Five Cities Veterinary Hospital

Five Cities Veterinary Hospital

1577 El Camino Real
Arroyo Grande CA 93420
805-481-5555

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Facebook
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Oct 26, 2020 by Dayana Atanasova

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The doctor is also understanding and kind. Such a wonderful office.

  • Oct 01, 2020 by Tiffany Brewer Admin Asst CHI

    I have been taking my animals to Five Cities Veterinary Hospital for a few years now, and every time I take them in for an appointment, I'm always very pleased with the level of expertise and professionalism. The doctors and staff always treat me and my animals with upmost respect, and I never feel cheated when receiving price quotes, advise, etc. I would highly recommend Five Cities Veterinary Hospital to anyone - they are the best in town!

  • Sep 04, 2020 by Helen Wilkerson

    Wonderful folks.

  • Jul 30, 2020 by Claudia Souder

    Hard to beat a 10!...promptness in being able to get same day appointment, being able to be admitted on time.....and Lopez said your were really nice to her and she really appreciated your care.

  • Jul 12, 2020 by Cristina Lopes

    I love Dr. Berg and all the staff at Five Cities. They are always so gentle and kind to my dog and make the experience easier for her. They are also very honest and will work with you in any situation. So glad I was referred over to them.

  • Jun 24, 2020 by Beth Karamitsos

    The whole experience was exactly how I needed it to be as a concerned and worried pet owner. They treated my pet swiftly and w/ such care and concern . They notified me throughout the process in a timely, caring and professional way. I highly recommend the Five Cities Vet Hospital.

  • May 31, 2020 by Jeff Souder

    With all (C19) that is going on, you all did great, we just thank you being open & taking care of our pets!

  • May 24, 2020 by Leann Weathers

    Outstanding first appointment with our new pup. Everyone was professional and knowledgeable. Appointment was on time and vet spent a fair amount of time with us answering all our questions...lots of them! We'll be back!

    This is a follow up review after our second experience. I have to change from 5 star to 2 star review because we had our puppy neutered and they prescribed a cone for post-op instead of the doughnut. They put it on him too tight and broke his ear. I called twice to find out what could be done and got a message via office staff that the doctor/vet was not concerned!!!! We certainly were. I asked if the ear would come back on it's own or if there was something that could be done. Office staff said maybe it would come back, but that she really had no idea, said she never had this happen. But the vet obviously was still unconcerned and NEVER bothered to call us. Four months later we have a pricey, purebred pup with a flat ear! We're very disappointed with the lack of concern from this vet. We will not be back. Go to Santa Maria don't go here!

  • May 18, 2020 by Nick Gunasayan

    Both Dr. Bergs have taken care of our senior dogs and now our new puppy. They are wonderful because they educate us on our pet's needs and allow us to make the decision. They do not pressure us into treatment. The doctors are honest and easy-going. I do not get crazy surprises with my bills. They are kind and caring and I would recommend them to anyone with a pet.

  • May 07, 2020 by Lu Ann Kaiser

    Best Vet on the Central Coast. Price a little high, but you could not ask for kinder, professional service. Thank you!

  • Apr 27, 2020 by Nancy Miller

    Dr Berg and his staff are the most professional veterinary service I've found. They truly care about your pet. Dr Berg is very knowledgeable and shares his knowledge with us in terms you can understand, but in no way condescending.

  • Apr 20, 2020 by Michael Klingler

    Our goldendoodle has received excellent care at five cities veterinary hospital for the past five years. I highly recommend them to you.

  • Apr 19, 2020 by Lottie Cravens

    Dr. Berg and his team are really good with our dogs. I'm grateful they're still there for our needs. Thank you Five Cities Veterinary Hospital!

  • Feb 20, 2020 by Raimond K

    Dr Berg is just the best! Takes the time to explain your animals issues and is just an overal super nice guy.

  • Feb 14, 2020 by Marfa M

    Really like Dr Berg and his stuff. Professional and no pressure. They give you to choose financially acceptable treatment plan for your pet

  • Jan 16, 2020 by Barbara F.

    Dr. Berg and his staff could not be better, I just wish I had found them a long time ago.  I was told my dog had a heart murmur and when I asked how bad it was I got a straight answer, it was bad!  This allowed me to get use to the idea, and know why she was slowing down and only go a half a block on her walk.  So when I saw her under the kitchen table, something did not look right, I feared she had died, but was in a bit of shock and did not want to believe it.  I put her in a sheet and took her to Dr. Bergs office, the kind staff asked if I wanted them to get her out of the car, which I did.  They immediately got the doctor and went into a room, soon Dr.Berg came out and told me she was dead.   I feel like I was treated with respect and a lot of kindness.  Weeks later I got a hand delivered sympathy card and a paw print and my dogs name on it!  I had only been their patient for a short amount of time but it was quality time that is for sure. They made this experience to be as easy as possible because they do care for both the animal and the owner. Barb F

  • Dec 26, 2019 by Leann Weathers

    Outstanding first appointment with our new pup. Everyone was professional and knowledgeable. Appointment was on time and vet spent a fair amount of time with us answering all our questions...lots of them! We'll be back!

  • Nov 21, 2019 by Lynn Hanson

    Vet staff worked us in and we were seen promptly. Super doc who gave us options and worked with us on treatment options. Would highly recommend.

  • Nov 15, 2019 by Sharon Tavares

    I love the way they treated my 3lb dog.

  • Oct 16, 2019 by slojk mail

    I was very pleased with our entire experience at this veterinary clinic.

  • Aug 30, 2019 by Anne Marie Cullen

    They have taken care of my dogs and cats for many years and done a great job. They treat you like family.

  • Aug 30, 2019 by Anne Marie Cullen

    They have taken care of my dogs and cats for many years and done a great job. They treat you like family.

  • Aug 29, 2019 by Skyler Shipley

    We love this Vet! They are one of the only privately owned veterinary practices in the county, they are open half days on Saturday (making scheduling appointments easier for busy working folks), they always have a gentle hand and have overcome the challenges we had with our most skittish dog and two cats that absolutely hate doctor visits, and they don't push extra services on us as I have experienced at other local vets. In fact, they often advise us on simple solutions we can try at home and recommend economical products that worked for others, even if it means they lose the sales revenue for a drug that might have had a similar effect. Who does that!? Best vet in South County... I wouldn't take my fur babies anywhere else.

  • Aug 26, 2019 by Richard A.

    So I got my first dog and I did a LOT of research on food, training, and most importantly VETS! Dr. Berg came HIGHLY recommended from a friend that said he provided her dog with the best end of life care when NO OTHER vet would! They have shown the same compassion, patience, and care with me and my dog, and I can't thank them enough!! I would like to point out that I live in Santa Maria which is 30 minutes south of this office...I don't mind the drive one bit with my 83 pound doggo!! If you are looking for a caring and patient vet...come see Dr. Berg!!! *note: my doggo was neutered here and they were SO helpful through my first experience!*

  • Aug 22, 2019 by Kelly Pendley

    We love Five Cities Veterinary Hospital and so do our pets! Great staff, affordable prices!

  • Aug 07, 2019 by Lu Ann Kaiser

    This was the first time at Five Cities Veterinary. My daughter referred us. Five Cities' fit not 1 but both of my dogs in. The office is clean. Dr. Berg is spot on! No waiting. I had an appointment and Dr. Berg told me to drop the dog off and come back when I was done. I came back and we went over what was going on with the dog. They cut the pills in half for me. They spent time with both dogs No rushing. Answered all my questions. Between my daughter and myself we have 5 dogs.

  • Aug 07, 2019 by Lu Ann Kaiser

    This was the first time at Five Cities Veterinary. My daughter referred us. Five Cities' fit not 1 but both of my dogs in. The office is clean. Dr. Berg is spot on! No waiting. I had an appointment and Dr. Berg told me to drop the dog off and come back when I was done. I came back and we went over what was going on with the dog. They cut the pills in half for me. They spent time with both dogs No rushing. Answered all my questions. Between my daughter and myself we have 5 dogs.

  • Aug 03, 2019 by Jacques Drazsnzak

    I am a veterinarian and I have known Dr. Berg for over 15 years. He is an outstanding veterinarian to whom I have referred many patients. I have a neighbor who recently suffered a neck injury and her dog Cubby started showing signs of a urinary tract infection this morning. My neighbor is currently unable to drive due to her injury so I called Dr. Berg and he was kind enough to allow me to drive Cubby to his office immediately so that he could start her on medications to make her feel better. He is caring, collegial, and skilled. Thanks Dr. Berg!

  • Aug 02, 2019 by Jacques D.

    I am a veterinarian and I have known Dr. Berg for over 15 years. He is an outstanding veterinarian to whom I have referred many patients. I have a neighbor who recently suffered a neck injury and her dog Cubby started showing signs of a urinary tract infection this morning. My neighbor is currently unable to drive due to her injury so I called Dr. Berg and he was kind enough to allow me to drive Cubby to his office immediately so that he could start her on medications to make her feel better. He is caring, collegial, and skilled. Thanks Dr. Berg!

  • Jul 27, 2019 by Stacey Charrow

    So thorough, kind and helpful. I’ve been taking my pets to Dr. Berg for 12 years. Wouldn’t dream of going anywhere else!

  • Jul 16, 2019 by Stacy Inman

    Dr. Berg is very personal and give great attention to my dog and cats. Recently I had to have testing done, and although the results came after hours, I was provided the results after hours with an explanation.
    Every time I go to this Vet Hospital, I am very pleased with the information, knowledge and great care that my pets are provided.

  • Jul 06, 2019 by MARK MACHADO

    Sparky had some foxtails in his paws's, we made a appointment and took us right in at that time! Great place, checked him out for other things and no over charges and trying to up sell us on unnecessary things at this time in his life!

  • Jun 18, 2019 by Phuong Anh L.

    Absolutely love this place. Without google or yelp I might have never found this clinic even tho it is only a few minutes away from my house. I came here about 3 times already and every time it has been a pleasant experience. I was always able to schedule appointments for whenever it is convenient for me; no week long wait. Pricing is incredibly reasonable and they won't try to sell you unnecessary items or testings. Doctor Berg is always helpful, he explains very thoroughly and answer any concerns I had. His staffs are also very understanding, I brought my mom's aggressive dog here and wasn't refused service and I did not felt judged in any way. I haven't felt such compassion visiting any other vets. I will definitely come here again for any veterinarian care.

  • Jun 09, 2019 by Simone Parent

    We know when something is wrong with our pets. I took my kitty 2 them. They sent him home saying he needed needed dental work. It was going 2 cost $600. 2. DAYS LATER HE DIED and it had nothing 2 do with his mouth. My regular vet, VCA, said he was was in severe pain. He had a SEVERE heart disease and his back legs weren't working. I am so upset. I know he would have died anyways but the way he went was 4 ever embedded in my mind and heart. DO NOT BRING YOUR pets there!!!!!

  • May 16, 2019 by Angela Goble

    I have been a Show/Pet Breeder for 25 years. Dr. Berg is an outstanding Vet who makes himself available for his patients and their worried owners. Because of this, I am always willing to be flexible with my non emergency appointment. Thank you as usual Dr Berg!

  • May 09, 2019 by Inger Appanaitis

    Staff is very helpful and always friendly. I would recommend Five Cities to anyone. Always a great experience.

  • Apr 09, 2019 by Loni S.

    Dr. listens to owner and is there to help animals. My dogs & I are happy with them.
    Very affordable

  • Mar 27, 2019 by Kerry DeJarnette

    Dr. Geritt Berg and the staff at Five Cities Veterinary Hospital are outstanding. They are caring and concerned about the well being of your pet, as well as you.
    I as so thankful we found this place. Thank you Dr. Berg!

  • Mar 25, 2019 by Pamela Griggs

    Dr. Berg and staff are very nice. I feel comfortable taking my cats to this vet. Dr. Berg takes the time to thoroughly explain treatment.

  • Mar 21, 2019 by Dan Hallmark

    I've been taking my dog Billy to Dr. Berg since the day after I got him 9 years ago. Dr. Berg and his staff are professional, friendly and always take great care him. Sorry I can only give them 5 stars....

  • Mar 09, 2019 by Juliette Joyce

    I always feel welcomed and confident that my pets, Hudson & Nike receive top notch care. I highly recommend this facility and all their staff.

  • Mar 09, 2019 by joycejij12

    I always feel welcomed and confident that my pets, Hudson & Nike receive top notch care. I highly recommend this facility and all their staff.

  • Jan 23, 2019 by Monique Gentz

    They have a great and friendly staff that is always willing to help and answer questions. The veterinarian technicians are wonderful they always take great care of my dog Randall.

  • Jan 15, 2019 by Loni S.

    Dr. listens to owner and is there to help animals. My dogs & I are happy with them.
    Very affordable

  • Jan 13, 2019 by Loni S.

    Dr. listens to owner and is there to help animals. My dogs & I are happy with them.
    Very affordable

  • Dec 18, 2018 by Melanie V.

    I have been taking my animals here for 3 years now, I feel that I am very informed about my choices and prices at each and every visit.  I receive a follow up call no matter how minor the visit was.  When my elderly kitty needed to be put down, I was treated with compassion.

  • Nov 22, 2018 by Nancy Miller

    We love Dr Berg and the staff at 5 Cities Vet. We trust that our Boys (Bubba and Buddha) are receiving the best care.

  • Nov 03, 2018 by Lena Jorge

    You guys were so awesome with Rylie. Thank you so much.

  • Oct 26, 2018 by Stephanie M

    We just switched to Five Cities after going to another local Vet for the past 2 years. We brought our little pomeranian in to get his teeth cleaned, which happened to be our very first appointment and our first time meeting the doctor and staff. I was extremely nervous since I knew our pup would be under anesthesia but I could not be happier with the care we received! Dr. Berg was extremely knowledgeable and spent a lot of time explaining everything to me and kept me up to date with every step of the process. I am so happy I decided to make the change because I had been putting off getting my dogs teeth cleaned for over a year because I just didn't trust our last vet. Everyone I have spoken with at Five Cities has been very friendly and they treated our fur babe just as I had hoped! I am very happy I found a Vet I can trust to take perfect care of our animal when it's needed!

  • Oct 26, 2018 by Stephanie A.

    We just switched to Five Cities after going to another local Vet for the past 2 years. We brought our little pomeranian in to get his teeth cleaned, which happened to be our very first appointment and our first time meeting the doctor and staff. I was extremely nervous since I knew our pup would be under anesthesia but I could not be happier with the care we received! Dr. Berg was extremely knowledgeable and spent a lot of time explaining everything to me and kept me up to date with every step of the process. I am so happy I decided to make the change because I had been putting off getting my dogs teeth cleaned for over a year because I just didn't trust our last vet. Everyone I have spoken with at Five Cities has been very friendly and they treated our fur babe just as I had hoped! I am very happy I found a Vet I can trust to take perfect care of our animal when it's needed!

  • Oct 04, 2018 by Patti & Steve Dagenais

    Amanda at the front desk was super friendly! Dr. Berg was very kind and took great care of our newest cat, Jade; a rescue by The Feline Network of the Central Coast; in fact, Dr. Berg was the surgeon who performed her spaying two weeks ago, and he and his family are fostering Jade’s four darling kittens. We highly recommend this Veterinarian and his staff!

  • Oct 02, 2018 by Patti & Steve Dagenais

    Amanda at the front desk was super friendly! Dr. Berg was very kind and took great care of our newest cat, Jade; in fact, he was the surgeon who performed her spaying two weeks ago. We highly recommend this vet!

  • Sep 28, 2018 by Rachel P.

    Dr. Berg and his staff were so amazing to me and my cat who became unexpectedly ill and had to be put down. They could not have been sweeter, more understanding or comforting during such a hard time in my life, and I would recommend them to everyone and their fur families

  • Sep 25, 2018 by Nicolle Gilsdorf

    The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and organized! They treat my cat with care and love! I would highly recommend Five Cities!

  • Sep 13, 2018 by Steve B.

    I took my dog here in December of last year. It was our first time so we had the exam, a shot (and booster) that the vet recommended. Also got heartguard and trifexis.  With the return booster shot, the cost was over $460 which was a sticker shock for a routine exam and flea/heartworm meds.  The vet didn't even have the trifexis for my dog's weight so he sold me the one for lower weight dogs (40-60 lbs) with my dog a bit over 70 pounds.  He said it would be ok which was my first red flag.  I got a 6 month supply of trifexis (which is all he had).   I ran out of the trifexis and missed a monthly dose or two and went in today to get more.  When I went in, the receptionist told me my dog was due for the yearly heartwarm test (it hadn't been a year yet since the last exam). She also couldn't see the trifexis on their records.  She said things "are you sure you got it here" and felt like she didn't believe I purchased it there. She said that they couldn't give me more trifexis unless I had the heartworm exam (huh?).   So they don't stock meds, and their record keeping is incorrect.   Add all this to the lack of parking at this office and I decided to find another vet rather than to deal with this business. Feels like a scam to get you to pay for expensive office visits.

  • Aug 03, 2018 by Kelly Miles

    Doctors (plural!) Berg and their entire staff are always cordial, professional, and helpful. They make a point to make me and my critters feel welcomed, comforted and informed. Each of them take time out of their schedules for a friendly greeting, a special treat, and a follow-up call after a procedure. Thanks everybody for taking such great care of our critters! We truly appreciate all of you. I highly recommend Five Cities Veterinary Hospital. They are excellent with ALL of our critters!

  • Aug 02, 2018 by jim melching

    Since we recently moved to the area, we were in need of a new Vet. Both of our dogs caught kennel cough while boarded in Las Vegas for a few days. Our dogs were treated with great care at Five Cities. They even followed up with a phone call to check their progress. Our favorite vet ever!

  • Jul 27, 2018 by Karen Richmond

    My cat, a registered purebred, has been a patient at Five Cities for almost two years (his lifespan), and we have been very pleased with his care. Most importantly, everyone at Five Cities Vet Hospital has a genuine curiosity and interest in working with animals. The husband and wife team (both UC Davis DVMs) are experts in their field but also down to earth and personable. The facility is clean, wait times minimal, prices very reasonable, and appointment /records administration very organized and efficient. I highly recommend Five Cities Veterinary Hospital!

  • Jul 19, 2018 by Jeannie Capellan

    We are visiting Pismo Beach and our dog contracted an allergy. We usually go online and looked are other people’s reviews about a Vet Clinic and Five Cities Veterinary Hospital came up first on the list so we called and got an appointment the same day. We had a really great experience with the staff. I really recommend this Clinic to anyone either you are just passing by, visiting or a resident of the area.

  • Jul 13, 2018 by Nancy Miller

    Our experience with Five Cities Vet was an extremely positive one. Angela was so helpful and made the appointment process so easy. When she promised to call us back, she called us in a timely manner.
    Dr Berg was very professional and explained every detail of Buddha's health needs so it was easy to understand.
    We're looking forward to taking our second cat, Bubba, to Five Cities Vet so he can get the same excellent treatment.

  • Jun 30, 2018 by joycejij12

    I always feel welcomed and confident that my pets, Hudson & Nike receive top notch care. I highly recommend this facility and all their staff.

  • May 03, 2018 by Verna Anderson

    This is a lovely owner run practice, been here a long time, and I sure hope a long time to come. Professional and kindly service. 2 vets, husband and wife, with a great staff. A daughter is known to help in emergency. Perfect outcome. Personal attention, options offered, but no upselling as at some vets. Very complete level of care, modern equipment, on beyond competent, diligent in continuing education. Friendly ties with specialists if needed.

  • Apr 11, 2018 by Angela Hopkins

    I absolutely love our vet experience at Five Cities! They return calls promptly, appointment scheduling is easy and they always call after our visit to check on our Buster! Even if just for shots. They will recommend conservative treatments when appropriate to help a pet owner give their fur baby exceptional care while being cost conscious without guilt and an opportunity to plan for some larger expenditures. Highly recommend!!

  • Apr 10, 2018 by Linda Acuff

    I read he'd out to this vet twice now as my Basenji has required medical care. In both cases this office was responsive. The assistants and office staff are warm and express an interest in my dogs needs. The vet took time to listen and then provided quick treatment. I will return if needed while visiting the area.

  • Mar 31, 2018 by Lous Heshusius

    This vet clinic is great. Dr. Berg is extremely knowledgeable, a very good listener, a very comfortable vet to talk to. All staff clearly love animals and are very gentle with them. They will start with lower lever treatments and do not push expensive treatments although all options are explained. I have taken both my elderly cats to them and would not consider going anywhere else!

  • Mar 17, 2018 by Tara Lynne

    Very nice staff, the receptionist Natalie does a great job passing information to the Dr. and gets back to you immediately. Dr. Berg will also email you back answering all your questions which is very nice! They did an amazing job explaining all costs as well. Favorite vet I have gone to at the coast by far.

  • Mar 06, 2018 by lulu pie

    Dr. Berg and staff have taken care of all my furry kids through good times and bad. I have seen several vets in the area but felt most comfortable in his training and his judgement. I know he will go out of his way to care for my pets and I trust him completely. If you are looking for a vet I highly recommend him.

  • Feb 26, 2018 by Kelly Miles

    Doctors (plural!) Berg and their entire staff are always cordial, professional, and helpful. They make a point to make me and my critters feel welcomed, comforted and informed. Each of them take time out of their schedules for a friendly greeting, a special treat, and a follow-up call after a procedure. Thanks everybody for taking such great care of our critters! We truly appreciate all of you. I highly recommend Five Cities Veterinary Hospital. They are excellent with ALL of our critters!

  • Feb 13, 2018 by Melissa Morrissey

    Five Cities Veterinary Hospital is great and everyone there is wonderful. They are always friendly and helpful and they take great care of our cats. We were worried about finding a new veterinarian when we moved to the area three years ago and we couldn't be happier that we found such a wonderful place. I very highly recommend Five Cities Veterinary Hospital.

  • Feb 10, 2018 by Brad Schultz

    This is a wonderful veterinary hospital. We started taking or senior dog there a few years ago and she is thriving. The staff is very helpful and the husband and wife vet team is outstanding. They spend quality time with both the pet and owner, explaining procedures and recommending treatments if necessary. So happy we made the switch!

  • Feb 10, 2018 by Renee G.

    A stray, older cat showed up and adopted my family about 6 years ago. She had reached the end stage of her life.  She was recently diagnosed with kidney failure (at a different vet) and she had stopped eating and drinking.  I wasn't comfortable with the first vet I had taken her to, which is why I had decided to call around and speak to different vet offices.   From the moment I first called 5 Cities Vet I felt sincere compassion from the receptionist as I asked a few questions.  I felt like she really cared.  After a few more calls around I called back and scheduled an exam here. Knowing in my heart that we were reaching the end and I would have to say goodbye, I knew this is where I wanted to go. Upon examination of my cat, the tenderness and compassion the vet had was just what my broken heart needed.  I wasn't a dollar sign, I was a person with a sick, elderly cat.  We discussed options, and I was able to say my goodbyes in a loving environment.  The way he cradled my cat in his arms as he left the room reassured me again that I came to the right place.   I cried my eyes out and was handed tissues.  Even today, as I picked up my kitty's ashes, I cried all over again.  With her ashes was a beautiful card and a paw print ornament. I was still given the same compassion even after my cat was gone.  If you are looking for a vet who treats you like a real person with feelings, I highly recommend this office.  I wish I could give more than 5 stars.

  • Feb 01, 2018 by Raelene Ramos

    This is such a lovely office and everyone is very friendly. I feel confident my pet receives the best possible care. Pet Dental Month is February and our cat needs some work done. I'm grateful for the discount they offer in Feb!

  • Jan 23, 2018 by Mary M.

    We are huge fans of the Drs Berg (Mr & Mrs, both vets at this fine establishment).   We adopt older rescue dogs, so they have a tendency to have health issues. We had a dog that got a bit aggressive when he was about 8 (one vet told us that our dog was "just spoiled"), but Dr Berg figured out that our dog had one of the worst cases of hip dysplasia he had seen. Our poor dog had a reason to be grumpy, he was in pain. Once we figured out what the issue was, we could make him much more comfortable, he was back to his friendly self, and he lived a longer, happier life. The docs (both of them, actually) also performed surgery when one of our dogs had a freak accident that ruptured his bladder. Their quote for surgery was half the other vet's quote. Our dog's bladder ruptured to the point that it was like a balloon that popped, leaving his bladder deflated all the way down by his anus. The surgery went well and our dog was back on his paws in no time, hiking in the hills with us. We try to give our dogs a great home and every comfort, but we don't want to do unnecessary tests if it's not going to change the treatment or realistic outcome. Our general perspective is that the docs give great service and attention, yet keep finances in mind and try to keep things reasonable. They are great vets and surgeons; have a manageable, small-town business (so we can get in on relatively short notice); and have reasonable prices. They also have a great staff that remembers us and our dogs, though probably not in that order ;) I wholeheartedly recommend the team at Five Cities Veterinary Hospital!

  • Jan 21, 2018 by Ashley Fazio

    Very caring and thorough. Took the time to answer all my questions and made me feel comfortable

  • Jan 18, 2018 by Jerry Withrow

    Dr. Berg is an amazing doctor. He is the Best thing to happen to my boys, other than their Mom and Dad:) He has been there for us through good and very bad moments and he has the biggest heart. We are so blessed to have such a loving man take care of our boys.

  • Jan 15, 2018 by Mary McNally

    We are huge fans of the Drs Berg (Mr & Mrs, both vets at this fine establishment).

    We adopt older rescue dogs, so they have a tendency to have health issues. We had a dog that got a bit aggressive when he was about 8 (one vet told us that our dog was "just spoiled"), but Dr Berg figured out that our dog had one of the worst cases of hip dysplasia he had seen. Our poor dog had a reason to be grumpy, he was in pain. Once we figured out what the issue was, we could make him much more comfortable, he was back to his friendly self, and he lived a longer, happier life.

    The docs (both of them, actually) also performed surgery when one of our dogs had a freak accident that ruptured his bladder. Their quote for surgery was half the other vet's quote. His bladder ruptured to the point that it was like a balloon that popped, leaving his bladder deflated all the way down by his anus. The surgery went well and our dog was back on his paws in no time, hiking in the hills with us.

    We try to give our dogs a great home and every comfort, but we don't want to do unnecessary tests if it's not going to change the treatment or realistic outcome. Our general perspective is that the docs give great service and attention, yet keep finances in mind and try to keep things reasonable.

    They are great vets and surgeons; have a manageable, small-town business (so we can get in on relatively short notice); and have reasonable prices.

    They also have a great staff that remembers us and our dogs, though probably not in that order ;)

    I wholeheartedly recommend the team at Five Cities Veterinary Hospital!

  • Oct 28, 2017 by Robert Myers

    One amazing and independent Vet!

  • Oct 12, 2017 by Jeannie T.

    We were staying at Pismo Coast Village RV Resort and our 4 year old mini Eskimo started vomiting and after 3 hours of it we took Her to this vet. We went in as an emergency with no appointment and They were wonderful to us. They were so efficient and fast. She had antibiotic and anti vomiting injections and one injection with fluid in her upper back to rehydrate her. Was back to the motor home with in the hour! Highly recommend this vet or Hospital!! Was recommended to us by people here in the park!

  • Mar 30, 2017 by Angela H.

    Today was our first visit and I was pleased not only with their understanding and gentle demeanor with my very frightened dog, but that Dr. Berg explained in detail what he thought might be wrong, why he thought that, how he determined that, what steps we would take, believing conservative treatment was best as a start and what next steps would be if we need to proceed. Also as this was a first visit, they completed a wellness checkup, obtained bloodwork and vaccinations to catch us up to date with each step explained thoroughly including cost so there was always an option to decline or plan for a next visit and in the end, no sticker shock when it came time to settle up. Our visit ended with them letting me know they would call with the blood work and " just to see how he is doing after such a traumatic day". A couple of treats and a hug and we were soon on our way, tail once again wagging and him exploring the waiting room like he lived there. Great job, guys.

  • Feb 23, 2017 by Lynn McConnell

    I never go anywhere else. They make you feel at ease when you need to. The animals really like them.

  • Jan 18, 2017 by Miranda M.

    Love this vet!  Second time taking my dog here...once for a ruptured anal gland (gross, I know) and once for his annual checkup.  Office techs are friendly and welcoming.  Office is small, so if feels personal.  Doctor is great and straight-forward...no BS.  Price...let's talk about that... after going to Animal Care Clinic for 6+ years and cringing every time I walked out of there spending HUNDREDS of dollars, I was shocked at my first visit to this vet, who's prices were extremely reasonable and about a third of that of ACC.  Will definitely continue taking my dog here and will highly recommend them to anybody else!

  • Dec 29, 2016 by Heather V.

    Dr. Berg and his entire staff are amazing! We called with a serious issue and my dog Spot was too big to get in my truck. Dr. Berg actually came out to our house in the country and then took my dog back to the hospital. He's one of the most kind and caring people I've ever met, as well as a fantastic Vet! I would highly recommend him to anybody... &  he also donates his time to the feline network and their many rescues. What a great person, and what a wonderful and caring staff. Thank you for all you do, we love you!!!

  • Aug 08, 2016 by Sandi Oliverius

    Great care

  • Mar 01, 2016 by Lyndal H.

    Dr. Berg is the best! We moved down to AG and we're hoping to find an knowledgeable, attentive, personable and reasonable vet. We found it! The staff is also extremely friendly and our one shy dog doesn't want to totally split the minute we get there. He actually is excited to see Dr.Berg and staff!  It's been such a positive experience :)

  • Sep 06, 2015 by William L.

    Our 12 year old Poodle, has had several health issues throughout his life and when we moved here almost three years ago, I used Yelp to find a vet. We have been to Dr. Berg for dental surgery, ear infections, and most recently a life-threatening case of Pancreatitis. I believe Dr. Berg saved my dogs life! I highly recommend Five Cities Vet.

  • Sep 05, 2014 by Charisse M.

    I found this vet here on yelp, and the reviews were right on. They really seem to care about your animals as if they were there own.  I also appreciate that the don't try talk you into expensive tests you don't really need. I would recommend Dr. Berg and his team to all pet parents.

  • May 21, 2014 by Barney Smith

    The doctors at Five Cities Veterinary Hospital welcome the opportunity to hear feedback from clients about their experience at our hospital. We appreciate all the wonderful clients and pets who have supported us since we opened and look forward to continuing to serve the Five Cities area.

  • Jan 22, 2014 by Walter Goodwater

    We've taken our cats here for years and have always received excellent service and care. They are flexible and considerate, knowledgeable and professional. Can't rate them high enough.

  • Jan 21, 2014 by Sharon M.

    After 4 years and 3 vets, we finally found the perfect veterinary hospital.  From the first phone call, I could tell this was different.  Shannon answered the phone and I could tell she was really listening to what I was saying and was so pleasant.  Next day appointment!  Little Jack got to see Dr. Kimberley Berg.  He acted like he had two new best friends.  She was GREAT!  She was thorough and explained options, etc.  So great with my little dog!  I'm so pleased and would highly recommend Five Cities Veterinary Hospital!  All of the reviews were spot on!!!

  • Jan 03, 2014 by Marianne L.

    The Yelp reviews I consulted for Five Cities Veterinary Hospital were right on! We took our 14 yr old Cocker Spaniel in to have some troublesome growths removed from her head & ears. Dr. Berg & his staff are so caring, efficient & accommodating. We were looking to avoid the corporate owned clinics that are over priced & chaotic that we're used to in the big cities. We were able to be seen the same day I called & Dr. Berg was thorough & reassuring in our concerns for surgery on a Senior dog. He called twice the day of surgery with updates & recommendations and made us feel that our dog was in very good, capable hands. I highly recommend this clinic for anyone who is looking for a truly good Vet who takes time to listen, is responsive to your & your pet's needs and has a friendly staff & a modern, welcoming atmosphere.  We only live here part time but will most certainly use Dr. Berg for all veterinary needs in the future.

  • Feb 14, 2013 by James D.

    We visit the central coast often and take our dogs with us.  Dr. Gerrit Berg has become our local vet after visiting three separate local vets over time.  He has treated our dogs for a number of conditions (two broken toes, removal of a growth from her lip, treatment for urinary issues, etc.)  We have come to know him as a truly caring vet who puts the welfare of his patients above all else.  Always a good diagnosis. Always timely and proper treatment.  Highly recommended!

  • Feb 04, 2013 by Janet A.

    Wow! what can I say about Five Cities, except that they are wonderful. We are traveling from out of town and thought that we could wait until we got home to deal with our puppy's tumor. But her tumor got bigger and bigger and so did our concern. We decided to go to Five Cities Vet due to their ratings and their prices. Also we decided to have her spayed and her tumor removed on the same day. Dr. Burg explained that he doesn't use antibiotics unless necessary, which we were delighted to hear. I was stunned to hear this as our vets back home over use antibiotics. Our puppy was only in pain the first day and the next day she was up and running. We had to hold her back and force her to resist her desire to be a puppy. She healed so fast we couldn't believe it. Then my other dog Baxter got an ear infection and Dr. Burg fixed him right up. The office is super clean too. I'm very happy with the service we received, and would recommend this Veterinarian to anyone and everyone who needs a good vet.

  • Apr 15, 2012 by Bonnie B.

    I am very grateful and very impressed with five cities vet. hospital. They took my very sick cat with no notice and with my daughter acting on my behalf (damned work!).  They quickly found a specialist and had a diagnosis within three hours. Unfortunately, it was quite a dire diagnosis, but Dr Berg was kind, careful and coherent in his discussion. We took our poor boy home and were very grateful for a follow up call the next day.  Thank you, Dr. Berg and staff.

  • Aug 08, 2011 by A Google User

    UNBELIEVABLE! Our dog recently passed away in my wife's arms and we were frantically calling around to see if we could find a place to take him. We called many vet's offices and they were either closed or "too busy" to get us in at that time. We then found Five Cities Animal Hospital! They were so caring and in tune to our immediate needs. We brought Sonee in and then took him from us and we saw they were hurting for us. True feelings and true emotion on their faces. When we got home this past weekend after taking a little trip, we had some very thoughtful things sent to us from them. They were heartfelt and truly cared for our little guy, even though we never had taken him there before. You better believe Maddin, our remaining Yorkie, has been signed up and will be going to FCVH from now on! Thank YOU for being so great in our grieving time....you now have a lifelong customer!

  • Jun 07, 2011 by L R.

    My dog had some issues and I took her here, they were nice but really put the sell to me. They convinced me I needed to pay for a full board of tests, $180.00 then told me nothing was wrong and didnt know what to say...turns out she has a butt gland issue!!! What a waste of money, that I never really got any results on. Go to Nipomo Dog and Cat hospital, doctor Maggie is awesome and so well priced!

  • May 30, 2011 by jlsweeney4

    I was here out of state when I noticed my poodle, Audrey was showing some discomfort around her mouth area. I called a Los Osos vet who quickly checked her gave some salve for weepy eye and prescribed Benedryl, that was a $90, less than…

  • Sep 05, 2010 by Ashley Beene

    Our puppy needed a vet and I called several offices in the 5 cities area. 5 Cities Vet was the best option. The staff was professional and warm on the phone and equally as pleasant when we met the lovely receptionists, technicians and doctors.

    The office is clean and due to proper appointment coordination we never wait in the lobby for more than 5 minutes. Equally as punctual are Drs. Berg to greet us. When we have questions we are provided with a clear explanation of options.

    Every time we visit we receive a caring check-up call to see if our puppies are doing well and their concern is authentic.

    At the local parks we asked around about other vets and their prices and we are very happy with our rates! 5 cities vet recommended pet insurance for us and we are happy with those services too.

    The staff is always there for a warm greeting the second we open the front door and they make the effort to know our dogs' names. It is nice to know the whole staff are animal people and not just a bunch of hoodlums looking for a job. Since we adopted our first puppy, Diesel over a year ago, we have seen the same staff. It is nice to see the low employment turnover and happiness in the workplace. We have run in to the ladies around town and they are so kind to say hello and ask how our dogs are (by name!).

    Thank you for taking care of Diesel and Brisco!!!

  • Sep 28, 2009 by foreverinlove

    I have heard wonderful things about the Doctors soI brought my dog and was greeted by a warm receptionist my experience unfortunately changes when I met the vet's assistant Molly. I have never been treat so terrible in my life. I am…

  • Aug 20, 2009 by monkeysmom07

    Clean office and very affordable rates! The assistants were helpful and very friendly. My dog was a bit aggressive when the vet first came into the room but he patiently waited for her to calm down and then she loved him! And she usually…

  • Aug 20, 2009 by Danielle A.

    Clean office and very affordable rates! The assistants were helpful and very friendly. My dog was a bit aggressive when the vet first came into the room but he patiently waited for her to calm down and then she loved him! And she usually does not like males. The vet was also not the least bit phased by the constant interruptions from my 2 year old daughter! Being new to California I am glad I found a place where I will be taking all of our furry family members. I recommend this office to everyone. The place was spotless and has a cute fish tank in the lobby. They gave me so much info about county laws  for dogs and health concerns for the area. They also told me that any time I have a question after hours, I can leave a message and a vet will be paged and call me back w/in 30 minutes! AMAZING!!! I can't say how much I loved this office!

  • Jun 09, 2008 by Eric M.

    Best veterinarian practice on the central coast!   I was travelling up the CA coast on vacation with my dog (Chuy) for a family vacation.   We were having a big bonfire BBQ in Pismo Beach and Chuy got too close to the fire and got severely burned.  He had really bad burns on his rear legs and was in a lot of pain.  I immediately called information and was given the number of Five Cities Vet hospital.  Although it was late and the clinic was closed, Dr. Berg called me back within 5 minutes and met me at their clinic in a matter of minutes.  Dr. Berg took such good care of Chuy, fixed him all up and even called once we got home to make sure everything was OK.  I wish I lived closer to Arroyo Grande or I would take Chuy to Five Cities Vet all the time.