Pizza Republic

Pizza Republic

3810 Board St.
San Luis Obispo CA 93401
805-543-4825

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Facebook
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Nov 14, 2020 by Karla C.

    This was our first time here and it was DELICIOUS! We ham ordered four different slices: California, veggie, bbq chicken, and pineapple with other things. The pizza sauce was sooo good. The crust was crunchy with a great flavor. Our 2 year-old was starving and we were eating almost right after we ordered. He loved it too! The young lady at the counter was great also. Definitely recommend it!

  • Nov 10, 2020 by Tori M.

    Yummy veggie pizza and beet salad! The staff has been very friendly each time I've been in, they're welcoming and attentive.

  • Nov 09, 2020 by Andrew B.

    Everything is amazing. Wow, best chicken parm in SLO. The staff is amazing too! They also have great lunch deals! Everything is so yummy.

  • Oct 17, 2020 by Sage T.

    World's best carrot cake. It's moist and the cream cheese frosting is amazing. The frosting isn't too sweet, I was pleasantly impressed and surprised. The prices here are pretty good as well.

  • Oct 01, 2020 by Bruce T.

    The eggplant parmigiana is THE BEST. It's cooked perfectly and the sauce is delicious. Everyone is very helpful. I highly recommend the place.

  • Jan 10, 2020 by Bob Tuman

    My wife and i were there last night and ordered a salad and veggie pizza. I must say that growing up in New York spoiled me for good pizza, and your pizza was underwhelming. Very bland red sauce, tasteless cheese, and the pizza dough tasted like rolled Wonder Bread.

    I have great respect for the owner who took a risk buying the restaurant, and I wish her great success. To the owner, use a crunchy pizza dough. If you have ever tasted the multi grain bread or the baguettes from hush harbor bakery in atascadero, you will know what I mean. Use a red sauce with body and add a bit of salt. Roast the veggies in olive oil and a little salt before you put them on pizzas. And use a cheese with a little higher fat content. When I make personal pizzas at home, I use mozzarella, a bit of Parmesan, and sharp or extra sharp cheddar. Just thin slices on top. I will gladly return if your pizza improves.

  • Sep 04, 2019 by Benjamin S.

    Great pizza, sandwiches, salads, etc. Really friendly and prompt service. Owner seems to always be there and is always cheerful and helpful. A well-curated handful of beers and wines on tap that rotates frequently enough. Awesome lunch specials.

  • Aug 27, 2019 by J S.

    This place is so much more than the pizza! The best kept secret is that it has a fantastic catering menu for pasta and salads. pizzarepublicslo.com/cat… I picked up 3 trays of pasta for a family reunion of 50 people: Bucatini Carbonara, Rigatoni and Meatballs, Mac n Cheese. All three were fabulous and my guests raved about how delicious it was.  The meatballs were a hit with the little kids. To feed a crowd, order your pasta from Pizza Republic. You won't be disappointed!

  • Aug 15, 2019 by Kristen H.

    Definitely one of my favorite lunch spots in this part of town. Good deal on the pizza+salad+soda combo! I've only had the one type of pizza because it's soooooo good! But I'd assume the rest are just as delicious! And the salads I've tried are all equally amazing - especially the beet! All the staff is friendly and very helpful too!!

  • Jul 12, 2019 by Senakhtenre A.

    Wow! I must say I am embarrassed as it was my first time in today. I've always wanted to go I just have never made the effort. I'm sure glad I made the decision to go today! As I walked in I was greeted with the delicious smell of pizza, I was acknowledged immediately as I walked in which was very nice. I browsed the slices and got a margherita pizza and a veggie, both were fresh out of the oven! I love the pan crust and I feel a good one is hard to find around here, they have a great one!! I will be back for sure!

  • Jun 20, 2019 by Monica G.

    First time eating here. I called in an order for the "Wise Guys" pizza 12 in. only $14. It was ready when I was told. I shared w/ a coworker. We were both very satisfied & stuffed. One of the BEST pizza I've had! Sooo good! Generously topped with delicious topics. You could tell the pizza sauce was all quality. Can't wait to try the white sauce pizza!

  • May 29, 2019 by Claire N.

    Awesome customer service! They did a great job on my catering order for 40 people and everyone loved the food! Would highly recommend them for any of your events!

  • May 28, 2019 by John Z.

    This pizza is awesome. Theres many choices on the menu. Sandwiches, pastas and pizza by the slice deals.  I got the pizza slice and picked one of many different salads and a drink  my salad choice was cucumber salad which had cucumber tomato and onion in some kind of vinegarette.  Spell check there lol. My choice of pizza was chicken with white sauce. There were many different kinds of pizza to choose from. The food was great and the service was very friendly. The lady at the counter came out and asked if everything was good and if i liked my salad.  She asked me if i liked beets. I said yes and she came out with a very generous complementary portion of their beet salad which was amazing. The bill was about 8 bucks   Good price to. I highly recommend this place   I would show a pic but sorry i already ate it

  • May 25, 2019 by Mohamed M.

    While awaiting a takeout Diavola, we tried a veggie slice. The veggie slice was well received, crust fully cooked, risen and light with a great flavor and excellent texture. Cheese and toppings were plentiful, fresh and complimented the crust very well.        On the way out with our diavola, I being the graceful poised individual that I am lost hold of the pizza box, suffering the consequences of having cheese and sauce down my leg. Embarrassingly, my girlfriend trudged her way back into the restaurant to order another pizza while I picked off the remnants of what was once a pretty respectable looking pie.          The staff, not only provided me with some wet towels to help clean up, but made us another pizza and refused to charge us when we, fully aware of MY mistake, implored them to charge us. Some time later after walking out unable to thank the staff enough we arrived back to our room with dinner.          The diavola was, as a diavola should be, simple, yet robust with flavor. I found the spice factor comparable to many of the ones I've tried in Florence and Rome, nothing overpowering, but enough to excite your taste sensations. If you find yourself in the Pismo area and are looking to treat yourself to a pizza, THIS is the spot, you'd be doing yourself a disservice to drive by this spot hungry! And to the staff at Pizza Republic, thank you! Thank you for dealing with my snafu, the excellent service, and the delicious pizzas!

  • May 16, 2019 by Mike G.

    Great little spot worth going out of my way a bit to stop by. Lots of lunch and dinner specials, and decent beer selection. Lots of different pizza you can get by the slice during lunch (maybe dinner too?). I choose macaroni salad for my side last time and wow it was good. This time I got the meatball slider and Mac n cheese for a side. Both were super delish and you get a big portion in the side dishes - which come in a big bowl. Service is great and very patient as I painfully look over the menu board before I order. Oh ya fresh ice tea and lemonade in addition to the soda machine for those lunches on the clock.

  • May 05, 2019 by Clara C.

    Took a drive up the coast yesterday to see my family. We ate lunch here & I'm still dreaming of the pizza I had. We each got the pizza combo. I ordered a slice of the California (chicken, corn, avocado, cilantro & white sauce) & a spring mix salad. The pizza was a deliciously, creamy, gooey square of heaven with a perfectly crispy, crunchy crust. SO INCREDIBLE, like really! The salad was good too - super fresh & despite looking "overdressed", it was just right. We also got an extra slice, ala carte, to try. I don't remember the name but it was a spicy little number with pepperoni, yellow peppers, serrano peppers & a red sauce but it's the California that won my heart. They have a number of "deli scoops" to choose from for your pizza combo. Including cucumber salad, pesto pasta salad, caprese salad, macaroni salad and a few others I can't recall. My mom said that sometimes they have a tasty beet salad. You can also do half & half, like my SIL - she got spring mix salad & cucumber salad. Service was friendly & quick. Next time I'm up in SLO, I totally want to go back!

  • Apr 29, 2019 by Scott H.

    Amazing pie! The sauce and the dough and the ingredients were all super fresh and amazing. Their salads are also extraordinary and the dressings are one of a kind! Really enjoyed the veggie pizza in particular. Actually had pizza for breakfast for the first time since college and it was also superlative! Recommended to go here first when you're in San Luis Obispo. Five stars all the way around. Scott Hammond, State Farm, Eureka, California

  • Apr 19, 2019 by Neville S.

    This place took over the space where Cugini's used to be. The theme is mostly the same, although the current business has more pasta options in my opinion. Also, their pizza choices for the "by the slice" deal are different and quite interesting. For example, I've never ever had corn on pizza before, but their chicken and corn on white sauce was really tasty. I did find the food a bit expensive compared to the previous business that was there. However, during our short time there we saw several college students stopping by for salads and pasta, so perhaps the price is right for the area.

  • Mar 07, 2019 by Lindsey H.

    Quick and easy lunch and dinner spot. Pizza by slice that can be mixed and matched with salad and a drink with reasonable prices. Order take out or swing in for a quick and easy meal.

  • Feb 21, 2019 by Jessika

    Mac Salad & Pizza were delicious! Great atmosphere, super friendly staff and management! Ordering their Spicy Hawian for dinner tonight. Glad I found this place.

  • Jan 10, 2019 by N B.

    Pasta dishes were so delicious and the staff were super friendly. Cashier gave us a generous sample of the mac-n-cheese and my daughter loved it. Prices were reasonable with comfy environment. A lucky find outside of the downtown area. Can't wait to return with our whole family.

  • Dec 20, 2018 by Ron B.

    In the shopping center to charge my EV and found this place on Yelp. It is delicious, came on a Wednesday and had their special Wise Guy which was pepperoni sausage with roasted red peppers. Friendly and fast.

  • Dec 06, 2018 by Heather R.

    I wish I could post a picture of my California slice of pizza and chicken salad combo, but it was gone quick. This is the best pizza I have EVER had. I stumbled upon this place because I am an Uber rays driver and I did a pick up order, I soon realized this place was worth checking out on my own so I came back. Excellent service and delicious food. So glad to have pizza republic in slo!!

  • Dec 05, 2018 by An L.

    Definitely recommend pizza here. It's already laid out and they re heat it to toast it again. It's very flavorful, reminds me of this amazing pizza place in Miami. They have a great lunch special. I would recommend they toss their salad, for their customers. Instead of just drizzling the dressing, especially the ceaser salad.

  • Nov 16, 2018 by Ricky P.

    Good pizzas. Love their mushroom and olive. Crust JS is just right. Ok prices. The breads are awesome

  • Nov 02, 2018 by Gino A.

    Excellent pizza.  This is the only place that has good pizza in SLO.  The owner is very nice.

  • Oct 26, 2018 by Jennifer K.

    I had a great experience with this place! The owner Lisa is super nice and even granted me a free replacement pizza delivered to my place of employment to make up for a mistake on a prior order. You don't get many owners like that these days. The pizza was hot and fresh! Yummy sauce and spicy Pepperoni's were a plenty. Try this place is you haven't.

  • Oct 16, 2018 by Shawn M.

    Good pizza and awesome Mac & Cheese but cool it with the putting corn in everything. I ordered the lunch special One slice and deli item with drink. I got the Chicken and basil w white sauce and it had corn on it fine i get it  its ok but I got the Mack and cheese which was amazing but it also had corn in it? lol ok Great food just chill on all the corn!

  • Oct 15, 2018 by Jim G.

    Pizza is really great but their salads, pastas and especially their made on premises Italian bread is a must have. This place rocks. Come and enjoy you'll be glad you did!!

  • Oct 07, 2018 by Cristina U.

    Kind of a different experience, I walked in during the work week lunch hour and it wasn't too busy. Approached the counter while also taking in the large menu board, I asked about the meal combo. They had about 5 ready-made pizzas to choose from, no Hawaiian, so I selected the Margarita. While the pizza was being reheated in the oven I went to pay and the not-so-friendly cashier said she was the owner. Got my food and went on my way, did not eat in the restaurant. Food: Not a great selection of pre-made. Pizza slice crust tasted like Pizza Hut, toppings were yummy but made me burpy/gassy for the rest of the day, I didn't try anything else. Service: Bland, it was as if everyone either just woke up or nobody wanted to be there -- there was a strange vibe in the air. Bottom line: I will NOT return. It's a cute shop but it felt somehow strained (unfriendly) and the pizza stayed with me in a not so favorable way.

  • Sep 24, 2018 by Kristina B.

    My favorite pizza in town. I love that you can order by the slice and they heat it up in their pizza oven. Employees are friendly. Everything is good!

  • Aug 16, 2018 by Michelle S.

    Second time to visit here and their chicken parmesan never fails. The chicken is tender and so tasty!

  • Aug 16, 2018 by Jake M.

    4.5 stars would be my review The pizza is good, not to floppy and not stiff, the  ingredients they use seem high quality as well The pasta dishes i had tried have been delicious and well worth the price, its hard to find italian food worthy of a to-go price but these guys did it. Also i believe they make a lot of there own sauces. Good family restaurant, great for take out

  • Aug 15, 2018 by Robbie

    Great

  • Aug 14, 2018 by Jeff T.

    Great pizza & salad!  Their other food looks amazing also! Great atmosphere with a outdoor patio. VERY friendly service. I will be back.

  • Aug 01, 2018 by Dori H.

    First tome eating here. Had the chicken schwarma pizza, can't wait to try other items. Highly recommend.

  • Jul 24, 2018 by Scatman D.

    Looked this place up because I needed a pizza to eat at a nearby taproom that doesn't serve food.  Easy to order and pickup.  The pizza was hot and fresh.  The kids really liked the cheese pizza, they would definitely want it again.  Adults tried the ham and pineapple and this was a bit basic, would try something more spicy next time.

  • Jul 10, 2018 by Mike P.

    In the Marigold Center on Broad, you will find a great little eating establishment, open for lunch and early dinners, except it's closed on Sundays.  It is owned by the same people as Giuseppe's.  Not fancy inside, but clean, and it also nice outdoor seating.  Any of the pizzas are great, as well as the salads.  I like the Republic salad and my wife prefers the Miata salad.  The sandwiches and other offerings look delicious too, but we always get the pizza and salads.

  • Jun 30, 2018 by T C.

    Stopped in on my way home from work and ordered a meatball sub.  The service was fast and friendly and the sub was delicious! Can't wait to try the pizza next.

  • Jun 18, 2018 by Lauren H.

    My boss treated me to lunch here today. This was my first time eating at Pizza Republic and I gotta say......YUM. I had a slice of pizza (white sauce, chicken, corn, and cilantro) along with a side of their Mac n cheese and a soda. The pizza was really good! Their slices of pizza are square-shaped; some people care about that but I'm not one of those people. As long as it tastes good I don't care what shape it is! The slice was very Goldilocks-esque when it came to size: not too big, not too small, just right. I meant to take photos but I was too hungry and devoured my food pretty quickly! The Mac n cheese was super duper rich and creamy and tasted amazing. Hoping it'll sit well and that I won't have to have TUMS for dessert Not sure if they have any gluten-free crust options....I'll be sure to look into that for my next visit. I will eat there again, oh yes.

  • Jun 14, 2018 by Jennifer I.

    My first time, but not last. I was in town getting my car serviced and started to get hungry, so I got on yelp to see what was recommended around me. Pizza Republic had good reviews, and being less than a mile away, I headed right over. It was so good. I met Lisa, the owner, who was so sweet. I couldn't make up my mind, but ultimately decided on the spicy Hawaiian pizza slice and pesto pasta. Can't wait to try the rest.

  • Jun 08, 2018 by Richard H.

    I was in Paso Robles for the day and was reminded that SLO has good pizza. I found these guys on Yelp. I decided on these guys because I noticed they sold slices besides whole pie so each person in my family can order what they wanted. I had the Margherita while my daughter had a simple pepperoni and my lady had the Fettuccine Alfredo. All I have to say is all food served to us was beyond good. The Alfredo tasted very fresh and home made. It was also served with organic chicken which I don't really care about but my lady was happy about it. Friendly service. Good food. Cold beer. Two thumbs up plus happy faces all around the table. Thank you Pizza Republic. Update... Was still hungry and wanted another slice. I tried the chicken with corn.

  • Jun 03, 2018 by Mary K.

    We stopped for a quick dinner last Saturday night. We ordered two sausage and mushroom pizzas. Delicious, just the way I like them, thin crust and really fresh cheese and toppings. Such a treat. And the new owner Lisa is so personable. We will be back.

  • May 23, 2018 by Jennifer F.

    Yum!!! This is my favorite pizza place in town. But don't let the name fool you they have much more than just pizza. Our go to pizza here is the margherita and it never fails. Staff is amazingly friendly and beers on tap are always great! Awesome specials daily and fast fired pizza. Enjoy eat in or pick up for always delicious hot food. Oh and don't miss out on their salads too!

  • May 16, 2018 by Devin C.

    I've been coming to Pizza Republic at least once a month since they opened. I've found their specials to be the greatest deals they have, in particular their chicken parmigiana special that comes with a side of pasta for a very reasonable price. Besides the specials their pizza selection is top notch, and there's plenty of options to choose from as far as customization is concerned.

  • Apr 19, 2018 by Pablo F.

    After a long day, I was tired, hungry, and wanting pizza but dreading the long wait. I stopped in and was welcomed right away. Service was amicable and expedient. I chose slices of pizza from the ones they have there ready to be eaten. They put them in the oven to heat them up and they turn out good. The bottom gets nice, the middle gets nice, the toppings get nice. A few scant minutes later, I was enjoying fantastic pizza. The star of this show is the bread/crust. Oh so good! I frickin enjoyed the heck out of it. Finally, a place that gets it right! Both flavor and texture. The sauce, cheese, toppings, everything! The super nice owner introduced herself and made me feel valued. They asked my first name and remembered it. The whole experience changed my mood from gruff to happy. Quaint decor, nice architecture, lighting, clean facility, and really nice. A big screen was showing sports. Nice staff. Well articulated menu boards. Good amount of items to choose from. The bathroom was really nice too. Really awesome local pizza shop. I will go out of my way past many other pizza places to get to this one. It is now my default go-to pizza provider when I'm in SLO. Like Cousin Eddie in Vegas Vacation said to Wayne Newton: "I'm a fan!"

  • Mar 28, 2018 by Tammie O.

    Pizza Republic has a new owner Lisa. I was afraid after coming here for so long that it wouldn't be the same but she has kept up the recipes and the food freshness. So if you stop by be sure to say hi to the crew and Lisa and check it out!!

  • Mar 19, 2018 by Geno S.

    Excellent pizza. By the slice or an entire pie. Fast service by the staff. It's very clean and the utensils are silverware not plastic unless you get a to go order. The owner is very accommodating and nice also. I think her name is Lisa. She's great. I really wish they would open up a Pizza Republic in Cambria, Ca.. The pizza in Cambria is terrible and I mean terrible. Try this little gem. You will love it. P.S. Try the Mac and Cheese. You'll love it also.

  • Mar 10, 2018 by Priscilla S.

    Great pizza. LOVE Giuseppe's SLO downtown and Pismo Express in Pismo is great as well. Giuseppe's restaurant in Pismo Beach just opened this week. Excited it finally opened. Going this week! This place is was fabulous before it had the fire. Now that it is reopened I'm sure it will be popular again.

  • Mar 04, 2018 by Jeff B.

    Been coming in for a while now, love that they have single pizza slices for sale, not a whole lot of places do that around here. Also liked how they had the food set up for the customers to see, really made me hungry! Had to go with the mac n cheese after I saw that beauty. Also had a blend of cheese instead of one kind, nice touch. I also got an instant discount for being a college student. This place has the best pizza in SLO county. They put their single slices back in the oven fully crisp them and they also appear fresh outta the oven.

  • Jan 24, 2018 by Lauren A.

    My husband, 2 year old and I go here at least once a week. They are both fond of the California....she loves corn, and it blew her little mind that it could be put on pizza. We never walk out without a cookie, and I just had my leftover eggplant parm for a late night snack. So good! And the prices are great. We hardly ever eat there late enough for the deals (5pm to close), but they are pretty good, too.

  • Jan 19, 2018 by Roxana G.

    First time here, my son wanted taco bell and I wanted pizza! Lol.cute little spot.pizza was nice and fluffy.it was so good . didn't snap a pic because we were hungry :)

  • Jan 01, 2018 by Good B.

    I come here for lunch. Best pizza in town.  Had a few good sandwiches and salads here as well.

  • Dec 29, 2017 by James R.

    I had the margherita pizza and it was tasty with a nice crust and fresh ingredients. My daughter loved the cheese pizza. A few respectable beers on tap to compliment the pie. I also had a salad and deviled eggs. All together a good meal.

  • Dec 27, 2017 by Kelsey S.

    The pizza here is SO good. Like another review said, the slices are somehow crispy AND fluffy in the best way possible. I like the variety of slices they offer, you can try different flavors. The combos are fairly priced and fill you up. I've had the pesto pasta salad and it was very good. The chicken parm with rigatoni is SO good. It's delicious and crispy with perfect al dente noodles. The staff is super nice--it's definitely a go to spot for me.

  • Nov 11, 2017 by Sandra K.

    Good good good good pizza!!!!! From The east coast so not many pizza places can come close to what pizza should be.  Forget about Pizza Hut and dominos! My peeps eat here at least once a week!

  • Oct 30, 2017 by Rick S.

    First timer, heard it was great! Ordered a Margherita Pizza and tossed in some sausage and shrooms.  Excellent! Ice cold beer on tap, friendly folks, what more do you need from this hidden neighborhood gem?

  • Sep 03, 2017 by Ashesh P.

    By far the best pizza in SLO. Ingredients are fresh, the cheese is good plus they have ingredients for sale in the back.

  • Aug 21, 2017 by Hung P.

    Discovered this place last time I was in the area, a must stop for me whenever in SLO. Great ingredients great pizza.

  • Aug 08, 2017 by Jacques D.

    Pizza Republic has a nice outdoor deck that is wonderful to sit in almost a year round considering the temperate climate of San Luis Obispo. The pizza is consistently good. The salads are also quite good but make sure to tell them how much dressing you want on the salad because frequently they add much more than I normally like. The prices here are affordable although not cheap. Four dollars for a slice of pizza. They make deviled eggs which are also good, and they have a reasonable drink selection including beer.

  • May 29, 2017 by Dulce P.

    I love their lunch specials. For $9 I get a huge slice of pepperoni, pinnapple and jalapeno pizza and a good sized salad side. I always get the tasty beet salad with two kinds of beets and white raisins. They also have fresh lemonade and iced tea, to make a fresh Arnold palmer. Def try them out.. they have quite a variety of dishes.

  • Apr 20, 2017 by Saturday night a to Z.

    Good pizzas, good salads, good sandwiches.  Honestly, their Italian sandwich is wonderful.  That and a side of macaroni salad were plenty for C and I to share.  Their salads might seem on the expensive side, but they're quite big.  Again, good for sharing.  Their pizza slices are also big, and they are quick to warm them and get them to you if you're on a lunch break.  So glad Pizza Republic is in town!!

  • Apr 18, 2017 by Ashly C.

    I've only been to Pizza Republic once and really enjoyed it. I went during lunch hour and took advantage of the Pizza Lunch Special. It came with a slice of pizza, your choice of a salad, and drink. The pizza is different looking as it is square when purchased there, I thought it was a fun twist on the normal every day shape. I stuck with good ol pepperoni, the crust was light and fluffy, cheese and pepps were a delicious compliment to the "lightness" of the pizza. My choice of salad was their Spicy Caprese, which was absolutely delicious. It had just the right amount of mozzarella, cherry tomatoes, and jalapeños. They had many other salads to choose from, including a beet salad. I happened to sneak in a bite from my friend and came to conclusion that I'll be trying that salad next time Overall, my experience with Pizza Republic was awesome! The service was fast and friendly. Everything was fresh and I appreciated all the different choices with pizza and salads. I'm looking forward to coming back and seeing what else I can try!

  • Dec 06, 2016 by Troy B.

    Bomb. Pasta and pizza is even better. Soft crunchy dough. Fresh. If you're about quality, this is the place.

  • Nov 23, 2016 by Jonathan Y.

    Had the Diavalo pizza the other night - great balance of ingredients.  As a transplant to San Luis Obispo, I have been underwhelmed by the local pizza, but Pizza Republic is becoming my favorite.

  • Oct 29, 2016 by Whitney D.

    Delicious, fast and oh so satisfying. Try the chicken parm and beef tip sandwich. Both are equally delicious. Yum!

  • Aug 09, 2016 by Mac A.

    INCROYABLE. My new favorite pizza place in SLO. Crust is fantastically light, but not New York thin. Flavors are excellent. They also have sandwiches and deli salads, and even desserts. My absolute favorites are the Italiano sandwich, the Spicy Hawaiian pizza, the macaroni salad, and the chocolate-Tuaca custardy dessert thing I can't recall the name of. Phenomenal. Housemade breads and crusts (once I ordered an Italiano and they asked if I was ok with waiting for the current batch of bread to finish baking or if I wanted to order something else), fresh ingredients, fast service. I think prices may be a tad higher than other pizza/deli/sandwich places, but if so it's undeniably worth it. I go here any chance I get when I want pizza.

  • Jul 16, 2016 by Sharon S.

    Cute place to stop for lunch! Nice service and great selection of small dishes. I am a cheese pizza kinda gal but couldn't resist trying their California Pizza. It was soooo good! It was nice to have the option of indoor and outdoor seating. Wish they were more kid friendly and cut the slices a bit smaller for the little ones. We will be returning :)

  • Jul 14, 2016 by K. R.

    Great food and great service! I called in for a last minute catering order for 20 people at lunch time, and they were able to have the order ready in 20 minutes. Amazing!

  • Apr 26, 2016 by Central Coast Critics C.

    Eating here right now and vicky is our server.  Greeted us with a friendly smile as soon as we walked in the door. They were somewhat busy and it was just her during the dinner rush. The food came at adequate time. Everything was delicious. We had a little misunderstanding on our ordering, But she took care of it with a smile and and with no attitude. We will be back again and tell all our friends!

  • Apr 04, 2016 by Kellen R.

    One of my favorite pizza joints to frequent on my lunches. They have a killer special that's comes out to roughly $9.50 (inc. Tax) where you get a slice of pizza (and their slices are HUGE!) a scoop of deli side (roughly +/1 1 cup) and a fountain drink. I like the Pepperoni, Ham, Pineapple, Onion Jalapeno & a scoop of Macaroni Salad (just like mama used to make). Crust is comparable to a pan crust (light, airy, buttery) rather than a hand-tossed domino's style. Their Italian Sandwich is to die for too! All in all it's my favorite 'hidden' pizza gem in SLO.

  • Mar 21, 2016 by a f.

    Tried out this place and I've tried many pizzas.  My favorite is neopolitan style,  thin and cooked in a very hot oven. Pizza Republic is wonderful!  Perfect crust,  perfect thinness, perfect char,  fab toppings.  I liken it to great pizza in San Francisco!!! I had the vegetarian and have been dreaming of the pizza for days!!!  I need to have it again!!!!!  I will be back Pizza Republic!!! Don't go anywhere!!!!!!! I will bring more pizza lovers to you.  Thanks for being the best restaurant on my trip!!!!! We visited close to closing and the gal at the register cleaned the floor so thoroughly that I would bet that the place is uber clean! A plus in my book!!!!!!

  • Mar 13, 2016 by Ginnie M.

    Great pizza and really nice staff. It's great to have a choice of different pizza slices.  It was a bit pricey, but good pizza. Their deli sandwiches and salads look good too. Will definitely go back.

  • Mar 04, 2016 by Mitch K.

    Cool spot with tasty pies that are ready to go moments after you order. Good beers on tap.

  • Feb 26, 2016 by Matt B.

    We go usually twice to three times a week. Probably the best lunch spot on this side of town. Fast service if you can squeeze in before or after the typical lunch crowd. The pizza by the slice is pretty good but their best offerings are the made to order pizza or the specialty plates like the pastrami sandwich and the chicken parmesan with rigatoni. I challenge you to find a better lunch meal in slo for under $10 than the chicken parm with a roll. Hats off to management for constantly improving the menu. And also for having to deal with the often times difficult San Luis community.

  • Feb 12, 2016 by Mary K.

    I love this place! Food is great and so is there service. I love that I can pop in and get a piece of pizza for my son and fantastic salads for me. Super easy and tastes great! Thanks Pizza Republic!!

  • Feb 04, 2016 by Steve M.

    My first time here and it's fantastic!  The pizza is really good and the slice & beer for $7.00 is such a deal.  That includes Lizards Mouth! I will be back soon.

  • Dec 10, 2015 by Brett S.

    The square slices do not look all that appetizing as they sit on the tray behind the glass. Something magical happens when they get warmed up. This is the best pizza crust I have ever eaten. How can they get it perfectly crunchy and perfectly puffy on the inside? We had a slice of pepperoni, a slice of a Mediterranean combo. We also enjoyed the pesto pasta salad with big hunks of mozzarella. All that and a drink for 13 bucks--what a deal! Then they accidentally brought another slice of pizza--after a really weak willed attempt to send it back on my part, the waitress would not have it. "Take it home and eat it later," she said. That did not happen. We devoured it then and there. Really good service, authentic food culture pizza place. The menu does seem a bit of a mess--specials all over the place, a written menu, several specials on chalkboards and on the wall--but who cares about that. The food is the thing!

  • Dec 08, 2015 by Sterling H.

    I've been coming here for a slice and a side almost weekly since I found it.  The pizza is really good and the sides are awesome.  The staff has always been super nice to me.  The place seems busy enough even during off hours (when I typically visit) to keep the by the slice pizza fresh.  Also the mac and cheese is excellent and I recommend it as a side to pretty much anything.

  • Sep 11, 2015 by T J.

    It is a counter service fast food pizza restaurant but with prices that more closely match a full-service restaurant.  It's not a "$" place by any means.  It's between a $$ and $$$ place, but with the service of a quickie to-go eatery.  The food is OK.  Not great, but not bad by any means.  The place appears staffed by college students--which like most college students are friendly but not deeply engaged in their part time jobs.  (One of our two meals arrived 15 minutes after the other.)  The problem here is that restaurant offers OK-ish food and middling-to-poor serivce, but then charges prices more in line with sit-down restaurants.  (Lunch for two $35, easily).  If our lunch had been $20 total, it would be three stars.  But it's simply overpriced for what it is.

  • Jul 31, 2015 by Valerie S.

    So glad we checked our Discovery Dining book or we might not have found this gem. GREAT PIZZA!! Thin crust. Tasty. I only gave them 4 stars because they actually close at 8pm but YElp, Google and even the coupon stated they closed at 9pm. We got there T 7:45 and were eating while they were doing their clean up routine. I'd like to try one of their sandwiches for lunch next time.

  • Jul 23, 2015 by Don P.

    Ok. I'm not sure if I am giving them 5 stars because I am lit or what but good pizza and good service. We've been coming here for about 6 months and their food is consistently good. We typically do the pizza combo deal which includes a side dish which is usually very good. The guys treat our son right which earns them an extra star. By the way, their Whiskey Chugger IPA (or whatever it's called) is potent.

  • Jul 18, 2015 by Elissa H.

    Solid lunch spot, a little pricey for a pizza place, but the chicken on my "Chicken Florentine" panini IS organic. The help is friendly and the place is always clean (restroom, too!). Delicious mac n cheese, fresh salads, killer paninis!

  • Jul 10, 2015 by Saralee S.

    Went to get pizza with two friends since Thai Boat was closed, and Pizza Republic is nearby.  I was skeptical, but the staff was fabulous, and accommodated my request for a sample of every deli salad.  Very generous helpings and each salad was delicious.  Homemade pesto, tomato and mozarella, cole slaw, and home made beet salad with excellent olive oil, and enough to share!  The best part though, was the Neapolitan thin crust pizza.  As a former New Yorker, and thin crust afficionado, I had not enjoyed thin crust since the Chillmark store on Martha's Vineyard!  Absolutely delicious thin crust white sauce with chicken and pineapple, just the right amount of spice, and crispy, chewy crust made this a find! Our conversation was all about New York, and it seemed that the Neapolitan pizza added just the right memories!

  • Jun 25, 2015 by Luke W.

    I've stopped in a few times and always gotten a few slices to-go. Their slices are square, which I like, all deepdish, which is also good. Each time I have stopped in their craft beer selection was better than the last time.  I need to make a point to stop in a sit for a meal one of these days. The staff are really nice and the place has always been clean. The pizza is really good.  I have had the thin pizzas, which were great and the to-go deepdish slices are easy to enjoy as well. The price is a bit steep for thin crust take out, but it was tasty. The macaroni salad is really good too. This is one of those odd spots, that I like to visit, but never feel like hanging out in. It might just be the shopping centre is a bit odd, but this is a decent place.

  • Jun 24, 2015 by Jay T.

    Found this place here on Yelp! Very busy at lunch time then quoted right down at 1pm. I had the kids with me so we got a large Neapolitan thin crust three cheese.  It came out quickly and was cooked to perfection!   The pizza itself was a little bland.  Perfect for this kids but I prefer a little more flava.  Really good though, don't get me wrong. They have pasta dishes, antipasto and lots of salads too!  Lots of beer and pitchers too! The kids really dug the Coke fountain where one can get any Come product conceivable! You must joint the Pizza Republic!

  • Jun 19, 2015 by Lauren N.

    Such yummy pizza! We got the popeye and it was delicious. Also we went to order the chicken Parmigan but they were out of chicken so the man said he would happily replace it with eggplant and it was so good! I asked the young lady helping us his name and she said it was Tom. The service was outstanding, the girl greeted us, I think she said her name was Kelsey. She was so helpful and friendly. For the kids eating with us there were plenty of options for slices of pizza, the cheese slices and spicy Hawaiian are really good. I will defiantly be back. Super fresh and friendly.

  • Jun 15, 2015 by Troy S.

    Moved to San Luis Obispo a few months ago and just found this place, it's nice when you don't want to have to buy a whole pizza. The crust is very flaky and almost like a biscuit. Give it a shot, you won't be disappointed. Also they got one of the fancy fountain drink machines or you could concoct anything your heart desires. Coke Zero 'till I die.

  • Jun 11, 2015 by Paul G.

    We live close to this place and had not been in. Silly us! Pizza, pasta, salads and beer all excellent. We had pizza slices on this trip as well as a spinach salad, some pasta and beer. Really enjoyed it, the staff are super nice as well, which makes for a much nicer experience. This will become our go-to pizza joint from now on. Pizza dough was nice and thin, toppings fresh and tasty; what's not to like. It's not a flaw, but they are so missing a trick when it comes to advertising (they don't seem busy enough). This place has been here for 12 months or so and not once have we seen any local adverts for it or any offers. We use Village Host pizza a lot and in part because they remind you with a coupon every few weeks. Hope they don't become another great food place in SLO that closes!

  • Apr 07, 2015 by Sara E.

    My family ordered a California Pizza and pesto pasta and a misto salad. It was all delicious! It's hands down the best crust in town. Thin ,crusty just like a really good loaf of artisan bread. The pesto was excellent which we sopped up with our crusts! The service was just fine too! Highly recommend!

  • Mar 12, 2015 by Nancy W.

    Great pizza and other food selections! I've been a long time fan of Giuseppe's in Pismo Beach and Palazzo Giuseppe's downtown SLO, so I was excited when Pizza Republic opened last year in the Marigold Center (same owners/ management). I like the pizza, scoop of salad, and soda combo for lunch. The fresh made thin crust pizzas are really great.  My favorites are the Three cheese and Wise Guy. The spinach salad is awesome.  My husband likes the house made rigatoni with meatballs.   Very friendly staff and yummy food!

  • Mar 09, 2015 by Carolyn F.

    Visited again on 2/23/15, and had a great pizza. Customized large: meatballs, pepperoni, mushrooms, fresh mozz (awesome!), asked for extra crispy crust. It was perfect! But it was also $30. So, if you want great pizza and aren't on a budget - AND are going to eat-in (not take out), definitely come here. I'll be back. I think the trick is to go for the thin crust fresh pizzas, and pass on the pre-fab focaccia slabs, and also don't take it to go. When the crust is this thin, you gotta eat it asap out of the oven. It doesn't travel well. But I will say, we were fighting over the leftovers the next day. It was so tasty. I'm happy to see they're working on quality.

  • Mar 06, 2015 by Sabrina D.

    II love their mac n cheese although it always taste different, tall girl with eyebrow piercing seemed very rude, everyone else has always been very welcoming. I recommend the mac n cheese & pizza!!

  • Feb 12, 2015 by Reid C.

    Hot dog pizza!? SHUT UP! This place is awesome.! I was there last night and the food was great. We Each had a Sicilian Style slice, which I haven't really seen done well here in California, and it was light, crisp and flavorful. We also got one of their made to order salads and it was full of meat and cheese just like my wife likes it. I didn't make that sound dirty did I, it wasn't meant to.  We roll by there every Wednesday and I think we will be in there often.

  • Feb 08, 2015 by Sandy S.

    Pizza is mouthwatering here! Every pizza place I've eaten in the area, has been an utter disappointment, but this place knows what they're doing! You can taste what good quality of food is, when you eat at this establishment. Props to everyone at pizza republic and all the hard work they do!

  • Jan 19, 2015 by Dana H.

    I have only eaten here a few times for lunch.  The ingredients on the pizzas are so fresh and delicious!!  The dough and sauce is also delicious.  But I do agree with many people, the pizza is just way too soggy and the dough is very soggy and limp.  Because of this, if you get slices to go, they melt into the paper they are wrapped in, and when you try to pull the paper off, the pizza completely falls apart, dough and all, into a soupy pizza mess.  Don't get me wrong, I still ate it, as it tastes great, but, I'm not sure it can really be considered "pizza" since it's that softy and mushy.  It really required a fork to eat.  I again agree with other people, the pizza is great but they need to figure out how to prepare and/or cook the pizza so that it is actually a solid pieced of pizza with at least a semi firm crust.  (Doesn't have to be "crispy"!)  I ordered a panini once, again, it was delicious, but got extremely soggy right away.  I'm sure there is more moisture in their raw ingredients because they are so fresh (and tasty!) but then they should work on figuring out how to prepare their menu items to draw out some of the moisture so that the pizza crust is firm, or so that the sandwish crust on the paninis is crispy and not soggy.  I will definitely go again and continue to try their menu items!  And will still order the pizza.  I do think the prices are a little steep, and that they do really need to work on the soggy factor if they want people to feel really good about paying those prices.  The staff is extremely friendly and it is a great atmosphere!

  • Dec 18, 2014 by Dehenhich M.

    Wow!  This place has a very strong selection of pizzas, fresh ingredients, and quick friendly service. Maybe since it's so far from campus, the workers seem like they all enjoy being there and know what they're talking about. Fresh Parmesan is delicious!

  • Nov 20, 2014 by D B.

    I'm rating this on a 1-5 star lunch scale.  for lunch, this place is great.  don't let the lukewarm square slices sitting behind the glass scare you off.   the slices I would give 4 stars, they are good, but not life changing... however, their made to order food is really good. I got the pesto pasta, cooked in 3 minutes, it was delicious!  perfect portion, 8 bucks, legit. this place uses fresh ingredients, which is a big deal in SLOs mediocre restaurant world. the staff are pretty rad, they comped my beer because of a slight mess up at the cash register.  I will for sure be back.  also.  they have a few GREAT beers on tap, and many more in bottles, good wine selection, and one of those futuristic soda machines. their cold salads/pastas are ok, my only critique would be their cold pesto is pretty dry, not much flavor going on. that's it!

  • Nov 07, 2014 by Samantha D.

    The food here is absolutely delicious!! I've gotten the pepperoni and sausage pizza as well as well as the margherita pizza and they were both so good! I also tried the regular Cesar salad, the way it was made was kinda weird since they use the whole lettuce leaf instead of chopping  it up but the amount of dressing was perfect and the crutons were amazing!! THE REASON I GAVE THREE STARS is because of the service. The times I've been there, there have been two different girls who have taken my order and they both seem super unhappy to be there. I get it, working for people sucks, but guess what, it's your job. It's your job to find any ounce of joyfulness you have and give it to the people. It's not that hard. When you go home you can be as unpleasant as you like, but you don't get paid to be impatient and rude. I notice their tip jar had little in it and I am not surprised. There was two men who were also working and they didn't even have to interact with me but they did, and were MUCH more pleasant than the girls who had taken my order. I will definitely go back for the good food and nice Italian atmosphere, hopefully my mood isn't killed by the unhappy workers.

  • Nov 01, 2014 by Melanie M.

    finally, great thin crust pizza in a family friendly atmosphere, and close to home. the kids like the 3 cheese and grownups the spicy diavolo. The crust is so good and quality of toppings superior to other pizza places in the area. the access is super easy with parking right in front. if you call in for pick up its ready fast. nothing bad to say, nice people, great pizza.

  • Oct 22, 2014 by Yancey O.

    I go here several times a week and am so happy they opened up near my work! Prices are reasonable and I've really enjoyed everything I've tried so far : pizza by the slice is delish, lots of salad options to choose from, great sandwiches on fresh baked bread and the pasta was good too. There's a lot to choose from and so far nothing has disappointed, my next items to try are the mac and cheese and the Eggplant Parmesan sandwich!

  • Oct 08, 2014 by Dustin H.

    Pizza Republic has become our new favorite quick  italian spot! The pizza is consistently the best in town and the salads rival those found at Giusseppes flagship restaurants and even have some new ones that raise the bar. Everyone on the staff has been great, and Dan has always gone above and beyond to make sure we are taken care of (always smiling and positive)... Always recommending great new dishes to try. Lunch is quick and a refreshing change for SLO.

  • Oct 08, 2014 by katie k.

    I came here for lunch in my break after a co worker recommended it. It's a great place! Lots of variety and a great price! They have a nice lunch special, pizza salad and drink for $9 it's great!

  • Oct 01, 2014 by Richard T.

    This is a great place thin crust pizza.  I ordered pick-up.   The staff at the counter was friendly and attentive.  There were families enjoying dinner at several of the tables both inside and outside the restaurant.  I did notice the prices of some of the pizzas also available at Giuseppe's "express" counter were a couple dollars higher.  However, Pizza Republic does have a wider pizza selection for take out orders.  Overall this place is a great value with delicious pizzas.

  • Aug 27, 2014 by Virginia H.

    Wow, a girl that works here was very friendly when my boyfriend and I went in tonight. Unfortunately, I can't remember her name. They have a lot of variety on their menu & at affordable prices. We are eating the food as we speak & it's yummy!!

  • Aug 09, 2014 by Mrs. M.

    My new favorite restaurant!! Love the food, mouth watering pizza, Amazing Deserts!! Also, their service is great, I was greeted by busy employee's and even the owner. You can really tell everyone who works their takes pride in what they do & cares about the customers. So evident in their menu! So far my favorite is, the simple, but flavorful Margarita Pie & the sinfully delicious MilkyWay Cheesecake in a cup!! Love! Love! Love!

  • Aug 08, 2014 by Braeden H.

    Definitely get the Saint Anthony's pizza. All the sandwiches are awesome! Soda machine is better than any other in town. The Mac n cheese is also a 10/10. Bucatini carbonara is a winner too!

  • Aug 05, 2014 by L A.

    We were thrilled to have Pizza Republic open since it is so close to our house.  We've tried it twice; once when it first opened and again on August 2nd.  During the first visit the crust of the pizza (pepperoni) was burned and the staff didn't think it was a problem.  The staff was also VERY harried having only been open for a couple of days.  We chalked the first visit up to newness, although the owners are experienced restaurant owners, so we were kind of surprised. On the second visit, the person who took the order could not figure out how to ring up a pepperoni/sausage pizza and once again the staff seemed very stressed and untrained. The pizza crust was not burned on the second visit, but limp. Not at all crispy which was a big disappointment since it was a thin crust pizza! The sausage was somewhat flavorless, which was disappointing as the staff said it was homemade. We also ordered 3 meatballs which were EXCELLENT.  Too bad the staff had to be reminded we had ordered pizza AND meatballs. Ended up having to wait for the meatballs after the pizza was boxed and ready to go. So far, I would not be inclined to return.  My husband says he'll give them one more chance. We'll see.

  • Aug 02, 2014 by Ryan H.

    My wife and I were greeted promptly and gleefully and directed to potential choices, of which all smelled and looked stupendous. We shared the Israeli Cous Cous salad w/ heirloom zucchini, the creamy and delectable Mac 'n Cheese and a slice of Margherita Pizza that had a wonderfully buttery crust. With clever California meets Italy decor and a warm, attentive staff, Pizza Republic is exactly what this neighborhood needed... and that's without even mentioning the breathtaking Milky Way Cheesecake dessert!

  • Jul 30, 2014 by Jessica M.

    This will be our new pizza place! No longer will we have to make the drive to Giuseppe's Express in Pismo. Great strawberry lemonade too! We got takeout but wouldn't mind eating in sometime... They have several little tables with those cute pizza tray things! Only complaint was that one of the pizzas was a little too loaded so it was soggy. Can't wait to see the menu up online.

  • Jul 30, 2014 by Jennifer M.

    Second trip in today and they still seem to be working out the kinks (my slice came packaged to go and my salad for here). The order in which you order can be confusing. Last visit I tried a turkey cranberry panini. Good flavor but the bread was thick and dry. Husband had a thin crust pizza and it was deelish! This visit I had a slice of tomato basil pizza and the chop-chop salad. Pizza had good flavor and was very fresh. Salad was not something I would order again. I didn't notice any dressing and the meat toppings out numbered the lettuce. Their ice tea and lemonade is perfect though! Will definitely be back for more pizza.

  • Jul 28, 2014 by gizirl n.

    This is just what we needed on this side of town.  It's a great option to avoid all the fast food we seem to have plenty of (WHY?!?!?).  The food is excellent; yummy, fresh, healthy, and packed with flavor.  So far everything I've ordered has been spot on.  Make sure to try the pesto pasta and the pan fried chicken sandwich.  Delish! (oooh deviled eggs are another must).

  • Jul 24, 2014 by Cathy S.

    I stopped in to the new location today for lunch. Picked up a couple of slices to go. Both slices had burned crust on edges and crust way too soft on bottom - they probably just need to make some adjustments on their ovens. Flavor was good though - but I was disappointed in crust.  I'll give them another try in a few weeks :-).

  • Jul 19, 2014 by Cheryl U.

    I always enjoy going to Giuseppe's Deli in Pismo for mouth watering pizza or flavorful pasta dishes.  On this trip to Giuseppe's Pizza Republic, I ordered the Italian sandwich as it beckoned me from the glass.  The peppery, fresh arugula married well with the savory Italian meats, and the flatbread rounded the meal to satiate my appetite! Pizza Republic boasts not only dishes to satiate and provide the kind of palatial experience in which patrons will undoubtedly return many times, but the upbeat and casual ambiance that circulates and exudes the SLO lifestyle is evident.  Dining al fresco or dining in or even take out, it's location is awesome as it is situated where parking is ample!   Great location, awesome food, and fantastic service made for a excellent visit!

  • Jul 17, 2014 by John G.

    Good food, fresh ingredients, and a friendly staff. My new go to place for a quick, quality meal! We tried three slices of pizza, a turkey sandwich, and a side of meatballs, everything was wonderful. Unfortunately there was no room for the yummy looking desserts, no problem, a great reason to return!!!

  • Jan 04, 2011 by FreakLizardMonkey

    I've been to Cugini's a handful of times this year because it is the only pizza place close to my work and I kid you not, they have forgotten my order 3 times!!! Each time I was the only one in line, so it's not like they were swamped with service. All they have to do is put a slice of precoooked pizza in the oven, heat it up, and it's done! Sounds simple enough?!! I am a pet peeve about service and they rank at the top of WORST SERVICE IN SLO for me.

  • Dec 19, 2008 by OCborn

    I live in SLO town and the best pizza, hands down, is Cugini's. Their crust is heaven in every bite. Buttery, crisp and yummy. I went to NY and CT recently and had pizza there and none of them topped or came close to Cugini's. And we are on the west coast where we aren't supposed to know our pizza like the east coast. HA HA, small town SLO tops it! They have changed owners so the menu is a bit different. Not for the worst mind you, since all they did were add things such as yummy Gyro's! But they still have great pizza and their signature beet salad. My favs and all I ever order when I go there!

  • May 16, 2008 by Patriciacorkygreg

    I went to Cuginis on my way home from shopping. I asked where is the best pizza place and the people in the store were so right!!! The BEST pizza and salad I ever had. The pan pizza was what we had. The employee';s were very helpful and friendly. All kinds of salads to chose from (all made fresh). When I return to San Luis Obispo I will try their Raviolis also homemade. I wish they would open one in Santa Maria.