Fantastic Sams Cut & Color

Fantastic Sams Cut & Color

3910 Broad Street
San Luis Obispo CA 93401
805-547-0440

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Facebook
  • Google Places
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Mar 03, 2020 by Karen Henry

    I love fantastic Sams!! Now that I’ve found Kate I will not anywhere else!

  • Jan 03, 2020 by Sunil R.

    I went in here without an appointment and was seated right away. I should have gotten the name of the guy who helped me. He did a great job and was very friendly. Loved his style and wingtip shoes.

  • Apr 20, 2019 by Michael B.

    Let's just say when the stylist are more concern about checking in customers than staying focused on the person in the seat, that's not good.  I guess the saying, "you get what you pay for," is still true.

  • Mar 17, 2019 by Eline K.

    Do not cut your hair here, unless you want something really simple very cheap!! Asked for a hair wash, a cut and blow dry. The woman cut all my hair in one swoop, didn't section it or anything. Then after my hair was cut she washes my hair. Then, she puts me in one of the chairs where you put your head in a little bowl who just blows hot air. Mind you, I am a female with long hair. My scalp was becoming dry, but the rest of the hair was just as wet. My hair also became super flat as it was just blowing down on my head. After putting me there she just went on to another customer, and I was just left to sit there. After a long time I noticed that my hair was not gonna dry. I asked if she could blow dry the rest of my hair and she goes, very annoyed: "Oh did you want a blow dry....?" After the blow dry she did nothing to correct my hair after that one big chop, and I even had to ask her to brush it after she blow dried it because it was a mess and she was saying she was finished. I was gonna cut my side bangs a little too, but after seeing how she treated me, I decided it was too risky, and I just wanted to leave. All in all a very bad experience, she was very rude and treated me as if she was annoyed to cut my hair... Place was very dirty and old.

  • Feb 16, 2019 by Nancy O

    I've been going in there for a while now. Ask for Stella she does a great job

  • Jan 23, 2019 by Joy B.

    I took my elderly mother on Weds to get a haircut and her hair curled on Broad Street. Pauline was very nice and she was careful that my mom did not get wet during her shampoo. I liked her a lot and she also has cut my husband's hair before. It is great to be able to walk in with no appt and have plenty of parking. Thank you Pauline for great service.

  • Jan 14, 2019 by Ughhh Mari

    Hair was wayyyyyy far from what I asked for and completely ruined my hair :(

  • Jan 10, 2019 by shirlene s

    Didnt like my hair color wasnt what i ask for..

  • Jan 10, 2019 by shirlene s

    Didnt like my hair color wasnt what i ask for..

  • Dec 28, 2018 by Pastel Hearts

    cut my bangs the wrong way and also cut them too short when I said below my eyebrows and instead they cut them over

  • Dec 16, 2018 by Amanda Barrett

    Honestly I never get the haircut or the color I want and they still don't understand how to do hair correctly. The fact that it's always uneven. I would rather cut my own hair. Js

  • Dec 07, 2018 by Damon Tisdale

    did not listen at all to the way I wanted my sons hair cut. My son was very disappointed when we left.

  • Oct 10, 2018 by Geri Nash-Perry

    Love my gal there! Love my hair and highlight!

  • Sep 21, 2018 by Kelly M.

    We've had some good experiences, but all of those stylists have left (Kristy, Danielle, etc). Today, Eileen cut my son's hair.  I thought I was clear that I wanted a trim (a 5 blade on the sides, and just a trim on the top to keep it a little longer).  Well, she went up the sides so far with the clippers, that the had difficulty trying to blend the top.  It looks horrible, and his school pictures are in less than two weeks.  It's now going to cost me twice as much to try to get it fixed; hopefully someone can blend the one side so it doesn't look so choppy and odd.  Do not go to Eileen (bleach blonde with lots of tattoos). I'm super disappointed.  We discussed the cut multiple times, and she clearly missed.

  • Sep 02, 2018 by Dawn C.

    I went in looking a little tired and came out looking fabulous. Platinum blonde and styled. Kelly always gives my hair a great color and she is great to work with. Sometimes It's very hard for me to find the time to come in  but I'm always glad I did. I felt pampered and relaxed. Thanks Kelly!

  • Aug 17, 2018 by Shane Willcox

    These guys do a pretty good job, very patient with kids. Prices are what you would expect.

  • Aug 16, 2018 by Shane Willcox

    These guys do a pretty good job, very patient with kids. Prices are what you would expect.

  • Jul 27, 2018 by Terry Rylant

    Great service very friendly will go back

  • Jul 07, 2018 by Lisa LaVine

    Very nice ladies, friendly and accommodating. I take my granddaughters, very happy with the service.

  • Jun 18, 2018 by Rondi Clark

    Loved my trim. Ladies where very nice. Will definitely go back.

  • Jun 17, 2018 by T Kruchas

    Was able to get a great cut, they listened and washed my hair, no extra charge!

  • May 27, 2018 by Alex Aguirre

    Good friendly staff.

  • May 27, 2018 by Dana Pruett

    Like Stella friendly does what you want

  • May 27, 2018 by Andrea Y.

    My initial contact with the lady that took my name and info was very nice and she was super sweet, but the stylist who did my cut was rude and rushing. Went in for a bang trim and she didnt try to measure the length of my bangs, check for stragglers or even notice my cowlick; she just chopped some hair and asked if it was good enough. She also kept interrupting me whenever I would go to speak. I didn't catch her name, but she has a lot of tattoos and bleached blonde hair.

  • May 26, 2018 by Lora A.

    Great job! Went for the platinum blonde color and texturize razor cut with some beach waves! Turned out nice.

  • May 03, 2018 by Raymond Garcia

  • May 02, 2018 by Anthony Cota

    Clean and the employee are very kind

  • Apr 29, 2018 by Darlene Frank

  • Apr 29, 2018 by Aarron Furrer

  • Apr 26, 2018 by Thomas Salinas

  • Apr 04, 2018 by R K.

    We have had amazing haircuts here, but it is totally dependent on the hairdresser. All time favorite is Mandy, who is a freaking expert at both cutting hair and coloring/highlighting. Have had many others in the past who were great- sadly this shop does not seem to be able to retain them (Danielle, Madison, Tiffany, and the list goes on...)

  • Feb 01, 2018 by Mandy F.

    Excellent service I am Extremely Pleased...Very Clean and Professional work ethic!!! SARAH'S WORK IS ABSOLUTELY AWESOME  definitely recommend her with high regards

  • Jan 28, 2018 by Brittney H.

    I called Friday at 5pm to see if I could get a haircut for my daughter. Sarah answered and was very rude and abrupt right from the get go. Upon my request she sharply and abruptly states, "we close at 7!".  "Okay," I say and hang up. My daughter has been wanting a hair cut for awhile now so I decide what the hell. We arrive and walk-in the door no one is in the store besides a gal sitting in the back of the salon. I say, "Hi, my daughter would like a haircut today." Seeing as the store was deafening empty I didn't see a problem getting my daughter on. Sarah came scowling over and demanded my phone number.  It was terribly uncomfortable watching Sarah be rude to my daughter and struggle to wash her hair. Sarah had a stone cold, and unapproachable demeanor the whole time we were there.  I understand Sarah has dwarfism but please be nice and respectful. My daughter didn't deserve your poor attitude directed at her nor did I. If you would have been more personable it would have reflected in your tip. Each day is a choice on how you want it to go and having a poor attitude gets you no where! We shan't be returning after this fail. I can tolerate poor customer service but won't tolerate it when it is directed at my daughter!  If you dislike your job so much than pick a different one where you don't have to deal with the public. That might be a better choice...just a thought.

  • Jan 15, 2018 by Justine D.

    We were here 1/15/18, my sister was told when we walked in that to dye her hair it would be no more the $130. My sister is blonde and they then bleached her hair to the point where her hair is about to break. And didn't even color it.... They charged my sister $128 dollars to ruin her hair. And they didn't even do what they promised for her... the stylist wanted to continue adding bleach to her hair if my sister hadnt intervened they would have bleached her to the point her hair was falling out... I will never recommend anyone here or return...my sister is truly traumatized....

  • Oct 30, 2017 by sara demele

    Amazing service! The staff are absolutely wonderful.

  • Jul 13, 2017 by Donna Ekmanian

    Did a great job blow drying my really thick hair!

  • Jul 06, 2017 by Luke H.

    Came in and stood at the counter. Made eye contact with many of the hair stylists but wasn't greeted. I got tired of waiting so I decided to sit down. After I waited another 15 minutes, a customer walked in, was greeted, and placed ahead of me. Stylist who helped the other customer made eye contact with me but still didn't greet me or asked if I had been helped.

  • Jun 02, 2017 by Jessica Dier

    Love that Yanelli, she helped me comeback from a horrible haircut and crazy dye job. Next we are going to experiment with color❤️

  • May 31, 2017 by Daniel R.

    Tiffani is the best! She's been doing my hair for almost 3 years now. I am never afraid to experiment new hair-styles with her. She is very flexible and have nothing but nice things to saw about her; and the shop is vey attentive with all their walk-ins. I always hear people ask for Tiffani and have seen people wait specifically for her on many occasions. I don't want to move from slo! Because i won't be able to get my hair done by her!

  • Apr 18, 2017 by Jeannie L.

    My cut and color still look fabulous 6 days later.  Thanks Mandy for doing such a quality job on my hair.

  • Mar 16, 2017 by Nikole B.

    DANIELLE IS AMAZING. Have never loved my hair more, plus she uses the best, healthiest products so even though it was heavily bleached it feels like silk. It's even better than before it was processed. Danielle is so caring and great with her customers. Sorry to say this but, she's way to good for fantastic sams. Wouldn't have gone their if it wasn't for her.

  • Mar 11, 2017 by Lauren H.

    I stopped in at Fantastic Sams to have a recent haircut that didn't turn out well fixed. Danielle was my stylist, and she was awesome! Thorough, knowledgeable, and friendly. She was able to get my hair looking exactly how I wanted. I will definitely be back! Thanks, Danielle!

  • Sep 24, 2016 by Andrea G.

    I went in not really expecting to get a really great cut BUT I met Brianna and she was great! She gave great advice and she gave me the best cut I have had in a long time. I am going back to her for color next week!!!

  • Jun 30, 2016 by Joan D.

    Great haircuts and coloring service. Staff is friendly.  Beats going to an expensive place for the same expertise.

  • Nov 16, 2015 by Chris G.

    I used to visit the Fantastic SAMS on foothill which was awesome. They always had extra hands and great service. When they closed and consolidated staff to the broad location I was looking forward to the same experience, more employees means more availability. NOT the case!! My regular guy is never there and they never seem to have extra hands. I will no longer spend my money there. 2 1/2 years of loyalty down the drain.

  • Nov 03, 2015 by Rayne Mcloughlin

    I won't let anyone else cut my hair! It didn't grow until Marissa cut it. She is sweet and amazing with my son as well!! Thank you!!!

  • Oct 13, 2015 by Kerri B.

    I've been here a couple of times before but I like to hop from salon to salon just because I'm weird. Anyways, I love that this salon has a young vibe to it. Every time I've gotten a haircut they always understand when I say that I want to keep the length. I also like a lot of layers and texture because my hair is thick and anything else looks rather blunt. I always get exactly what I want and after a bad blunt haircut ( and 4.5in off my length!) from a different place, I went in this place and got it perfectly fixed without having the length cut any more than it already was. This place is my savior and I'm not sure why I even try anywhere else. Plus, you can't beat the price!

  • Aug 23, 2015 by Lynn U.

    I just had a perm at this Fantastic Sam's and am amazed by the way Kellie treated me!  I had a picture of how I wanted my hair to look and she did everything she could to give me that look which came out just as I ask for! Have never had anyone who seemed to care about what I wanted done with my hair until now!! Will definitely go back!

  • May 04, 2015 by Linda N.

    We love Kelly she cuts your hair to the length you want.  They are all good there and friendly.  Have not had a bad experience  in years.  We have been going for. 20 Years.

  • Mar 21, 2015 by Phil T.

    Yea,  I like going here.    I am use to just getting a hair cut not a hair style.  So Fantastic Sams is my barber.   Kelly knows how to razor cut my thinning hair to make it look as good as can be for a 58 year old,  balding male.   The price is cheap.  For a half our of work on my head for 17 to 25 dollars is quite a deal.   I have never had to wait long either. I am giving it 5 stars because they met my expectations and beyond Philter

  • Feb 15, 2013 by Lovey S.

    I recommend Christie for hair color and cuts. the prices are great, quality fantastic, and staff very friendly. I have had a lot of terrible experiences at high end hair salons, so I thought it was worth trying here. I was extremely happy with the results.