Matthew Y. Kim, DDS and Nathan J. Wong, DDS

Matthew Y. Kim, DDS and Nathan J. Wong, DDS

1370 Chorro Street
San Luis Obispo CA 93401
805-543-6535

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

AD: You may like...

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Facebook
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Nov 14, 2020 by Bethany D.

    I started going to Dr. Wong in hopes of finding a dentist who could replace my front teeth crowns. I am really picky when it comes to my front teeth, and Dr. Wong understood what I was looking for and did an AMAZING job. The color, shape, and size are exactly what I was envisioning and similar to my original teeth. I am so thankful for his listening ear, attention to detail, and genuine care! He wanted to make sure I was satisfied with my teeth, and I definitely am! I finally like my smile again. Thank you, Dr. Wong!!

  • Nov 03, 2020 by Graziella M.

    Dr. Wong is incredibly dedicated to his patients and knowledgeable. I am a Registered Nurse and have not seen many health care professionals that have such genuine concern for their patients. He has gone above and beyond to assist the oral surgeon with a procedure I had. He is always striving for perfection. He discusses care plans with you and helps you determine the best options, based on the most recent technology. Dr. Wong also is an  extremely effective communicator and listener. He is a compassionate caregiver and I highly recommend him for all ages.

  • Sep 28, 2020 by Shannon L.

    So pleased with my new dentist Dr. Nathan Wong. His office staff are welcoming and thorough. Our intake appointment was the most thorough medical exam I have ever had with detailed pictures and reviews of my current dental status. Dr. Wong is engaging and explains things well. My dentist of 25 years retired during Covid and I am so happy I chose Dr Kim and Dr Wong's office as my dentist .

  • Oct 25, 2019 by Richard M.

    We came to SLO to visit with our granddaughter that's going School here. When we took her out to dinner my wife's front tooth broke off. It was about 5:15pm on a Thursday night. Called around to find a dentist that might be able to fix her up. Dr. Kim told us to meet him at his office at 6:15pm. He did an amazing job and explained everything to the both of us. I was able to sit in and watch. He made a replacement tooth(crown) in his office using new technology. Computers, laser cutting and an oven. I can't tell you enough of what he did it was truly more then we ever expected. We left his  office by 8:00 pm totally satisfied. We live 288 miles away and feel it would be worth the cost to have Dr Kim as our dentist. I would give him a 100 stars if I could. Ladies this was my wife's front tooth!!!!

  • Oct 20, 2019 by Camille E.

    My little sister had a last minute emergency on a Sunday before a big European trip. Let's just say...if her tooth hadn't been fixed...her new nick name would've been chip. We called multiple dentists in Lompoc, Santa Barbara, and San Luis were there was either no answering service or an automated service that got us no where. Our friend suggested Dr. Wong's office, we called, pressed 3, and immediately got ahold of Vanessa. AN ACTUAL PERSON! We still can't believe it. Once we realized the tooth could potentially be compromised, she immediately call Dr. Wong and his dental assistant and they both met us within an hour. They were professional and courteous and had us both at ease. Dr. Wong explained everything to us step by step and took his time. He was gentle and was attentive, constantly checking to see if she was uncomfortable in anyway. Within an hour, my sister's tooth was fixed and we were on our way home. You can not imagine how grateful we were to find an office like this one. I'll be recommending him to all of my friends and posting this to social media. And I never do that...never! Thanks to everyone that helped us

  • May 05, 2019 by Catherine F.

    I've seen Dr. Kim for a few years now, and I'm really glad I chose him. I had received a bad filling from another dentist, was in a significant  amount of pain, and so I rushed in to be seen by Dr. Kim for help. He was able to remove the bad filling and replace it, which removed the pain I was experiencing. Since then I have gone back to him for everything. He is really nice and has a kind and friendly staff. Definitely recommend.

  • Feb 22, 2019 by Brian L.

    I just got started with Dr. Wong about a year ago and he is the best dentist I have had by far. He takes the time to explain everything and his work is pain free and done quickly. I just had two crowns replaced and and was very impressed with the precision and care he took to get everything looking just right. My Dental Hygienist, Amber, is also great and is very good with my kids. Front office staff is organized and very responsive. You can't go wrong here.

  • Dec 13, 2018 by Lyn O.

    I am new to Dental treatment in SLO County. I was lucky enough to know a dental hygienist who works for Dr. Kim in Templeton.  She had told me for years what a great dentist he was and how much she loved working for him.  Well, since moving into Templeton, I have had the best treatment. And I must say I didn't give him the best teeth.  Anyone would be happy for his professional and frank assessments.   If you don't want to hear honest, go elsewhere.

  • Dec 03, 2018 by Lucy D.

    I've been going to this practice for 15+ years and it is excellent. I felt compelled to write a review today because I just had a great appointment with Dr. Wong. I was scheduled for two onlays and preapproved with my insurance. Once my old silver fillings were removed, Dr. Wong informed me that two new fillings would suffice. This saved me an hour in the chair and major $$$! Thank you, Dr. Wong!

  • May 09, 2018 by Cristal N.

    I felt such at peace ! Learned a lot and was totally comfortable !!! Super skilled office great customer service from all staff ! Got greater  by providers with personal handshakes as I walked in for my first app !

  • Feb 01, 2018 by Vanessa G.

    I tried making an appointment for my husband and I and the wait for new patients is very long!  Not sure why they are promoting new patients if they can't take any.  Doesn't make any sense...

  • Jan 05, 2018 by cookie s.

    I had an amazing experience yesterday.  I was referred by my dearest friend, and it was as she explained.  From the minute I walked in, I was greeted by staff and Dr. Wong, welcoming me.  Dr. Wong detailed what I should expect and why.  I loved that this is a 'teaching' facility.  All staff are educated as new situations pop up.  He welcomed me to 'his family' and I felt that this was the right place for me.  I easily shared some of my previous positive and negative experiences over 7 decades.  He took pictures of my teeth (a first for me) and went through each one, describing what he saw, whether positive or negative.  By the time that was done, I had a good handle on what I needed to have done and easily agreed as I could see the evidence myself.  During this evaluation/diagnosis, Dr Kim was in the room and offered feedback as well.  It was such an incredible experience to have 2 professionals, wanting to be there for me and share their professional opinions.  Honestly this is a first of this kind of experience.  That I can have a crown evaluated, and replaced in the next visit, is incredible.  My hygienist, and 'manager' are both fantastic.  Both easy going and super professional at the same time.  I looked forward to this visit based on my friend's recommendation, and I was not disappointed one bit.  Kudos to the entire crew.  PS the office is beautiful.  Felt very 'spiritual' to me.  I'm one of those people who can feel the energy....good or bad, and this was truly great.

  • Dec 27, 2017 by Sherrie B.

    Dr Wong is a very skilled and patient dentist. He really listens to you and is never rushed when he's with you. His office staff is excellent and you can tell they are great part of their business.  If you want an excellent dentist who is up to date on the latest technology I would highly recommend Dr. Wong or Dr Kim

  • Oct 24, 2017 by Christian B.

    wow! I never thought I could smile again! It's been years trying to cover up my ugly diseased decayed teeth and Dr. Wong and his assistant Laura did an amazing job to return my full smile.  Doctor Wong's skill and chair side manner are second to none. I would and do recommend Dr. Wong to anyone. You can just tell its their passion to provide the best dental arts available that goes beyond the chair. Go go go and thanks Dr. Wong! Much Gratitude.

  • Sep 26, 2017 by Christian Anthony

    Dr. Wong is an amazing dentist. Terrific chair-side manner and great technician he walks you through each step of the dental process utilizing the finest Cutting Edge technology I felt like I was in great hands no pain and was part of something really special. Thanks the doctor Wong his assistant Patty and everybody at the clinic fantastic work I recommend it to anyone

  • Aug 18, 2017 by Christopher Ames

    Always an amazing experience

  • Jul 18, 2017 by Austin Y.

    Dr. Mathew Kim and Dr. Nathan Wong are rockstars! They were able to reconstruct my missing teeth and restore my smile with professionalism and efficiency. With their use of modern technology along with their refined skills, the whole experience exceeded my expectations! The office staff and assistants were also great. No doubt I would highly recommend these doctors.

  • Jul 15, 2017 by Mohamed A.

    Dr. Wong's practice provided me with one of the best dental experiences I've had, both in customer service and, most importantly, dental expertise. From the get-go, they worked around my full work schedule to get me an appointment, and stayed in constant communication with me if someone cancelled and a better time was available. Dr. Wong made me feel right at home and is extremely knowledgeable and passionate about his dentistry profession. Dr. Wong was very, very thorough and actually made sure I understood what he was seeing. Afterwards, I had a great cleaning from the hygienist, talked briefly with the doctor on my way out, and scheduled my next appointment. I feel fortunate that out of all the dentists I thought to see, this was the practice I chose to go to.

  • Jul 14, 2017 by Stephanie B.

    I saw Dr. Kim a few years back. I had been needing to see a dentist for a long time. Dr. Kim did several crowns and veneers for me. He managed my TMJ beautifully and his office worked with me regarding my lack of insurance at the time. I've since moved several times and seen three different dentists, an oral surgeon and an orthodontist. Every single time they comment on how nice my crowns are and go on and on about how they had no idea my front four teeth were veneers. I've even had dentists compare crowns he did to newer ones I've gotten, Dr. Kim's are always praised. I wish we were still local, I would still be a patient.

  • Jun 13, 2017 by Amber B.

    This place is amazing! My 4 year old son knocked out his front tooth on a Thursday night and they were able to see him on Friday morning. We weren't even previous patients and Dr. Wong still came in on his day off to take care of our emergency. He was friendly and playful with my nervous little boy and the whole appointment was a breeze. We are so very thankful for this entire team. What could have been a traumatic first dental experience was completely positive. We are now patients for life.

  • Nov 07, 2016 by James Silva

  • Nov 01, 2016 by Julia B.

    I'm new to the area and had an emergency toothache. The receptionist Bethany had me in within an hour to see Dr. Kim. It was a great experience. He walked me through everything and made sure I had immediate care and that I got the help I needed. They're really great people.

  • Aug 31, 2016 by Odessa B.

    I cracked a tooth and needed to find a dentist in slo fast. They fit me into their schedule for the very next day and were able to do everything in one visit (creating a whole crown)! They use cameras and 3D modeling to do everything quick and painless. Awesome experience, especially since I'm not too fond of the dentist usually. I would highly recommend everybody there. They were all super nice and explained everything that was happening very thoroughly. I will definitely be back!

  • Aug 29, 2016 by Victoria H.

    Love this practice! I hadn't been to the dentist in awhile, so I was a bit apprehensive at what the experience would be like. The staff and doctors made me feel so comfortable, and I've never had such a thorough first appointment! They made sure that I understood what my oral health looked like and any repairs that needed to be done, in priority order.  I also loved that they gave me a full summary of what I needed done with a full cost breakdown of what insurance would pay and what I would be responsible for.  My first filling I had completed there was done so fast and I barely felt anything! Thank you Dr. Wong and company for the great experience!

  • May 02, 2016 by Kristy L.

    Had beyond a horrible tooth ache last week! Already knowing I have "one" cracked tooth (#15). Made a after hours call to Dr Kim's office in great pain. Dr Kim responded to my Emergency call, with Bethaney calling me the next morning to schedule an appointment for dental work. With some cautious eating I was able to manage my teeth for 5 days.  As Bethaney informed Dr Kim would be out of town and I happily accepted Dr Nathan Wong to do my dental repairs. Outstanding Work Dr Nathan Wong! Your step by step explanation of my dental procedure with 2 cracked teeth (#14 & #15) in need of repair (silver filling removals) and a 2 crown replacement procedure. Excellent Work Well Done! Even a follow up call this evening to see how my temporary crowns are feeling and if I felt pain? 10 Stars to you Dr Nathan Wong, Thank You for Your Outstanding Dentistry! I will continue my visits with you as my Dentist

  • Sep 02, 2015 by Jacob Kissack

    Dr. Kim is the Ferrari of dentist! I am a Type 1 Diabetic and he educated me on how and why he was going to care for me the way he would! He spent almost an hour educating me about my oral hygiene, taking me through what NO other dentist in my 20+ years of annual checkup/cleanings has ever done. His dental hygienist are the best I have ever experienced and the vibe of the whole office is positive and uplifting, not rushed or uncaring! His secretaries are on point too, they checked all my insurance stuff to make sure I was getting as much as I could for my money.

    I will go no where else, unless they refer me out, because I know they have my best interest in mind and they are not a one stop shop. They are better because they specialize and are GREAT at specific dental work not just OK at it all, which I SUPER appreciate!

  • Sep 02, 2015 by Jacob K.

    Dr. Kim is the Ferrari of dentists! I am a Type 1 Diabetic and he educated me on how and why he was going to care for me the way he would! He spent almost an hour educating me  about my oral hygiene, taking me through what NO other dentist in my 20+ years of annual checkup/cleanings has ever done. His dental hygienist are the best I have ever experienced and the vibe of the whole office is positive and uplifting, not rushed or uncaring! His secretaries are on point too, they checked all my insurance stuff to make sure I was getting as much as I could for my money. I will go no where else, unless they refer me out, because I know they have my best interest in mind and they are not a one stop shop. They are better because they specialize and are GREAT at specific dental work not just OK at it all, which I SUPER appreciate!

  • Sep 01, 2015 by Erin T.

    Dr.Kim is an amazing dentist! He explains every procedure In great detail and makes sure you're comfortable. I've had issues with past dentists rushing the appointment and forgetting about my comfort during the procedure but that's never been a problem with Dr.Kim. I believe you get what you pay for, and I wouldn't spend my money anywhere else. Great work and I can't wait for my next visit!

  • Aug 27, 2015 by Geri S.

    Best dentists and office crew in the County!  Our family loves Dr. Kim and Dr. Wong.  Our family has been going to see Dr. Kim for over ten years.  We have received nothing but the best care from him.   He is extremely knowledgable and very caring about his patients.  He is very careful on his referrals as well.  His care is top notch yet he is quick to be careful before choosing treatment.  He gave me my smile back!  He is great with children too.  My girls started going to him when they were very little.  They have never been frightened of going to the dentist.  Cleaning crew is awesome too.  Can't say enough about them all.

  • Aug 23, 2015 by Yong P.

    These people saved my life! Or at least, my mouth! Late on a Thursday night, the crown in my molar broke. Sharp edges, and a super sensitive tooth made it pretty uncomfortable, and with my normal dentist not open on Friday I was looking at three days of discomfort before I could even have it looked at. A friend recommended Dr. Kim and Dr. Wong's practice, so I left them a message that night. The next morning at 8 (when they open), I got a call from Bethany in their front office (she's awesome). She was able to work me in to their schedule and went so far as to check if Dr. Wong could come in early just to see me! Early morning didn't work out, so they were able to fit me in shortly after lunch. Imagine the service their regular patients get if they treat random walk-in's this way! Long story short, i got a new crown milled for me right there and walked out of there with a better fitting crown than the original. Long story long: Dr. Wong is very pleasant, explains everything he is doing while he is doing it, and takes the time to explain to you what's going on as well as your options. The fact that they are open on Friday, and that Dr. Wong stayed late to help me out (not his patient) was amazing.  All of the staff in the office are super nice, and I would not hesitate to go here again. In fact, I'm seriously considering switching dentists now.

  • Apr 03, 2015 by Travis M.

    I have always hated the dentist my entire life... That is until I started seeing Dr Nathan Wong! He's is AWESOME. Best dentist I've ever had. For once I actually don't dread having to go. He is super friendly and makes you feel totally comfortable. I would highly recommend him to anyone I know.

  • Jun 24, 2013 by Jim K.

    I've been going to Dr. Kim for many years, and in that time he's been nothing but the best. Though admittedly I'm not a huge fan of getting dental work (who is?) his casual, yet professional demeanor always puts me at ease. He works quickly and efficiently, providing clear explanations every step of the way. I trust his advice 100%. Highly recommended.

  • Jun 17, 2013 by Harlow Slo

    My experience with Dr Kim was an unexpected breath of fresh air! In the dentist's chair it is not uncommon to find me with headphones on and my eyes scrunched closed as I attempt to mentally teleport myself out of yet another agonizing detal experience. I didn't reach for Pandora once the whole visit!

    Dr Kim is intelligent, effective, kind, and approachable. I sincerely appreciate his use of advanced technology (ex. power point slideshow of my exam, micro camera guided tour of my mouth) which made the visit exponentially more comfortable AND eased my considerable anxiety associated with dental visits.

    Instead of some guy reaching in, poking and prodding my mouth, and rambling off a jumble of numbers, letters, and abbreviations to a dental assistant who is hurridly attemting to jot down the Dr's findings- Dr Kim explained each and every step of the exam to me, which I was able to follow along with on the television screen in front of me. I felt like an active participant in the process rather than just another person with their mouth stretched open and vulnerable in a scary dentist's chair.

    Dr Kim was clear and precise in detailing what was high/med/low priority in addressing my needs as a patient (what needed to be addressed soon, what could wait, and what should be watched for follow-up). I've had experience with dentists who perform substandard work, wholly for the purpose of being able to charge for the procedure and I'm paying in more ways than just out of my pocketbook for that mistake now. The level of transparency with which he does his work speaks to the high degree of confidence and expertise throughout his practice. His office staff was warm, friendly, and meticulously thorough from the moment I came in to the moment I left.

    If you like to be treated like a person, not a walking talking dollar sign, get a referral to see Dr Kim.

  • Jun 17, 2013 by Harlow S.

    Dr Kim and the lovely ladies in his office provide top-notch dentistry in a cozy little office here in Downtown SLO. Their caring compassion combined with using the most current dental practices showcase the skills of a dentist and staff who are amongst the very best! Dr Kim's patients are the kind who see him themselves- then bring their family to see him.   That's the best recommendation I know of: generation after generation of patients who recommend him and keep coming back. I never felt pressured into getting work done, he just let me know what was going on with my dental health and I could CHOOSE how much or little work I wanted to address at that time!! I'd rather know the facts when I get a dental assessment. I'd rather plan to fix something in 6 months that I know needs to be done over having an emergency in 6 months out of the blue. I really appreciate that information from Dr. Kim and I feel like I have at least a little bit of control and decision-making in my own healthcare with him. Sure he's young but a degree from UCLA means he's got one of the best educations out there and San Luis is lucky he returned and set up shop with us. He truly supports local business and community, is generous with his time, and genuinely cares for his patients.

  • Jun 15, 2013 by Catherine F.

    At a different dentist, I had a filling done. It was my first filling ever, and I didn't know what to expect. A week later I was still in severe pain. I booked an emergency appointment with Dr. Kim as I have heard around town that he is excellent. I came in to the office and immediately felt calm. Its a beautiful, relaxing space. The receptionist was really nice and there wasn't a huge batch of paperwork to fill out - just a simple sheet. Then Dr. Kim called me in and sat me down at his desk to talk about his practice and what I should expect. LET ME SAY - That is the FIRST time I have ever had a DR do that. It made me feel so comfortable and cared for. Once in the dental chair, he was quick to find the problem, show me what was happening, and come up with a game plan to fix it. I will never go to another dentist. Dr. Kim is very informative, helpful, and efficient. I truly don't know what I would have done if I didn't get the answers and results as quickly as he gave them. I will recommend him to anyone in need of dentistry.

  • Jun 12, 2013 by Jules B.

    I had been relying on my so called "reliable" family dentist for over 15 years to look through his little mirror and tell me the stains in the grooves of my teeth were just that "stains"....until one day I had a horrible tooth ache and abcess, I then needed a root canal ugh.. Now I have a great new dentist Dr.Matthew Kim who believes in preventitive sealants and small fillings instead of wating until they turn into painful root canals. And people he shows you after he starts to remove the stain every step of the way with his camera (you can't make this stuff up)!!!! I can't say enough about this office everyone that works there is friendly and skilled in the area they are trained from his assistants to his hygienists to the front office staff...I am so glad I found Dr. Kims office

  • Jun 03, 2013 by Kevin M.

    Wow, so 8 years after Dr. Kim told me I was in dire straits I'm still chewing pain free. I just had to go dentist shopping and it reminded me of my Kim experience. I thought I should share my experience just in case other people had the same problem. Happily others had the same experience, and just maybe my teeth aren't completely horrible. I had the same experience as all the other 1 star raters Dr. kim Basically told me I needed my whole mouth replaced and immediately! It was going to cost something like $10,000 over what my insurance (Delta) would cover. It freaked me out for years, because as an 18yo student just trying to get regular cleaning while at college I definitely couldn't afford it. Yeah he is super arrogant and self absorbed too. Don't be freaked out by the camera he shows you of your teeth. Nobodies molars are bleached and ready for the big screen. :)

  • May 29, 2013 by Mary J.

    Dr. Kim is one of the best dentists in SLO. He has a great bed-side manner and does great work. He's very passionate about his practice and I never left feeling like he was rushed or didn't care. If anything I felt like he wanted to do more than I actually needed. I ended up going to another dentist to see if he had the same thoughts about my teeth. He had a less aggressive approach that I felt comfortable with, and was a lot less money. If I had better dental insurance or money wasn't a factor, I'd still go to Dr. Kim. Also, his dental hygienists were hands down the best of the best.

  • May 19, 2013 by Aubrie H.

    I'm so glad that Dr. Kim is my dentist! My former dentist retired last year so my dad referred me to Dr. Kim, whom my dad has been going to for the last twenty years. My dad assured me that he is the best dentist he has ever been to and after several visits, I had to agree. I appreciate that Dr. Kim gave me a detailed explanation of the condition each tooth is in, he gave me a treatment plan in the order of the issues that should be addressed first and he also told me the truth about the urgency of these procedures. I think a lot of people misunderstand that all of this work needs to be done all at once. That was not the case. Dr. Kim clearly knows what he is talking about, he cares about people and he is very generous. When I am there, I am always hearing from the staff members about how generous he is and what a great boss he is, which says a lot. If there is no parking in his parking lot, there is even a free change dish in his lobby so that you can park on the street out front, to no expense of your own. Matt is a great dentist. These negative reviews on this site in no way reflect the experiences I have had.

  • Feb 11, 2013 by buffy s.

    My experience with Dr Kim was an unexpected breath of fresh air! In the dentist's chair it is not uncommon to find me with headphones on and my eyes scrunched closed as I attempt to mentally teleport myself out of yet another agonizing detal experience. I didn't reach for Pandora once the whole visit! Dr Kim is intelligent, effective, kind, and approachable. I sincerely appreciate his use of advanced technology (ex. power point slideshow of my exam, micro camera guided tour of my mouth) which made the visit exponentially more comfortable AND eased my considerable anxiety associated with dental visits. Instead of some guy reaching in, poking and prodding my mouth, and rambling off a jumble of numbers, letters, and abbreviations to a dental assistant who is hurridly attemting to jot down the Dr's findings- Dr Kim explained each and every step of the exam to me, which I was able to follow along with on the television screen in front of me. I felt like an active participant in the process rather than just another person with their mouth stretched open and vulnerable in a scary dentist's chair. Dr Kim was clear and precise in detailing what was high/med/low priority in addressing my needs as a patient (what needed to be addressed soon, what could wait, and what should be watched for follow-up). I've had experience with dentists who perform substandard work, wholly for the purpose of being able to charge for the procedure and I'm paying in more ways than just out of my pocketbook for that mistake now. The level of transparency with which he does his work speaks to the high degree of confidence and expertise throughout his practice. His office staff was warm, friendly, and meticulously thorough from the moment I came in to the moment I left. If you like to be treated like a person, not a walking talking dollar sign, get a referral to see Dr Kim.

  • Dec 12, 2012 by Lily W.

    What an awesome experience! After moving here and looking for a dentist, several of my friends recommended Dr. Kim because they've been going to him for years. My first appointment with him was unlike any other dentist appointment I've ever had... but only because of how great an experience it was! He started by telling me all about his practice and his philosophy about dentistry. It was very obvious that he's a really sincere guy and has his patient's best interests in mind. Next, they took some x-rays as usual, and then the fun part began. Dr. Kim used this really cool oral camera during the entire check-up and had me watch on a monitor as he looked over each tooth individually while he pointed out any cavities I had. Unfortunately for me, I did have a handful of cavities, but it was nice to be able to actually see the cavities up close on the monitor. I also had some cavities between my teeth (I guess I shoulda flossed!) but Dr. Kim showed me on the x-rays and after he explained what I was looking at, it was pretty obvious even to me! A few days later I ended up getting a few fillings done by Dr. Kim. Again, another great experience! He used the same camera throughout the procedure, showing me my tooth at every step of the process. Once he started drilling, he showed me how the cavity spread and then he cleaned it all out and showed me another picture of it all cleaned. What a difference! So like other reviewers have said, yes, Dr. Kim may end up recommending a lot of treatment (but what do you expect if you haven't been to the dentist in a few years?). BUT he showed me every single cavity and explained everything to me, even during the procedure. Also, he did explain to me that some of my cavities were much smaller and we could just keep an eye on them for a while. I never felt pressured into getting any treatment but after seeing all those nasty brown cavities on the screen I wanted to get them fixed ASAP! I really don't understand these other people saying Dr. Kim pressured them into getting treatment that other dentists said wasn't necessary. They must've been sleeping through the part where Dr. Kim showed them the pictures of all their gross cavities. Dr. Kim really took the time to teach me about my teeth to the point where even I knew a cavity when I saw one on the screen! Again, I can't recommend Dr. Kim enough if you really want the honest truth about what's going on with your teeth.

  • Oct 03, 2012 by Linda D.

    I had the same experience that many have. I am new to the area and wanted to try a new dentist. I went there and he wanted to do a long list of work on my teeth which surprised me because he even wanted to fill the small line in the molars that every other dentist has told me that was just discoloration. I told my friend that I found a dentist and without solicitation she said "Just don't go to Dr. Kim". She explained that she went to him and he wanted to do $27K in work and when she got a second opinion most of it was unneccesary. So I went and got a second opinion and lo and behold the same result. A bunch of unnecessary work was recommended. WARNING: IF YOU WANT TO MAKE DR. KIM RICH AND PROFIT FROM DISHONESTY GO TO HIM BUT IF YOU LOVE YOUR TEETH RUN FROM  HIS OFFICE.

  • Oct 18, 2007 by Peter K.

    DO NOT GO TO THIS GUY. I went to Dr. Kim for about 6 months while I lived in San Luis Obispo. On my first visit, he told that I had cavities in half my teeth and would need to have them all filled asap. I let him work on three of my bottom molars and they were pain sensitive for about 2 years after he did the work. I didn't let him do any more cavity filling on my teeth, but every time I went for a cleaning (twice), he and his hygenists harassed me endlessly about getting more work done.  I found out from other people I worked with at the time that he did the same thing to them. When I started going to my current dentist (Dr. Alvarado, see review), I told him that I had all these cavities that needed to be filled. After looking at my x-rays, he was shocked and said that I don't have ANY cavities or other needed work! As you can imagine, I now thing Dr. Kim is a total fraud. Go to him at  your own risk.