a masterpiece! A true artist. Thank you!

  • Apr 07, 2015 by Brent Paine

    I've been getting my hair cut for the last 4 years by Aura Joy. She is consistently excellent and a pleasure to see. I highly recommend Salon Glo.

  • Apr 05, 2015 by Whitney D.

    One of the best places to get your hair cut and styled. The owner Jackie styled my hair for my wedding and it couldn't have looked more beautiful. But aside from the fancy styles, I also come here for just a simple cut and style. Everyone who works here is friendly and helpful, and it's seriously such a great to go in for an hour or two an dust relax. I would highly recommend Salon Glo to anyone.

  • Mar 27, 2015 by Wyatt P.

    Love this place. Shannon always cuts my hair perfectly. She gave me a great suggestions on a new hairstyle since I have been rocking the faux hawk for the last 10 years. I highly recommend her.

  • Mar 24, 2015 by Lyndsy B.

    Shannon is awesome! She is always able to give me exactly what I am wanting - for cut and color. I highly recommend her. Pam is also super friendly and great with waxing!

  • Mar 08, 2015 by Alex M.

    I came to the area for school and was nervous about going to a new place for waxing, but Pam makes it a relaxing environment and really knows what she's doing! Great job.

  • Mar 05, 2015 by Johanna C.

    I got my first Brazilian ever and I have to say PAM did an amazing job! She explained everything thoroughly and made me feel so comfortable the hole time! I am definitely going back and would recommend all of you guys to the make an appointment with Pam!

  • Jan 05, 2015 by Denise M.

    I had a wonderful experience at Salon Glo with Rakesha while visiting SLO last month.  She did an amazing partial, which helped to tone down some outrageous highlights I had previously got.  She gave me a great cut too; very meticulous with everything.  I only wish I lived closer to her and could visit her regularly.

  • Nov 10, 2014 by Evie K.

    I'm new to the area and decided to go to Salon Glo because of their high reviews here on Yelp, and the fact that their services sounded a bit cheaper than some of the salons downtown. I wasn't disappointed. Shannon did a great job. By looking at my skin and hair, she knew what color I needed and I showed her a quick pic of a haircut I liked and she delivered it flawlessly. I highly recommend her! I'll be going back!

  • Oct 27, 2014 by Nicole C.

    If you need a wax, CALL PAM! She is amazing!! I got my first Brazilian wax from her last year and have been going to her ever since. Pam makes the whole process so easy and comfortable for you. I highly, highly, highly recommend her!

  • Oct 27, 2014 by Kiki W.

    My friend recommended Pam to me and she was awesome!!! It was my first Brazilian and It was a great experience. I already booked a second Brazilian with her. She is also so sweet and makes you feel very comfortable in the situation. I highly recommend her.

  • Sep 24, 2014 by Victoria H.

    This review is for Aura Joy (aka one of the best stylists I've ever seen!!).  I came to Salon Glo based off the Yelp reviews and I was not disappointed.  After going to another salon a few times here in SLO I was starting to feel like I was paying WAY too much money for the happiness level I felt on my hair.  After I got some highlights that grew out TERRIBLE I made an appointment with Aura Joy at Salon Glo.  My first appointment was just for a cut, I was a little gun shy of another new stylist, and I knew right away she knew what she was doing.  I've got a lot of hair..thick, unruly, coarse hair.  Recently I've been though all the ropes of stylists who try to "texturize" and "blend with my natural color" which were a bunch of fails right in a row.  Aura Joy cut it in a way that it styled at home wonderfully, even showed me a cool trick to get some waves without using a curling iron or straightener, and took her time to explain why she was doing some of the things she was doing to help the "texturizing" grow out.   When I went in for my color with her she spent over 2 hours putting in color on my hair, little by little.  Its rare that I find a  stylist who will spend the time to put foils in my thick hair, unfortunately my recent experience has been with stylists who recommend an all over color with "some" highlights to break it up, which obviously takes less time but looks much worse when grown out.  In my opinion, it's lazy.  Just because I have a lot of hair doesn't mean that I should get easier services for the stylist..especially when they are asking the kind of money salons in SLO ask! Aura Joy made me love my hair again!  Not to mention the fact that it was literally $100 cheaper than I had paid previously in town to be a lot less happy...that was just another added bonus!

  • Aug 29, 2014 by Sarah P.

    Shannon was amazing!! $40 for a sophisticated, sexy, and classy style hair cut. Exactly what I wanted! The salon is clean and so friendly! I will definitely recommend this salon to everyone in the area! Xoxo

  • Aug 24, 2014 by Alyssa T.

    RAKESHA!! I MISS YOU!! Searched high and low for a hairstylist with good reviews and found Rakesha.  Went in for a hair cut and color.  First the hair color - I'm 24 and have a fair amount of white hair but for my graduation, etc. wanted to cover it up and match my natural color.  She matched my hair perfectly.  Which makes sense because she is a perfectionist (which is perfect when it comes to my hair!!)  The hair cut - just wanted a simple straight across blunt cut which (of course) she rocked.  As an added bonus, I was in the salon chair for close to 3 hours and we had the best conversations I could imagine with a hair stylist.  If I stayed in SLO I would have asked her to grab a drink! Since I have graduated and left the state, I can't find anyone else who I connected with as well as Rakesha! Got my hair cut in Seattle where I was living for the summer and got the worst hair cut! I now have random chunks of hair that are at least an inch longer than the rest.  I want to cry and run back to Rakesha! Miss you girl!

  • Aug 21, 2014 by Kate B.

    Amy Paine has been doing my hair for years. . She is a fantastic stylist and her coloring skills can't be beat! I can't go to anyone else!!

  • Aug 20, 2014 by Dana W.

    Rakesha has been cutting my hair for 10+ years, I've followed her to several different salons! I trust her completely, and give her free reign with my hair. If you have curly / wavy hair, Rakesha's your girl! She knows all my cowlicks, and somehow magically blends them in to the cut every time. I get compliments from strangers on my hair all the time! As for the salon, Salon Glo is nice IMO because it's away from downtown and has plenty of parking. It's clean and airy inside, and I like the historic photos of SLO county. :)

  • Aug 19, 2014 by Anna S.

    I've been frequenting Salon Glo, and specifically stylist Rakesha for over four years now, and I couldn't be happier! I have LOTS of hair, hair that is dry and fine, curly and a little crazy. I've never had a stylist work as hard as Rakesha does on my hair, she is always very attentive to what I want, and also has some amazing suggestions that make my mane really shine- in more ways than one! Whether I know specifically what I want, or more just a general idea, I've never walked out not totally satisfied with my cut and color. She is always very accommodating when it comes to my schedule, and is flexible when I need to change an appointment. The salon has a nice open feel, and the whole staff is warm and willing to lend their advice or ideas when asked. I jump at the chance to recommend Rakesha to anyone looking for a stylist, she is amazing!

  • Aug 16, 2014 by Jill T.

    I recently moved to SLO from the OC area and was so nervous to try a new esthetician for a Brazilian wax but I trusted yelp and called Pam at salon Glo. I can honestly say by far the best, cleanest, painless wax I have ever had. Not to mention Pam is a sweetheart! Check them out!

  • Jul 18, 2014 by Beth E.

    I'm on a West coast trip and needed my roots covered. Salon Glo has a modern appearance--they moved into this space in the past year. Very nice!  Lots of magazines, comfortable chairs, light and airy. Jacki is so pleasant and careful in her work. My Matrix So Color formula (which I provided) was done perfectly. I definitely recommend Salon Glo to travelers.

  • Jun 30, 2014 by Central Coast F.

    The whole family makes appointments with Stacey.  The first stylist that we have found skilled at cuts with great results for ALL of us.  Friendly and mazing scissor skills.

  • May 30, 2014 by Lisa P.

    The salon is always super clean and the whole staff is very friendly. I always use Jackie, she does a great job on my hair (which isn't an easy task) I've used her for haircuts and highlights and I wouldn't go to anyone else. She gives you exactly what you want and is super friendly to talk to.

  • May 12, 2014 by Caressa H.

    Aurajoy is a life savor! I decided to take my hair into my own hands and let's just say it didn't turn out too great. Aurajoy squeezed me the same day I called and made an appointment for me to come in after the salon was already closing. She did such an awesome job and saved me a ton of embarrassment! She goes out of her way to make sure you are 100% satisfied! I will never go to anyone else to have my hair done other than Aurajoy! Also very reasonably priced!

  • Apr 18, 2014 by Shea M.

    So I decided to dye my hair myself. I went from a weird red to blonde, but it came out more yellow orange. I looked up salons on Yelp and found this one and another one. I called one and they never answered so I called Salon Glo and they answered asked me if I could come in for a consultation. I did and they were able to get me in the next day. Stacy was so sweet and amazing! She did a fantastic job and I am never going back to box dying and will be coming back. Prices are amazing too. I asked one Salon just out of curiosity how much they would charge me and they said 125, but Salon Glo was a great price. Definitely going back its worth it.

  • Mar 14, 2014 by Ruth S.

    I had got a cut and color last week. Rakesha is amazing. I was delighted to find she uses Wella Color, which I had used before and have been looking for here. She is super patient and really figures out what you want.  She even offers 'repairs' for free for a week after the cut, which I am pretty sure no one needs. She is really open to hearing about what you want, I was really honest about having no hair styling time and she was totally on board with giving me a low maintenance style which is the best haircut I have had in years. The space is really nice and mellow and everyone there was really friendly.

  • Feb 14, 2014 by Vanessa V.

    Everytime I visit SLO I am sure to stop in and see Aurajoy! She is a delight to have cut and style my hair, and so personable too! The ambience in this salon is friendly, including the receptionist and other stylists. I am so glad to have followed Aurajoy! Thanks everyone!

  • Jan 28, 2014 by Dana P.

    Had an amazing Brazilian wax with Pam! She made me feel so comfortable and it was barley painful! Plus she is so affordable but amazingly professional!

  • Oct 30, 2013 by Shanna C.

    I had been going to the same stylist/colorist down in LA for 10 years and finally didn't have time to make the trek any longer every time I needed my hair done. I did my research and decided to give Rakesha a try and all I can say is FANTASTIC! I have gone to her about 6 times now for cut and color and she is amazing. I have longer blonde hair and like natural looking color. She does a great job at keeping it that way an she does an outstanding job on cuts too. Wish I had found her sooner and saved myself all those drives down to LA! I highly recommend her!

  • Oct 13, 2013 by Karen K.

    Love this place! I'm from out of town and called last-minute for an appointment the next morning. Jacki was able to see me before the salon opened. She was sweet, friendly, funny and talented! Everyone loved the way my hair looked when I got back. I will be happy to come back to this salon next time I'm in town.

  • Oct 01, 2013 by Annie M.

    I love love LOVE Rakesha. I completely trust her vision. I go in and say do whatever you want and my hair always looks amazing. She is the first stylist I've been to who was honest about my hair type and what would look good in terms of color and cut. She just gets me and I love that. I found  Salon Glo through Yelp and I'm so glad I did. Rakesha - you are A-MAZING!

  • Aug 09, 2013 by Elise T.

    I flew from Kansas City to get my hair done by AMY!!! She is awesome- made me feel comfortable and her sense of humor is awesome..(.I want to be your friend!!) Amy congrats to all the wonderful things that are happening...you deserve all the good that is coming to you! I will be back during xmas to get another cut..see you soon!! Elise Thomson :)

  • Jul 14, 2013 by Elise T.

    I loved Amy and you will too! I got a fantastic and drastic cut..she made me feel comfortable the entire time. Fantastic sense of humor (I want to be your friend) she kept me laughing the entire time. Congrats on all that is good Amy!! You are my stylist for life, coming all the way from Kansas City to get my hair cut by YOU...:) Elise Thomson

  • Jul 13, 2013 by Kimberley W.

    Ask for Aurajoy. I've gone through three SLO stylists over the past 20 years and have finally found someone who excels at both cut and color. The results are consistent: a fabulous cut every time; one that grows out so well that I'm able to enjoy it at 2 weeks, 6 weeks, and 10 weeks. I also get a wonderful, rich, semi-permanent color that is kind to my hair and gently fades as my hair grows so that my roots barely show. I came to Aurajoy four years ago wishing to trade my gold blonde highlights for a more sophisticated ash blonde. The stylist with whom I had been working tried but could only manage to deposit gold. Other stylists with whom I had consulted were unwilling and explained to me that ash colors carried unknown risks of unsightly greenish tones. Aurajoy listened to me and prescribed a remedial color treatment for growing out the old and tired highlights; one that worked exactly as she said it would. I get great color and a great cut every time and I couldn't be happier with the look and health of my hair. Thanks to Aurajoy I get compliments from complete strangers just about every season.

  • Jun 25, 2013 by ellie e.

    UPDATE: I've removed my previous review based upon a less-than satisfactory experience with a new stylist after she called me at home and offered an apology. She informed me that the staff is helping her to raise the bar on her approach and procedures as well as give her more training. For me, the kind of guts it takes to call a frustrated client and offer a refund, says a lot about the person. I refused the money, deciding that it was well worth the price for the lesson we both learned. I think she'll be a lot better stylist because of it, and I am humbled by her courage and desire to be a part of a team of professionals.

  • May 31, 2013 by Anne B.

    I have been to Rakesha twice for cut and color. She is easy to work with, a perfectionist (good quality in a hair stylist) and great at understanding what I wanted, and I didn't even bring in pictures to help! She nailed the multi-dimensional blonde color I was looking for and gave me some great tips on keeping my hair moisturized since it tends to be very dry. I am really happy to have found a great stylist since moving back to this area!

  • May 02, 2013 by Eve P.

    I just got the most flippin' fantastic haircut by Amy.  I have super fine, slightly wavy hair, and I finally got a cut that gives me some volume and personality without sacrificing any elegance.   My entire experience was ideal.  Amy listened carefully and patiently as I gave her my jumbled directions and showed her example photos.  The hair washing was totally soothing and relaxing and then she was so incredibly attentive to detail during the cut.  At the end she taught me how to style it without blow drying (I prefer not to blow dry most days) and gave me tips that no one has ever given me before.    I left the salon looking just like the pictures I had shown her and marveling at how the whole thing was such a good deal.  This cut and style is so much better than what I was getting in San Francisco (I just moved here).  Amy is very talented, and a total pleasure to chat with to boot.  Thanks Amy!

  • Dec 22, 2012 by Kim D.

    Rakesha is awesome at cut and color. My hair is thin, damaged and fine and not easy to do. I've been going to her for years on and off because I moved out of town. She's affordable and easy going. Rakesha is also a perfectionist so plan on your visit taking more time than normal!

  • Dec 21, 2012 by Brent G.

    Amy is awesome! She's been cutting my hair for years and I highly recommend her. I especially like how meticulous she is. I'm going to miss her when I move to San Diego, but plan on scheduling something with her anytime I'm back in the area.

  • Dec 07, 2012 by Andrea M.

    I've been going to Salon GLO since they opened. It's a great place to get your hair done. Clean, friendly, awesome people especially Jacki the owner, still does my hair perfectly!

  • Dec 05, 2012 by Alison P.

    I recently moved to the area and found this salon on Yelp.  I made an appointment with Rakesha and she did a great job!  She takes her time and listens to what you want.  Highly recommend!

  • Aug 12, 2012 by Emily B.

    Stacey did such an amazing job!! I am from out of town and was able to get a Saturday appointment last minute. I have been dying my hair black for the past year but wanted to go way lighter. She didn't hesitate at all and got right to work adding highlights. I was worried at first that the color wouldn't look good but she reassured me the whole time. My hair turned out so amazing and I will be going back to her every time I get my hair done from here on out!!

  • Aug 11, 2012 by Meg N.

    Was in desperate need of a haircut and couldn't find a decent salon that charged less that $60 until I found Salon Glo. The lady on the phone was incredibly nice and quickly squeezed me in for an appt. When I got there, everyone was super nice! My stylist greeted me and sat me down for a wash (with an amazing head massage). What I was most impressed with was the amount of time my stylist took to cut my hair. She really took her time to perfect my cut. She was super friendly too (I think her name was Tawny). My cut ended up being perfect! My bangs ended up being a little shorter than I intended (if I had pointed it out to her sooner it wouldn't have been an issue) but overall I am still completely satisfied with my experience. Defiantly check this place out - highly recommended.

  • May 31, 2012 by Jacqueline N.

    I'm so impressed, I don't know where to start!   I recently moved to the bay area and haven't had much luck finding a new stylist.  I have long, thickish hair with partial highlights & lowlights so not the easiest task.   My husband & I were vacationing in Pismo Beach and I decided to search Yelp for a decent stylist in that area. I knew I found my new salon the second I called. To say Jacki did a wonderful job would be an understatement.  She came in an hour early for me and took her time while we chatted about life & other random things. I left the salon feeling like a million bucks.   Without a doubt I'll be back.

  • May 06, 2012 by Diane S.

    I have been going to Rakesha  for 5 years! I don't live here but make a point of waiting until I visit do she can cut, style, color and give me tips!  I trust her so much!!!

  • Apr 25, 2012 by Alex M.

    Jacki did a GREAT job with my hair! I'm very skeptical about new people doing my hair but if your looking for someone to give you what you ask for she does a great job! She was so nice to me!

  • Apr 17, 2012 by jessica w.

    I am so, so, so happy I found Amy and Salon Glo! Being a transplant from Los Angeles who was good friends with my stylist, it has taken me awhile to find a good fit here in SLO. San Luis Obispo is definitely NOT lacking in salons but finding a good fit is just about as difficult as finding a good pair of jeans or shoe that are both comfortable and stylish. Enter Amy, co-owner of Salon Glo. I found Glo through good old yelp here and called to set up an appointment with a roll of the dice which got my Amy. Armed with a printout from my pinterest board of my favorite styles, I plopped myself down in her chair and said I needed a change, I wanted it chopped and if she could do something to camouflage my unwanted house guest of a chin and its friends, I would adore her for life. Amy zeroed in immediately on my favorite cut on the page and after an offer of refreshment and a pow-wow regarding what I really wanted she got to business. The salon is clean and happy, the water temp just right, the chairs super comfortable and the tunes on the overhead quirky without being earworms. Amy took her time with the cut which was great as I felt she was really paying attention to my cowlickedness and the style of the haircut. She easily listened to my incessant chatter with nary an eyeroll and I chatter a lot. I'm a wash and wear kind of girl so Amy styled it using a diffuser to see how much natural curl we could get and put on a smidge of product to keep its shape. I loved it and she rocked it(and the price was fabulous)! I loved it in the mirror (which usually I do not) and in the car. I loved it when I got home and the next day after sleeping on it. I'm yelping it now because it has totally passed the test after I washed it myself and let it air dry. Whoo-hoo! Simply put, the cut is great, the experience was delightful and I will be back. Thank you Salon Glo for helping this old skool Groovie Ghoulie find herself again! ---------------------- Salon Glo is now next to Fresh & Easy! How cool is that? The new space is super cozy yet sleek and I can't wait to have a sit when I get my hair done this week! (october 2013)

  • Apr 17, 2012 by Angie B.

    Rakesha is fantastic!!! I have thick, coarse hair that not many people are able to cut very well...and she has FIGURED IT OUT! I have a short hair cut, but when she cuts it she does it in a way that it grows out nicely. She's very meticulous and will do whatever it takes to get the job done right! I love the location of the salon, it's not downtown, so I don't have to worry about parking. All the ladies are friendly and the price is the best I've found in SLO...for the quality of work that they do!

  • Mar 27, 2012 by Karin D.

    I've been going to Amy Gamble at Salon Glo for over five years and I can't say enough great things about her. She is professional, incredibly knowledgable, accomodating, and easy to communicate with. Her advice and skill has transformed my hair! The cut and color are amazing! I've referred friends and family to her and they all thank me!

  • Dec 23, 2011 by Heather T.

    Rakesha rocks my hair color and cut. I receive regular compliments and recommend her often so why not on Yelp? Here goes, attention to detail, flawless color that doesn't look "done," a great layered cut on my thick, wavy long hair (not easy), great haircare and product advice, lovely, clean salon and easy parking. What more could you want?

  • Nov 17, 2011 by Carly F.

    I Love Salon Glo!  Rakesha is the absolute best!!!    She is a total perfectionist so make sure you have the time to let her do her thing, but you will be so glad you did when she is done.  She is a MASTER of color and WONDERFUL with haircuts.  Another thing's she is great at is treating your hair with respect.  She knows what to do to make your hair the best it can be.  I really wanted to grow my hair out, but it just never would.  Rakesha gave me some tips on how to treat my hair at home and did my color so that it was easier on my hair than it had been in the past.  She is such a gem and I am so glad I found her.

  • Oct 18, 2011 by Vicki H.

    I was a walk-in at Salon Glo a few years ago and was immediately helped by Rachel, who did a beautiful haircut. I've been going back ever since about every 5 weeks for appointments with Rachel, adding coloring each time. Rachel is a real professional--and a real perfectionist. She always offers me variations when I want something new, but she also guides me honestly in the direction she thinks will look best, which makes me trust her. She is just as expert at coloring as she is at cutting, and I always leave feeling great. I encourage anyone to make an appointment with Rachel--you'll always be happy with the results. Vicki

  • Oct 13, 2011 by Joe R.

    I've been getting my hair cut by Jacki at Salon Glo since they first opened, and I've always been very happy with the results!  All of the staff are friendly, the atmosphere is great, and the salon is very clean.

  • Aug 18, 2011 by Erin G.

    Raskesha, of Salon Glo, is a true color professional and a genuinely caring, interesting and empathetic individual. She did my hair color and cut for over 10 years while I lived in San Luis Obispo, and after recently leaving SLO to live in San Francisco I am truly missing her expertise and am planning to start trekking down to SLO just to see her. Her unpretentious and fun attitude, kind spirit, dedication to "figuring out" my hair's idiosyncrasies and her ability to help guide me in discovering the styles I like combine to make her a one-of-a-kind hair professional.

  • Jun 08, 2011 by lori s.

    I had a partial highlight done yesterday by Amy Lo Vece   and I was very happy with the results she gave my hair!  It was my first time in and Amy was on time,  fast, and worked on my hair only.  I would recommend Amy to anyone who wants a partial highlight and wants  fantastic hair results. Thanks Amy I love my hair!   The cost was reasonable and the location is easy to find, great parking too.

  • Mar 12, 2011 by Elizabeth A.

    The owner Amy did my hair and I was very pleased. I called them at 545pm and she told me to come in 20 minutes and she will fit me in because I was looking for a same day appt. Well when I got there I saw they close at 600pm, so I thought it was very nice of her to stay later then she needed too.

  • Jan 05, 2011 by Bretta M.

    I was recommended to go to Rakesha at Salon Glo after I needed some color correcting that I had done at a previous salon.  My hair was a mess, and Rakesha knew just how to fix it.  She asked a lot of questions and wanted to know what I wanted out of my hair.  My hair came out just how I originally envisioned it, and I've been going to her ever since then.   I'm often indecisive about my hair, and Rakesha always helps me decide on what I should do with it and it always turns out amazing!  I never have to worry what's going on with my hair because I know the end result will be great.   The rest of the staff is very friendly and always are accommodating!

  • Dec 27, 2010 by Emily T.

    I go to Rakesha and she is amazing. She is a perfectionist, so my only problem is that she runs out of time to style my hair so I can't see the finished look, but if that's my only problem, then I don't have much to complain about! If you're a first timer to Rakesha, she will ask a lot of questions, (things I've never even heard of haha) but it's a good thing she does because she just wants to get it right. And she loves what she does, and it shows! Before I went to Salon Glo, I'll be honest, I was nervous that it was called Salon Glo and that it was in a 'strip mall; if you will, but it's really quant inside and everyone is really nice. Plus, parking is a breeeeeze!

  • Dec 17, 2010 by Brett J.

    This Is where my lady gets her hair did. Amy does a great job with fair prices. It always looks clean in there and the staff is always nice.

  • Mar 18, 2010 by katrina h.

    Rakesha is amazing. I have been going to her for over 10 years. She has cut my hair short and long and every where in between.   I have curly hair and never have any fear of getting it cut because it always looks great. I have been doing color with her the past few times and it looks wonderful. I drive from SF to get my hair cut, becuase I trust her completely. Perfectionist is the term for her. Be prepared to have her not let you leave until every hair is perfect!!

  • Jul 07, 2009 by Danielle T.

    Rakesha is a bit of a perfectionist.  Which is a good thing when we're talking about my hair!   She spent over an hour making it just right.  I'm in new territory, having fairly short hair now and I was definitely in good hands and I felt like I didn't have to worry so much because she was asking all the right questions, and really doing the worrying for me.  She also styled it all fun and curly-- a look I've been trying fairly unsuccessfully to emulate... This place isn't as fancy as the places downtown, and the prices seem to reflect that.  There is plenty of parking too!