Palm Dental Care

Palm Dental Care

225 North Santa Rosa Street
San Luis Obispo CA 93405
805-543-3747

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

AD:  You may like...

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Nov 10, 2020 by Linda Smiaroski

    I find the office staff to be very pleasant, but maybe not completely professional - the main contact person was great, but the two women behind her did not acknowledge clients when she was on the phone. The dentist seems knowledgeable and professional and able to communicate treatment info in lay terms. I like that there was no banter b/w dentist and staff, no tv. I really like the tech that allows the dentist to go over scans w/patients. I am concerned about the cleanliness of the exam rooms and the diligence of the staff to adhere to COVID-19 precautions. I saw staff with masks off faces or incorrectly worn. The lens on exam light was dirty. I didn’t see staff hand washing nor disinfecting. Hygienist wore gloves and changed them during my cleaning but her shield looked dirty. I will go back and complete plan b/c tech, skill and knowledge. Hope hygiene improves.

  • Nov 06, 2020 by Joan Meyers

    Nice folks, but hygienist tried to talk to me from a distance of less than 1' with a nose well under her nostrils. NOT GOING BACK! I guess if you don't think we're on the up-slope of a deadly pandemic, this won't bother you. Me, I'm looking to survive it.

  • Oct 09, 2020 by Brady Thomason

    Took all three of our kids here for a cleaning a few weeks ago. The place was dirty (look at the legs of the equipment and hygiene chairs) but the hygienist was great (which is why this isn't 1 star). The office operation is very disorganized. Witnessed staff members arguing with each other in front of kids and parents. I was asked to push the x-ray button, which I was fine with helping, but seemed off. We went back for my daughter's filling (5 yrs old) and were told parents aren't allowed to go back, with no explanation as to why this changed in a matter of a couple weeks. Also seemed off. Not going to let our 5 year old daughter back alone with a doctor we don't know, to get a filling by herself. We'll be looking for a new dentist...

  • Sep 03, 2020 by Matthew

    Since it seems like this business is asking people to leave good reviews, I felt it is time to give an honest review. The new Dr seems to be looking for anything to work on to make some money, be very careful coming here. When it was Palm Dental under Dr. Leroux, he was a great doctor very and very proactive but had never mentioned needing the work this guy was telling me I needed to have done; unfortunately he had to move back to Canada to be near his family. The new Dr, when it changed to Johnson Dental, I hadn't even seen me yet but my regular hygienist started mentioning all the work he wanted to do. I left and never came back, I had to make sure I deleted my previous review for Dr. Leroux on here. I eventually went to a new guy that was recommended to me and that dentist told me all the work the Johnson Dental wanted to do wasn't necessary. Reading the comment below about the crown really makes me glad I left, since a crown was something he wanted to do right away. If you are looking for someone out of the blue, I wouldn't come here unless you had a recommendation from a good friend who's opinion you trust.

  • Aug 31, 2020 by Destiney Martinez

    Just a big thanks to dr Smith and the staff at Johnson family for the great work they have done for me. Super nice, super professional just amazing.

  • Aug 31, 2020 by Kendall Casagrande

    I have to share my experience with everyone regarding my experience with dr Smith and staff at Johnson family dental. I was in extreme pain with my wisdom teeth during the pandemic and they were able to get me in on the same day and extract on the same day and Followed up with me to make sure I was ok. Thank you everyone over there. The entire staff is absolutely amazing

  • Jul 22, 2020 by Cyndi Kyle-Mattson

    Boy oh boy was that the worst experience I have ever received from at dental office. I went in for a tooth ache the middle of February and that day ended up with a filled cavity, a periodontal scaling, a core buildup and a temporary crown which I had to go back 3 times because of improper fit. I had to apply for care credit to pay for the unexpected work which I paid for that day. Now I recieve a message statement asking for another $581.00 which they claim the insurance wouldn't cover. They have miss advertising of free exrays and cleaning for new patients. Dont waste your time or money here.

  • Jun 09, 2020 by poonam shrestha

    I wish I had at least read a review. I went in during the COVID 19 out of desperation. My first visit I thought went good. The dentist whose name I still don’t know, was excellent at injecting the local anesthetic. Then comes my second visit. Then comes my third visit and then my fourth. I have another one coming up again because the permanent crown that they ordered did not fit????? The dentist did not even bother to let me know about it. The technician told me with NO apology whatsoever. One of the techs looked like she had no idea what she was doing. She put the X-ray shield with my thyroids still exposed. I am a medical provider so I know that. Meaning I don’t know what was the mess up on all the things that I don’t understand on dentistry. They take at least 2xrays on every visit. I have had crowns and root canals done in the past. And it was not like this experience. Maybe this is modern practice that I am not aware of?? I am extremely irritated after each visit. The front is equally rude. I am just stuck with this one for one more visit hopefully.

  • Jun 03, 2020 by G W

    They use up to date equipment while performing various procedures. I did notice how professional and courteous staff were.
    Dr. Smith, the dentist is well skilled in his training of expertise. I am very happy with my dentist's office!

  • May 28, 2020 by Amanda Hodges

    Worst dental experience I’ve ever had! I had to get multiple teeth redone by a different dentist because of the terrible work the dentists at this office did. The dental hygienist and assistants are rude and unprofessional. The doctors lack knowledge on modern dental practices. My new dentist was fixing a filling and he said while drilling it that the old filling fell apart and was incorrectly bonded. Save yourself money and teeth by not going here.

  • Mar 13, 2020 by Nick Galardi

    Avoid this dental office at all costs if you can, very unprofessional and rude staff. They are not at all concerned with patient care or comfort.

  • Mar 03, 2020 by Aubrey Pyle

    My son Maddox is a patient, and I have been waiting a very long time for a call back from Gigi regarding his treatment. He is now 2 weeks overdue for his Orthodontic visit. I’m sure this is not acceptable care for your patients. It is ridiculous that I am having to post a bad review to hopefully get someone to contact me. Please have her, or someone capable of making decisions call me. Thank you. Aubrey.

  • Nov 04, 2019 by Kathy S.

    Palm dental is no longer in business. The practice was bought by a huge corporation called JOHNSON Family dental. I do not recommend JOHNSON Family dental. The corporate dentist tried to to scare me into have extensive procedures done. They took and then somehow lost my pano xrays. I switched to one of many good local dentists in Slo who did not think I needed anything done but reg. Cleaning.

  • Oct 28, 2019 by G W

    Great staff , very friendly. I was seen quickly and my teeth were cleaned so efficiently that I didn’t even feel it. Couldn’t believe it!
    They use up to date equipment while performing various procedures. I did notice how professional and courteous staff were.
    Dr. Smith, the dentist is well skilled in his training of expertise.
    Dr. Smith does various dental work conveintley in office.
    Implants, root canals, crowns, caps, fillings, whitening, I’m very happy with my choosing Johnson Family Dental.

  • Oct 25, 2019 by Jack Bernhardt

    The actual dentist was nice and good at his job but the front end operations are incredibly sloppy.
    I went in and got my remaining 3 wisdom teeth extracted. All the staff is nice however the dental assistant lacked confidence and didn’t seem she knew what she was doing or talking about. After the extraction they pretty much let me go with a bag of gauzes. Didn’t give me much of any direction so I found myself in google for the next few days to make sure my mouth heals properly.

    They forgot to give me pain and infection medication and forgot to schedule my post OP appointment.

    Was going back for cleaning and cavity filling but will be going elsewhere now - I do not recommend this place.

    UPDATE:

    After going back for my post op appointment I had the pleasure of being met by who I imagine is another dental assistant by the name of Angie. She was awesome, very personable and knowledgeable. I definitely felt a lot better about the practice after my post op.

  • Oct 14, 2019 by Jack Bernhardt

    The actual dentist was nice and good at his job but the front end operations are incredibly sloppy.
    I went in and got my remaining 3 wisdom teeth extracted. All the staff is nice however the dental assistant lacked confidence and didn’t seem she knew what she was doing or talking about. After the extraction they pretty much let me go with a bag of gauzes. Didn’t give me much of any direction so I found myself in google for the next few days to make sure my mouth heals properly.

    They forgot to give me pain and infection medication and failed to schedule me a post OP appointment for the extraction.

    Was going back for cleaning and cavity filling but will be going elsewhere now - I do not recommend this place.

  • Sep 18, 2019 by Jonathan Greer

    My 2 stars is actually higher than I wanted to give. I showed up 10 minutes early to my appointment, and i checked in. Was greeted as well kindly by the front desk. Only after my appointment time had past by 30 minutes, I was notified the doctor was running behind. 15 more minutes past and then I was called back. My appointment was for whitening my teeth. I was under the impression, since I was seeing the doctor directly, my treatment would be at the office. Come to find out, this office does not provide inhouse whitening treatments. I was not informed this when my appointment was made. Only after I wasted 1 hour of my time to find this out. Furthermore, I was never greeted by the doctor, nor did I even see him. My appointment was with him, but he did not make himself available to see me or greet me. You see, I'm on the fence for even coming back to this practice, and with today's events, I would say that after my visit Friday, I probably will never come back or recommend this practice. No need to respond, as any response would be a waste of time.

  • Sep 13, 2019 by Michael M.

    I was new to the area and needed a dentist. I tried Palm Dental while they were still on Palm Street. The poeple were nice and things seemed good.  Then Palm Dental moved to their new location off Santa Rosa with a brand new built out office (giving away ipads etc for taking an office tour) with all the latest technology.  I continued to visit Palm Dental for my oral care.  After a couple years of being at Palm Dental I realized the provider was out of network for my health insurance (partly my fault).  However, the front desk assured me when I originally started going they were within network.  The office pretty much gave me the response of tough luck and did not admit to any misinformation.  I switched to another local dental office who was in network for my insurance.  Upon my first visit with xrays the Dr stated that essentially all of my fillings I received at Palm Dental were failing and needed to be replaced.  The fillings were less than a year old.  I contact Palm Dental about the fillings and they would not stand by their work (do replacement themselves, pay for replacements, or inspect the fillings/look at the xrays) and claimed they did not know what my oral care was like (they were my dentist for at least two years).  The same happened with my brother regarding fillings at Palm Dental upon xrays at a different dentist.  My take is that Palm Dental are nice people, however they will sell you unnecessary products and perform unnecessary procedures for their bottom line.  They will also not stand behind their work.  If you have been there I hope you've had a better experience, but I would advise looking elsewhere for those looking for a dentist.

  • Sep 10, 2019 by G W

    Great staff , very friendly. I was seen quickly and my teeth were cleaned so efficiently that I didn’t even feel it. Couldn’t believe it!
    They use up to date equipment while performing various procedures. I did notice how professional and courteous staff were.
    The dentists seem well skilled in their training of expertise.
    They do various dental work right here. Implants, root canals, crowns, caps, fillings, whitening, etc.
    All dentists were very personable. (The ones I met) I’m very happy with my choosing Johnson Family Dental.

  • Aug 29, 2019 by nihonnewbie

    Took my 88 year old grandmother here the first time today and I'm impressed. The staff have been nothing but kind, explanatory, helpful, and patient with both her and all my questions. Nicole at the front desk has been excellent about handling myriad insurance issues and scheduling. Dr. Smith and hygienist Angelina have both been fantastic, and gentle with my grandmother. Looking forward to continued work with this office!

  • Aug 15, 2019 by Don HInes

    Thank you for working me in so soon. I was having a tooth issue and called to see if the Dentist could see me, He took me in within the hour and took care of my problem for me.Thanks again to the JOHNSON Dental Crew for their prompt and good help.
    Sincerely,
    Don Hines

  • Aug 10, 2019 by Jeanie Roberts

    The personnel at Johnson Family Dental in San Luis Obispo are the friendliest, most capable, most professional health care givers I have met. I would certainly recommend them to all patients seeking quality dental care.

    Jeanie Roberts, PhD.

  • Aug 09, 2019 by Karen Page

    I feel like I'm being an awful patient because work often interferes with my appointments. Johnson Family Dental has been consistently friendly, understanding and patient with me. I appreciate the professionalism of everyone in the office and I highly recommend Johnson Family Dental to anyone needing dental care.

  • Aug 07, 2019 by Shannon Larson

    The staff at Johnson Family Dental has been friendly and professional. They handle insurance issues with clarity and are straightforward with treatment plans. Very patient and kind with our daughter who has some complications and unique needs.

  • Aug 07, 2019 by Shannon Larson

    The staff at Johnson Family Dental has been friendly and professional. They handle insurance issues with clarity and are straightforward with treatment plans. Very patient and kind with our daughter who has some complications and unique needs.

  • Jul 24, 2019 by Krista Oliver

    Johnson Family Dental is fantastic. The staff is courteous and professional. They get me in and out without a wait.

  • Jul 23, 2019 by Jan Plested

    Very friendly staff. Dr. Smith is an excellent and personable dentist. I have been to several dentists since moving to the Central Coast and have not been happy, Johnson Family Dental in San Luis Obispo is so great I won’t be looking any farther.

  • Jul 19, 2019 by Paige Haywood

    I always enjoy getting my x-rays done and teeth cleaned by Nancy! Everyone who works here is very nice, and it’s always a pleasant experience

  • Jul 17, 2019 by Cathie L.

    Great experience! Friendly, knowledgeable staff, beautiful office with latest techniques and equipment.

  • May 22, 2019 by R&M Nitzberg

    Not a great first impression. No cell phone use sign prominently displayed in small waiting area. Almost everyone on their cell phones including loud phone conversations but nothing said by office staff. Great work by Angie the dental assistant. Jury still out on dentist and recommended dental care.

  • May 10, 2019 by Leeann Hutchinson

    So far I love the new dental group. Nancy my hygentist is just awesome. Thank you for your thoughtfulness and caring.

  • Apr 25, 2019 by Michael Yorky

    I loved my visit to Johnson Family Dental! Yes....loved a dental visit! Chris Newman and Dr Smith have a wonderful bedside manner, the office is immaculate, and the services were arguably the best I ever had!

  • Apr 23, 2019 by Daniel Sandborn

    Johnson Family Dental is a great choice for SLO residents, and I've never had a bad experience with them. Their staff really cares about you as a person.
    My one complaint: there's no bike rack for those of us that commute on two wheels.
    EDIT: One year later. Still happy with JFD. Please, oh, please install a bike rack!

  • Apr 04, 2019 by Jesse Deringer

    I had a root canal done here, dentist did not take his time and was in and out of the room very quickly. Months later, root canal got infected and had to be removed by another dental practice because the root canal was improperly done. I'm still making payments on this, and when I requested if they would give me any credit at there practice because of this, they denied me and told me they dont warranty. I didn't want my money back or anything, I just wanted them to work with me and understand, but they refused.
    They see so many patients a day that they really dont take there time and are not efficient.
    The good thing about this place is that they do long term payments.

  • Jan 15, 2019 by Donna Baxter

    Everyone was very nice, and helpful. I was given information about what needed to be done and different options. And that was nice. One tooth is super sensitive and they was good with that. I would recomend this dentist to friends and family. And i might add first visit don't take months to get in.

  • Jan 09, 2019 by Cheryl Jones

    The hygienist Nancy is superb!! She’s extremely well educated, skillful and kind. She’s helped me deal effectively with complex dental needs. The office staff is excellent, accommodating and professional. I highly recommend them.

  • Jan 09, 2019 by Janet Watson

    I would certainly recommend this practice. It was warm and inviting. I was never once shamed for not seeing a dentist for years! Call them. I left with a much brighter smile. Thank you Chris and Dr. Johnson.

  • Jan 09, 2019 by Patti Coyle

    So pleased that they were able to do so much work on my first visit. Wonderful staff, a sense of peace and happiness upon entering the office. Fresh coffee, free bottle of water and warm cookies. Very concerned about my comfort. I felt like a queen. Never have had such a great experience at a dentist office.

  • Dec 22, 2018 by Richard Robinson

    Seriously awesome practice. They're extremely efficient, helpful, accommodating, and thorough! Plus they use electronic forms and send them to you ahead of time so you don't spend 20 minutes filling out paperwork like the 1990's. I even saw the X-Ray tech wipe down the machine with a disinfecting wipe when she was through. Highly recommend.

  • Dec 12, 2018 by gopez lea

    Friendly and warm environment. Front desk: Amazing, Dentist: Amazing and so friendly!! And the hygienist The Best! She is so gentle and genuinely kind. I will recommend this place to everyone I know. Thank you for all that you do.

  • Dec 10, 2018 by Javin Oza

    My experience with Johnson family dental was painless! From the front staff to the hygienist and the doctor, they were great. By far the best dentist visit I've had.

  • Nov 28, 2018 by Anne McCracken

    From the ad on google to the receptionist who greeted me, I have nothing but high praise for all the staff. Very people oriented.
    There aren’t enough words to describe how different it was to be treated with so much kindness.
    Very efficient yet friendly as well.
    Thank you to my new dentist office!!!!!

  • Nov 07, 2018 by Sydney Malain

    Great experience! Loved the clean office and friendly staff. I definitely recommend if you are looking for a family dentist. You won't be disappointed.

  • Oct 26, 2018 by gopez lea

    Friendly and warm environment. Front desk: Amazing, Dentist: Amazing and so friendly!! And the hygienist: The Best! She is so gentle and genuinely kind. I will recommend this place to everyone I know. Thank you for all that you do.

  • Oct 03, 2018 by Nancy Tedesco

    This was my first time seeing Dr Cooper & I was quite pleased. He is friendly, actually very humorous, and explains everything quite well. I will be happy keeping him as my dentist. I had a front tooth come loose & he was able to bond it to the tooth next to it. He did an excellent job.

  • Aug 26, 2018 by Chris Newman

    Very friendly staff, comfortable atmosphere, several great options and offers for dental care, convenient appointment times and very professional. I had my teeth cleaned by Nancy; she was very caring and professional, but best of all she did an awesome job on my teeth. Thank you Nancy! I highly recommended this office. They will take great care of you and your dental needs

  • Aug 21, 2018 by Ashley Patterson

    Chris did so amazing on my cleaning and everyone in the front was so welcoming and nice. So happy with Johnson family dental I would defiantly recommend this office !

  • Aug 08, 2018 by Stacey Rivas

    My son and I had an appointment with what we thought was an oral surgeon because his wisdom teeth are giving him a little bit of trouble and we needed some help figuring out what we needed to do and our options. The dentist we saw ended up telling us we should see an oral surgeon for a consultation because as he said “he was just a dentist.” We didn’t understand and still truly don’t, the difference between a dentist and an oral surgeon extracting the teeth. We were frustrated, but not mean or rude, because we didn’t understand what they were telling us. I did say a couple times that I didn’t understand especially with two people talking to me. Finally I understood that the person in the office was not an oral surgeon, but that he could still do the extractions and they could recommend an oral surgeon if I wanted. It seems the guy at their office can extract the teeth but doesn’t put you totally out like the oral surgeon apparently does. But we still didn’t know if all 4 teeth should come out or just 2. During all this, one of the ladies left the area. We could then hear her talking smack about us to the other people in the office. My son finally turned around and said that we can hear you taking. She didn’t stop. We were visibly upset then, the receptionist trying to help us, asked what was wrong. We told her what was happening and that we couldn’t do business here. We left. My son clearly upset by their behavior and me shedding a few tears of frustration.

  • Aug 07, 2018 by Rajshana Scott

    From the front desk,to the hygienist, to the Dentist I feel like apart of the family here! Become apart of the family too! Great customer service and good at what they do! Great location too! Super pleased!

  • Aug 02, 2018 by Mollie Bryson

    I loved my former dentist and was so disappointed to hear he was leaving his practice but I couldn’t be happier that the staff stayed on, I’ve never had a bad experience here and everyone is amazing! Thank you for all you do!

  • Aug 02, 2018 by Heather Martinez

    I used to go to this office a few years ago and switched dentists due to insurance and job location reasons. But I chipped my tooth a day before leaving on vacation (of course) and my current dentist was out of town, so I called Johnson Dental and they fit me in that day. All the staff were wonderful and friendly, and the dentist was so nice, explained everything to me and had a great sense of humor. I decided to switch back even though it’s a bit out of the way...the friendliness, customer service and great work are definitely worth it. Thanks!!

  • Aug 01, 2018 by Scott Brase

    Great dentists as well as a great environment to help you feel at ease. Plus Peggy the office manager is absolutely amazing and is always there to help you and make your situation filled with love and ease!!!! She keeps me coming back every time!

  • Jul 31, 2018 by Spooncer

    Chris was very nice and she cleaned the heck outta my teeth. Doc was a cool and friendly dude. No complaints

  • Jul 18, 2018 by Chris Morgan

    Very professional and thorough. The new owners now off root canal and wisdom teeth extraction which was a big headache reliever for myself. When checking out they’re very patient and explain the the insurance vs cost on the bill in easily understandable terms. Highly recommend this practice!

  • Jul 16, 2018 by Mollie Bryson

    I loved my former dentist and we so disappointed to hear he was leaving his practice but I couldn’t be happier that the staff stayed on, I’ve never had a bad experience here and everyone is amazing! Thank you for all you do!

  • Jul 03, 2018 by Rob Etter

    Johnson Family Dental accommodated me quickly, provided great service, and was overall extremely professional. I highly recommend them to anyone.

  • Jun 16, 2018 by Don Christolear

    Had to try someone new and I’m glad I did. As soon as we get everything fixed my previous dentist did then we’ll be all set. Staff is awesome!

  • Jun 14, 2018 by Heather Johnson

    I cannot believe how helpful, kind, professional, this office was. In and out same day for an emergency root canal, with a portion of the cost of 2 other places. I am so happy with the work, and genuine care I received here.

  • Jun 14, 2018 by Casie Del Rio

    The Johnson Family Dental office is a very comfortable dental office. I drive about 45 min one way cause I really love the office staff and Dentist. I would highly recommend this office for adults or children.

  • Jun 07, 2018 by Frank Hovey

    Great office, great staff....their motto is “yes we can”...I would recommend them to all my friends and family!

  • Jun 06, 2018 by Christopher Garcia

    Best dentist I've ever had. Staff is great, everyone is always on time, and I've never felt any pain or discomfort.

  • Jun 06, 2018 by Lisa MacKenzie

    Hygienist and Dr. Leroux are awesome, sad to see him go. Actual procedures were top notch. Front office folks frazzled and stepping all over each other. Not super welcoming or efficient and got conflicting appt reminders. Assume it’s due to changeover. Also waited 20 min past appt time. Love the atmosphere, location and feel like they use newest tech. Waiting to see how transition goes.

  • Mar 15, 2018 by Trisha S.

    I found Palm Dental Care when I moved to SLO. Being new to the area, I was very nervous about finding a new dentist. Dr. Leroux and staff are amazing! They are warm and welcoming and make you enjoy your visit-even when it is not necessarily for an easy procedure. I actually enjoy my visits-who says that about going to the dentist? I have been a very happy patient for several years now. Thank you Peggy, Lisa, Nancy, and Dr. Leroux for everything you do to keep me smiling!

  • Mar 10, 2018 by Kyle Santos

    Nice office, great people. Thank you.

  • Mar 09, 2018 by SONIA N.

    Rud !!!! Peggy and the Dr came in while I have a stick of numbing telling me needed to pay 60.00 for a tooth filling. I said , "no my insurance pays 100%" THE DR HIMSELF getting involved with finance was wired!!!!!! I understand Peggy telling me discussing finance BUT a Dr. Jason getting heated up was strange!!!! I took the morning off to get my teeth cleaned not a filling..... so o waited and in the waiting room the Dr. sits next to Peggy and discuss patient that owe money and he continued. I felt it was poor taste but more so I knew he was losing patient's. As of today he lost a whole family. Over 60.00 that was real sad. Most important a Dr. talking to his patient saying he can NOT do a filling my insurance pays 100% for fillings it was the deductible. If there was a kind Dr. I would have charged it. The way he behaved over 60.00 was very disturbing. Peggy the front office staff member was so very unattached to compassion. I sat and waited for my cleaning and Peggy and the Dr. are fake with generic comments. There is plenary of dentist. However a dental hugest is hard to find and Nancy is very very very good in cleaning teeth. I will not go back there. Dentist should should never ever get them self involved with finances this is why they have of staff staff. he lost a complete family and my insurance pays 100% for cleaning and only $60 co-pay for the year. Compassion is a keyword in any medical business compassion if you show compassion to your patient there's nothing that a patient would not do for the doctor.

  • Mar 07, 2018 by Melissa Bacon

    All of the staff are always friendly and my visits are always great.

  • Feb 01, 2018 by Katerina B.

    Clean, professional office. Dr. Leroux is great.  His anesthetic shots are spot on and put my mind at ease, as I came to him extremely fearful from bad previous experiences. The office is very well run.  The staff are all doing their jobs with no uncomfortable chit chat or unprofessional behavior.

  • Nov 30, 2017 by Melanie Greer

    I travel 25 miles to visit Dr Leroux! He is one of the best for sure! His staff is uber friendly and always so helpful! All my expectations have been exceeded! Peggy is amazing and so accommodating! He gives great shots too. Totally painless.

  • Sep 01, 2017 by Sara D.

    The staff could not be any kinder/more attentive, and Dr. Leroux is laid back and yet professional.

  • Jul 15, 2017 by Gary B.

    I am always nervous going to the dentist , but the staff there is so friendly they put you at ease and make you comfortable . Doctor Leroux is so good and gental you never feel any pain . The office is run by Peggy and she does a great job too. Gary W. Babcock

  • May 25, 2017 by Val V.

    Came here to fill in a chip and they were courteous, professional, pain-free, and answered all my questions. The offices were super clean although parking was a bit hard. Overall a good experience.

  • May 10, 2017 by Alex Daddow

    This is the only dentist I trust in San Luis Obispo. They are friendly and knowledgeable. They get me in and out of the office promptly and there is little to no wait at you appointment. I appreciate their conservative approach to dentistry and I have never felt pressure to have any work done. I feel they genuinely care about my well being and have my best interest in mind. This is the only dentist in the area that kept me coming back after the second visit.

  • Mar 29, 2017 by Laura R.

    Jadon and I love this place. They are wonderful, warm and welcoming! I use to fear the dentist, but not now.....everything is so easy and gentle here, which makes it such a pleasure! Woo hoo! Happy teeth!

  • Mar 15, 2017 by Kathy casey

    I love everyone at Palm Dental. I never thought i would loose my fear of going to the dentist, but with all of their help I have. Thank you!!!!

  • Jan 31, 2017 by Jordy Tang

    Best dentist in SLO. Professional, warm, and very capable. 10/10 would recommend.

  • Jan 29, 2017 by Lisa F.

    Love Dr Leroux and this highly professional practice. The front desk staff is welcoming and helpful. The hygienists are all awesome. Dr L is gentle and skilled and pleasure to go to. He is always really great about talking through options and costs with zero pressure and is very accommodating. We love our dentist!

  • Jan 24, 2017 by Joey L

    Excellent care and a wonderful, friendly staff. I don't often post reviews, but I would give Palm Dental a 6th star if I could.

  • Jan 23, 2017 by Frederick Kloepper

    This is the best dental office and staff I have ever used. Dr. Leroux and his entire staff are friendly, professional and make the whole experience wonderful. I can not say enough about them.

  • Jan 13, 2017 by Eric Prater

    Dr. Leroux and his staff are top professionals. My wife and I have been going to Palm Dental since 2010 and wouldn't go anywhere else. We are treated as if we're part of the family.

  • Sep 20, 2016 by Andrew P.

    These guys are the best. Peggy at the front desk is super helpful. Nancy was wonderful working on my teeth and so was Dr. Leroux. I highly recommend this office!

  • Aug 29, 2016 by Melanie G.

    I travel 25 miles to visit Dr Leroux!  He is one of the best for sure!  His staff is uber friendly and always so helpful!  All my expectations have been exceeded!  Peggy is amazing and so accommodating!

  • Aug 27, 2016 by Carl L.

    I have found a dentist and staff that exceeds my expectations in quality, consultation, and skills!  They even referred me to an equally excellent specialist for more extensive work.  This staff here is very comfortable to be a patient of.  I do not like needles at all!  Their procedures to get me pass the anxiety of the needle proven I had no need to be concerned of the injections.   I had an excellent visit and no longer have anxiety of dentists. I recommend this staff to any one who have dental concerns.

  • Aug 26, 2016 by Joe DeSantis

    Palm Dental Care really changed the way I view going to the dentist. After neglecting to go for quite some time, I made an appointment. I couldn't of asked for a better experience. All previous anxiety quickly disappeared. Peggy at the front desk is very warm and motherly, and instantly made me feel comfortable. Dr. Leroux and his assistant's really did amazing work and went above and beyond to make sure I was comfortable throughout the process of my visits. I will definitely be recommending Palm Dental.

  • Aug 05, 2016 by Justin St. John

    I have been going to Palm Dental for 5 years and in my opinion they are the best! I couldn't imagine going anywhere else. I used to hate going to the dentist office based on prior experiences with other dentists. Palm Dental was recommended to me by a co-worker when I was having some problems with my teeth after not visiting a dentist for many years. They made me feel welcomed and in no way made me feel uncomfortable or insecure about the condition of my teeth. Dr. Leroux is fantastic. He is friendly, professional, gentle, quick and efficient. He always makes a point to personally call you the day after a visit to check on you and to answer any questions you may have. Peggy is wonderful, she is the first face you see when you walk in the door and immediately makes you feel welcomed and is very helpful. Every dental hygienist and dental assistant I have seen has also been great. I highly recommend Palm Dental!

  • Jul 06, 2016 by Kim Fuller

    If i could give more than 5 stars I would. This office was beyond amazing. From the receptionist to the billing lady Peggy at the end.

    I haven't been to the dentist in over 10 years. I was so scared I almost cancelled. The lady who did my xrays was very warm and nice and had me thinking about other things. Then the dentist came in and he was wonderful. Very mellow, kind, and gental. Let me know everything he was doing and calmed my hears. Then I went to see Nancy for my deep cleaning. She definitely had her work cut out for her, she kept stopping to ask me if I was okay and if the pain was too much, She was very kind and very gentle. She didn't seem rushed or in a hurry at all and far most I for once at the dentist was very comfortable.

    If you have a huge fear of the dentist as i do, this is definitely the place for you. I don't see how anyone could have a bad experience here.

    I hope the Dr. And staff all know how wonderful they really are.

  • Feb 25, 2016 by Lizabeth N.

    I love everything about this office. Dr. Leroux is  wonderful, kind, and gentle. Peggy is the happiest, most knowledgeable office manager I've ever met. Seeing her smile and beam when I walk through the door makes me want to come everyday! I'll never go anywhere else!!

  • Jan 25, 2016 by Kathy Casey

    I have always had a terrible fear of going to the dentist. This was the first time I can say it was a great experience and I do not mind going back. I had a new crown and had my teeth cleaned so there was work to do. Everyone so so kind and patience it was easy and Dr. Leroux was gentle and aware of my fears.
    For me to say I will go back is a complement because I have hated the dentist as long as I can remember.
    Thank you to everyone at Palm Dental Care and a big thank you to Peggy for her kindness and honesty when I originally called.

  • Jan 06, 2016 by Josh S.

    By far the best dental care I have encountered. The receptionist, Peggy, is very courteous and professional. I had to change my appointment twice because it was around my birthday and I had some friends plan things I was unaware of. She rescheduled for me on short notice, even though they are a busy office and it was probably difficult. Dr. Leroux is very skilled at what he does. My first appointment I had 3 cavities and he filled them quickly and painlessly. I was out the door in about half an hour. My second visit I had a cavity that was getting really close to my root, and was getting close to root canal territory. It was aching nonstop a few weeks prior to the appointment. Dr. Leroux suggested getting the operation, but I was short on money at the time so he told me he could try his best to get it for me. He worked hard and it took a lot of effort on his part. I haven't had any aching since then so he definitely got it done. Palm dental care goes above and beyond and I would highly suggest them to anyone looking for a new dentist.

  • Jun 05, 2015 by Karen Weems

    Hands down the BEST dentist in town! Love all the office staff and the friendly, knowledgeable hygienist and assistants. They take care of you here! Let you wear those cool sunglasses and listen to their loaded Ipod if you don't bring your own and they even have SHIATSU DENTAL CHAIRS, so you can forget where you are! If you need a dentist and are looking for someone thats not just good but GREAT.... call today and don't delay!

  • May 20, 2015 by Taylor M.

    If i could give more than 5 stars I would. This office was beyond amazing. From the receptionist to the billing lady Peggy at the end. I haven't been to the dentist in over 10 years. I was so scared I almost cancelled. The lady who did my xrays was very warm and nice and had me thinking about other things. Then the dentist came in and he was wonderful. Very mellow, kind, and gental. Let me know everything he was doing and calmed my hears. Then I went to see Nancy for my deep cleaning. She definitely had her work cut out for her, she kept stopping to ask me if I was okay and if the pain was too much, She was very kind and very gentle. She didn't seem rushed or in a hurry at all and far most I for once at the dentist was very comfortable. If you have a huge fear of the dentist as i do, this is definitely the place for you. I don't see how anyone could have a bad experience here. I hope the Dr. And staff all know how wonderful they really are.

  • May 05, 2015 by Elle J.

    I've been a patient at palm dental for the past four years, and they have always been courteous, punctual, and overall very awesome.

  • Nov 25, 2014 by Kenny R.

    We have been coming to Palm dentistry for around 6 years now. I have a real hard time with coming to the dentist as a matter of fact I would rather be in the middle of a riot,  but they have worked so well with me. I can't even think of going anywhere els. I highly recommend Palm Dentistry.

  • Feb 28, 2013 by G D.

    I scheduled a visit to take some x-rays of my wisdom teeth. I had to leave work for a few hours for the appointment which was fairly inconvenient. When I arrived, I was told their staff was running behind and would not be able to do perform the x-rays that day. Instead, they did a quick teeth cleaning which was basically a total waste of my time since I was visiting solely for the x-rays. I understand these things happen, though, so it's all good. 6 months later (and after having gotten the x-rays done by another office), I got a call from their receptionist informing me of an upcoming appointment. I told her that I could not make it and would be in contact when I was interested in booking an appointment. The receptionist said something along the lines of, "Oh... well, go ahead and neglect your teeth then." I remember it being a pretty awkward situation. I originally went to this office because of all the glowing reviews, but my experience did not reflect this. Note: the above review is entirely my opinion and recollection of an event that happened about 1 year ago.

  • Nov 01, 2012 by Anita H.

    Dr. L was great , calmed my needle anxieties .. Did good work. I was in dental heaven, or so I thought ... Until  I walked out to the reception area.. I was informed by Peggy, receptionist/ biller.. That I didn't have as much dental coverage as she thought and that my visit would be 300 .. That my insurance would cover.. I explained to her nothing I had had done, was anything that needed immediate attention. I was not in pain... I ended up writing Delta Dental and fling a written complaint about my experience there.. I refused to pay in principle .. She sent my account to collection.. Thus was a year ago.. And I'm still getting the bills ... What a unprofessional scam artist she is .. I almost felt she did this because I AM black .. Dunno... I learned from thus experience to get a good understanding .. Before ya DIY down ... Geez Peggy !!!!

  • Jul 25, 2012 by J M.

    Dr. Leroux was great. He's very sensitive about pain and anxiety. By far the best dental experiences for me have been at Palm Dental. My issue is with their receptionist. I am a busy professional in my 30's and she actually scolded me like a little kid about being on time for appointments. And in reality I was 5 minutes early according to my watch (which is atomic). I have meetings and appointments all day and make a point of always being on time. Then on my next appointment, I had to wait in the lobby more than 20 minutes past my appt. time. Did I get any sort of apology for her previous lecture about being on time? Nope. And I didn't belittle her for it like she did to me, either. And then another time I had an appt. at noon. Well, she apparently called sometime before noon that day to inform me that she had to move my appointment up. Well, I was working and didn't get that message. So when I showed up at my scheduled time, she inappropriately reprimanded me AGAIN, and actually said that I was inconveniencing them. They should have given me at least a 24 hour notice, but I let that one go too. The final straw came when she tried to charge my mom a missed appointment fee. My mother moved out of the state several months prior and never even made an appointment with them. She scheduled my mom in for a routine cleaning 6 months in advance without even confirming that with her! It's unfortunate because Dr. Leroux and the dental technicians are really great, but I've changed dentists because of the constant problems with the receptionist.

  • Jul 12, 2012 by L. A.

    Dr. Leroux and his staff are so nice and professional.  I really felt like they all cared about the health of my mouth and teeth.  This was the most thorough dental visit I have ever experienced.  I left there wondering why every dental visit wasn't like the one I had at Palm Dental.  Dr. Leroux explained everything in detail for me, and the hygienist walked me through everything I needed to know with the cleaning.  I had to go back to have some cavities taken care of, and although I was super nervous I was confident in Dr. Leroux and his staff.  Dr. Leroux even called me the next day to check and make sure I was doing ok.  I have to go back next week to have the other side taken care of, and I'm less anxious this time because my initial experiences at the office have been so positive.

  • Jul 04, 2012 by John C.

    Dr. Leroux and his staff are top notch. This is where I go for my general dentistry needs, and I've never had a single problem, and only received top notch care.

  • Mar 16, 2012 by Trevor B.

    I had not been to a dentist in several years and had a mountain of work that I needed to have done.  Dr. Leroux was very professional and after doing a full exam with x-rays he drafted up a plan to get me back on the road to a happy mouth.   Had several appointments to fill cavities and also had a crown done.     Again very professional, friendly atmosphere and will work with you to get your teeth related aches fixed.

  • Jul 14, 2011 by Jean Dettloff

    We are very happy with Dr. Leroux and everyone else in his office. My husband came home today, saying, "it's so pleasant over there it almost makes you look forward to going to the dentist." Such gentle, caring people, and so very…

  • Jun 08, 2011 by Heather E.

    Best dentist and staff in town. Attentive, kind, and always on time. Peggy is a great front desk lady and the dentist is so nice and knows his stuff.

  • Mar 22, 2011 by happytrails11

    I was recently visiting family in San Luis Obispo when I began experiencing pain in my mouth and was recommended to go and see Dr Leroux. The staff at Palm Dental Care were excellent. They were friendly, professional and very…

  • Feb 26, 2011 by Simone Marie Leroux

    I have been going to Doctor Leroux's dentistry since 2004 when he took over Doctor Dan Petterson's office when he retired.\r
    Coincidently Doctor Leroux and I have the same sur name but we are not related.\r
    On my first appointment, I…

  • Dec 28, 2010 by Mike1V

    I find it hard to believe that he is rated so highly here. First of all I have never had a dentist work on my teeth, where I can feel him drill. I had to be numb three times before Dr, Leroux could actually start. The fact that I left the…

  • Oct 14, 2010 by plumtree

    I began dental care with Dr. Leroux an emergency treatment need of a total damaged front tooth eight years ago. He is an expert in tooth restoration in texture and color. I think of him more as an artist. I had seen other dentists in SLO…

  • Mar 05, 2010 by Myca C.

    HANDS DOWN one of the best practitioners I have ever been to! I wish more health practitioners were like Dr. Leroux and his team. This is coming from  someone who grew up with a horrible, sweat-inducing fear of the dentist. Upon my first visit, I was extraordinarily nervous, but every move that they've made since removed the fears I had. They're kind, patient and exceedingly gentle with your care. They call to check up on you after big procedures and I've always felt that they genuinely care about you as a person. They've also referred me to other dental experts (oral surgeon and orthodontist) who provide equally excellent service and care. I couldn't feel better about my teeth and their health!

  • Jun 15, 2009 by Greg S.

    Dr Leroux is a great guy, very personable and easy to talk to. His staff is really friendly too. I've been going to his office for 8 years, and I've had a good experience every time. I definitely recommend him to SLO locals.

  • Aug 02, 2008 by cpgregorio

    I have found Dr. Leroux to be the best San Luis Obispo dentist there is. I went to a few different dentists that made me feel uncomfortable, but with Palm Dental Care I felt welcomed and at ease. Dr. Leroux's staff are really friendly and…

  • Aug 02, 2008 by loveslo

    Dr. Leroux is the best San Luis Obispo dentist around. I've been impressed with Dr. Leroux every time I go to see him. He's personable, yet professional and has great recommendations for teeth care that are practical. The Palm Dental Care…

  • Jun 08, 2008 by redwinger

    Dr. Leroux is an excellent dentist, highly skilled, courteous, responsive and extremely accommodating when I needed to make an emergency appointment. His work is outstanding. He tells you what he is going to do and why. He never does any unnecessary work and gives the patient options. He keeps up to date on the latest techniques and materials. I highly recomend him to anyone looking for a new dentist.

  • Oct 24, 2007 by kdneenan

    I had an emergency and Dr. Leroux and his staff fit me in and fixed me up. The work was awesome and no one can even tell. Excellent office, highly recommended.

  • Sep 13, 2007 by dredreaming

    The Doctor and his staff are all very nice people. His ofice is quaint and well maintained and managed. They are very concerned with the patients comfort and satisfaction. I would recommend his services to any local.

  • Feb 12, 2007 by nvestn

    I highly recommend Dr. Leroux and Palm Dental Care. The staff was courteous and helpful. I am always nervous when I go to the dentist and Dr. Leroux quickly put me at ease. Not only was I seen on time, I don't think that I have ever…

  • Jan 13, 2006 by slohygienist

    I was horrified to find out that I had a cavity on one of my upper front teeth. I take pride in the appearance of my teeth, and I have seen fillings on front teeth before and they've been discolored and stood out like a sore thumb. Dr.…