Budget Cafe

Budget Cafe

3121 South Higuera Street
San Luis Obispo CA 93401
805-543-5024

Hours:
Mon: 6:00am - 2:00pm
Tue: 6:00am - 2:00pm
Wed: 6:00am - 2:00pm
Thu: 6:00am - 2:00pm
Fri: 6:00am - 2:00pm
Sat: 6:00am - 2:00pm
Sun: 7:00am - 2:00pm

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Facebook
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
  • Zomato
Reviews
  • Oct 08, 2020 by Jessica Dazzles

    Worst place ever!!!! Way too expensive 11.00 for concrete gravy they cant even put on a biscuit for you. I wouldn't geed the starved this food! Budget is a joke!!! Horrible food! Worst place I have ever eaten! I would give negative stars if i could!

  • Sep 19, 2020 by Joe ESposito

    Very good

  • Sep 18, 2020 by Mackenzie Grossgold

    Awesome food, good prices, excellent service! One of my favorite spots! They're doing a really good job with covid precautions too. Favorite breakfast in town!

  • Jun 26, 2020 by Kimberly McSparin

    The food is amazing, and staff are super friendly

  • Jun 20, 2020 by Mike McGill

    Great breakfast. Great service. Great price

  • Jun 18, 2020 by Ted Wieden

    Excellent food in a very safe and friendly environment. Had the fried chicken salad. Crispy chicken and a lot of it. Owner stopped by to check up. I'll go back.

  • Mar 16, 2020 by Todd Kemper

    Delicious food! Friendly, prompt service.

  • Mar 10, 2020 by Garrett Reed

    Great local diner with the best basic breakfast and good coffee too. Very friendly staff.

  • Feb 23, 2020 by Nancy Jimenez

    Very good...tasty food. Service was excellent.

  • Feb 17, 2020 by Michael Knackerson

    Wonderful local eatery although budget is not necessarily accurate to describe this place and while one could get a cheaper meal at Denny's, here, you're supporting the local economy, which is a good thing!

  • Jan 28, 2020 by rhonda meserole

    Great food. Wonderful staff and service.

  • Jan 17, 2020 by Anzu love

    Needed breakfast and this place was it. The food, the ambient, the music was just right to get the day started. Thank you!

  • Dec 08, 2019 by Daniel Scott

    Good was great and service was fantastic . Servers were very friendly and attentive.

  • Nov 22, 2019 by Terry C.

    This cafe is located directly across the street from the DMV on South Higuera St. The restaurant is a little hard to see from the street, as it is somewhat hidden in a small strip mall. They have been in business for over 20+ years, and appear to be frequented by regular customers. One may choose a table, booth or counter seating for one's dining experience. The decor is simple & comfortable, yet a bit tired & dated with stained carpeted floors, and a few tears in the booth seats. The restrooms were not clean. Their menu offers a huge selection of breakfast offerings, with early breakfast specials from 6 am to 9 am. The lunch selections include hot & cold sandwiches, soups & salads, as well as daily lunch special. They are open: Monday - Saturday, 6 am - 2 pm & Sunday, 7 am - 2 pm. We were warmly greeted when we entered the cafe. One waitress was very friendly, while the other one (blond) was rather indifferent to everyone. We were never asked about our meal, nor were our drinks refreshed. Overall, our late breakfast was fair.

  • Oct 24, 2019 by Leticia Avalos

    Found this place while shopping at salon centric and I was not disappointed! Delicious food and great service, definitely stop by.(parking is a little tight)

  • Oct 08, 2019 by Joshua Christensen

    Perfect breakfast joint for locals looking for an old school diner breakfast...no frills, just classic.

  • Sep 24, 2019 by K Keller

    I was called a man by the lady serving me. When I enquired as to why, she reiterated I did not look feminine and then proceeded to not apologize. I asked to speak with her manager who then told me I was threatening her. I have been a patron for years and have never been treated this way. Sad to see this kind of service from an establishment that has always been outstanding.

  • Sep 20, 2019 by Blake Webster

    Mom and pop style coffee shop.A no frills good ol' American breakfast that wont break the bank!But fir me the best part was that she never let my coffee cup run dry.Thats how it used to be and how it should be.Cudos to my waitress!

  • Sep 15, 2019 by Ray Miles

    Good food at reasonable prices. Waitress very efficient and a diligent. I enjoyed their chili size.

  • Aug 30, 2019 by Sheryl Burdick

    Great prices

  • Aug 16, 2019 by Mary Garza

    We Googled places to eat and this place came up. I like the menu &
    pictures of food. It was a small restaurant... it that was fine with us. Our waitresse was very nice . We didn't have to wait long to be seated, order our food or get our food after we ordered. Everything looked delicious and tastes good. If were in the part of town again. Will be sure to come back again
    Thank you for your pleasant hospitality and yummy food..

  • Aug 16, 2019 by Mary Garza

    We Googled places to eat and this place came up. I like the menu &
    pictures of food. It was a small restaurant... it that was fine with us. Our waitresse was very nice . We didn't have to wait long to be seated, order our food or get our food after we ordered. Everything looked delicious and tastes good. If were in the part of town again. Will be sure to come back again
    Thank you for your pleasant hospitality and yummy food..

  • Aug 16, 2019 by Mary Garza

    We Googled places to eat and this place came up. I like the menu &
    pictures of food. It was a small restaurant... it that was fine with us. Our waitresse was very nice . We didn't have to wait long to be seated, order our food or get our food after we ordered. Everything looked delicious and tastes good. If were in the part of town again. Will be sure to come back again
    Thank you for your pleasant hospitality and yummy food..

  • Aug 15, 2019 by Alfred G.

    I just love the place. Great staff, owner and breakfasts I try and have breakfast there once a week. Very special!

  • Aug 04, 2019 by marcus haidet

    Good food, friendly staff definitely a throwback from the old SLO. Well worth a visit.

  • Aug 04, 2019 by marcus haidet

    Good food, friendly staff definitely a throwback from the old SLO. Well worth a visit.

  • Aug 03, 2019 by Anthony P.

    The pancakes are huge! Our server was very friendly and polite to our daughter. Had a great atmosphere and seemed like mostly regulars were there. I'm glad I stopped by and tried this little place out. Would recommend if you are nearby.

  • Jul 30, 2019 by Trisha I.

    How does this place not get more love! This is a great little diner! Go check it out. All the classic dishes and good people taking care of you.

  • Jul 11, 2019 by Jessica

    Nice atmosphere, good food, and good service.

  • Jul 06, 2019 by Harold Bacich

    Good food with generous portions. The wait staff was friendly.

  • Jul 06, 2019 by Harold Bacich

    Good food with generous portions. The wait staff was friendly.

  • Jun 05, 2019 by Tammy Anderson

    We went years ago and couldn't remember why we never went back. Now we remember......horrible service and mediocre food.

  • May 28, 2019 by Mike Lehane

    Small, comfortable place with good food at decent prices

  • May 26, 2019 by Daniel Giammarco

    Food was good. Breakfast under $20.00. Hard to find these days.

  • May 23, 2019 by Lewis Luker

    Good food. Fast friendly Service. Large portions that must have a bearing on the price being a bit high.

  • May 23, 2019 by Lewis Luker

    Good food. Fast friendly Service. Large portions that must have a bearing on the price being a bit high.

  • Apr 11, 2019 by Carole Flores

    Friendly, warm environment. Great options and specials offered.

  • Apr 10, 2019 by Harold Wright

    Budget cafe is a great place to eat. They sometimes have chef's specials and that is what I get. If I cannot make up my mind I usually get the corned beef hash and eggs.

  • Mar 21, 2019 by Mike W

    The foods good the prices are good. I'll go here again. It would be five stars but it's not some super fancy or super good place.

  • Mar 12, 2019 by Chrisanne Wollett

    My three of my four criterias we're met: clean, delicious food, prompt and curtious service.

  • Mar 05, 2019 by Mike W

    The foods good the prices are good. I'll go here again. It would be five stars but it's not fancy or super good.

  • Mar 04, 2019 by Patricia W

    We hadn't been there in a long time, unfortunately they were busy, only one waitress, we placed our order, took a long time, my breakfast was not hot barely warm, husband's was lukewarm and she forgot his toast, then brought cold toast. It was not a good experience, especially after seeing people who ordered after us, get their hot steaming food at the same time.

  • Feb 10, 2019 by Deanne Coon

    Wish I lived closer. Love the food and best waitress ever...

  • Feb 03, 2019 by Doug Graham

    Great food and service! My first time there and I'll be back.

  • Jan 21, 2019 by Gina W.

    Friendly, attentive staff and great food! The manager made us feel very welcome. This will become a regular stop for us whenever we are traveling through SLO.

  • Jan 05, 2019 by John Rossetti

    Friendly people, hometown cafe with all the food items you'd expect good prices and good service.

  • Jan 03, 2019 by Timmy Jimmy

    I had a waffle topped with fruit and I was impressed! Most places make you pick a fruit to top your waffle with. Here, I got bananas, strawberries and blueberries!

  • Jan 02, 2019 by Anne Turner

    Friendly place full of mostly locals. Good sized portions of good food at reasonable prices. Not fancy - come as you are and no one will judge.

  • Dec 26, 2018 by Brian LaCabe

    I gave this place 5 stars, because the service was fast and friendly the people were willing to talk and they had humor. The food was delightful, it was a calm enviorment.

  • Dec 01, 2018 by Priscilla Sandoval

    Good honest food and good service

  • Oct 21, 2018 by Peter Houck

    Always good cafe style food and great service!

  • Oct 10, 2018 by Lori Figard

    Great food - baked bacon, fresh and crispy has browns, eggs were perfect over easy - friendly staff, my coffee cup was never empty, and I wasn't rushed out. I will be visiting again soon!

  • Sep 28, 2018 by Julie F.

    My experience at Budget Café could easily have been an excellent one. I was meeting a large group for brunch, and they very happily accommodated a last minute reservation for 13 people. The staff moved tables around and came up with a very creative arrangement that allowed us all to sit. The food was good, and our server was helpful.   I say the experience should have been excellent because towards the end of our meal, our server came to inform the group that another patron had anonymously, and very generously, paid for our meal. We all exclaimed how grateful we were for this act of kindness. It being a small space, and us being a large group, the person certainly overheard how grateful we were. However, shortly after, a second server approached us and insisted that someone in our group stand up and make a public statement thanking the person. We felt that, as the action had been anonymous, the person would not want to call attention their action in that way. We explained our reasoning to the server and offered an alternate action of writing a thank you note to the person, but she continued to repeatedly insist that we thank them in the way she deemed appropriate. Members of my group were made to feel uncomfortable, and when we left we agreed that as kind as that stranger's action was, it would have been easier to have paid for the meal ourselves.

  • Sep 05, 2018 by Gary Ray R

    One of my favorite places to go for a good old fashioned breakfast. My wife and I have been eating here for years. The service staff is always friendly, the food is tasty and the serving size is large.
    The Budget has all the normal favorites for breakfast, and I can recommend any of them, had them all over the years. They do have a couple of outside tables and on a warm morning it is pleasant to sit outside. There is the morning newspaper for those that still like to read newsprint.
    The parking lot has accessible parking for free and the entrance is accessible. There is an accessible bathroom, but it is a little tight to get to and a little small.
    For a good old fashioned breakfast at a local cafe that has been here for years, you can't beat the Budget Cafe.

  • Aug 12, 2018 by Marisela U.

    Visiting from So Cal, we were looking for a breakfast place with great food and minimal wait time.   We found this at Budget Cafe.  They have the best roasted coffee, tasty food, friendly and very attentive staff. Highly recommend cafe with our 5 star review.

  • Jul 29, 2018 by Janet O'Toole

    Great food, personable staff and decent prices...a great place for breakfast or lunch in SLO.

  • Jul 12, 2018 by Anastasia Terris

    Good service, friendly, and decent prices for how much food you get. Could have used more attention on my coffee refills.

  • Jul 06, 2018 by Angela Allegretta

    Very good food grate prices and the staff is very nice.

  • Jun 21, 2018 by Patrick T.

    Whenever I am in the area and I want a consistent place for breakfast, this is the place. This past visit was again out of the park. I normally get the Chile Verde omelette but what caught my eye was the Shanghai Fried rice. It was breakfast time but I said what the heck. I didn't regret it at all, it was so good that others in my party started to eat off my plate. Someone at my table did get the Chile Verde omelette and again it was fantastic. It had a good kick to it. Another person in our party ordered some pancakes and when they arrived, they were big and fluffy, just how pancakes should be. Another person ordered a cup of the split pea soup and that too was fantastic. Everyone in my party was happy with their order and the service is always excellent here. So chalk this up to another great visit to this place. If you're looking for a simple yet delicious meal and a great big bang for your buck, this is your place. Skip the IHOP/IHOB or Denny's and come here instead.

  • Jun 02, 2018 by Yasemin H.

    The worst steak I've ever ate. The owner said ' I will not charge' but she charged half of the bill  The waiter was disrespectful and rude. Never again...

  • Jun 01, 2018 by Cristopher G.

    This place is perfect for a quick meal getaway, let it  be breakfast or lunch, it's the perfect spot to grab a yummy bite. Waitreses are nice and service is prompt. Dont expect fine dining. It is just a nice, cozy spot with great coffee and good pancakes. I recommend the Polish Sandwich with american cheese and mustard. And the waffle with fruit and whipped cream is to die for. Yes, service could improve as some waitreses could be warmer but everytime we come back in, it gets better. Just step in with the right foot and your experience will be great! It also looks like the owner is there at all times and She is very approachable, say hi every now and then,  and that says a lot.

  • Apr 19, 2018 by JJ C.

    One star for food; one star for waitress. We've been coming here for years (10+). But the last visit left us all feeling like it's time to look for a new breakfast spot with the fam. Our waitress (older, blonde woman) was very rude and could careless about who was in the restaurant. We walked in and chose a spot and sat down. She came over, didn't say anything, and wiped the table off and got water on everything we had on the table (including us). All you have to do is say hi? It just kept getting crappier from that point. She was not a people person, but when the firefighters walked in together she certainly perked up. The food is ordinary breakfast food with steep prices. Was not particularly happy to write this review, but she left a bad taste in all of our mouthes.

  • Apr 09, 2018 by Eliza J.

    To me, Budget Cafe is definitely a 5+ stars! Budget Cafe is a locals lil gold nugget on the Central Coast. It's tucked away with a tucked away, cozy, warm atmosphere. As soon as you walk in you're warmly greeted. There's lots of smiles, chatters, clanking plates/flatware. Bottomless hot coffee.  Conversation. As you eat you're swayed by some good ole Motown, 50's, 60's, 70's  in the background. NOT ON MENU, but WILL BE MADE FOR YOU :-)!: Loco Moko w/ground beef patty or Spam; Monday is Shanghai Fried Rice; Tuesday Chicken & Broccoli Stir Fry over rice; Thursday Chicken and vegetable Chow Mein w/pan fried noodle; Friday chicken vegetable teriyaki over rice Another GREAT breakfast and lunch find for us! I feel like I struck gold :-) Truly!!!

  • Apr 08, 2018 by Kenneth Thompson

    Wow, great little place. This is where the locals hang out. Good food, friendly service. Very nice experience.

  • Apr 03, 2018 by Gail Hill

    Great for tasty down home cooking at a reasonable price. The friendly staff provide quick service greeting the regulars and newbies alike. All feel at home.

  • Mar 03, 2018 by Clinton Osgood

    Excellent food and service I would recommend it to go there to all my friends and every one that reads this

  • Feb 09, 2018 by Greg Johnson

    This is actually Sandy Johnson. I went there the other morning because I wanted a buttermilk pancake. Worst ever. I even had to use a knife to cut it and it was still hard to do. The bacon was clearly made the day before and microwaved to warm it. I usually have good experiences here with my husband. The waitress was on point however, but I didn't tell her.

  • Feb 04, 2018 by Krista Oliver

    Wonderful breakfast. Friendly staff. Large portions. Very satisfied.

  • Jan 24, 2018 by Chrys Barnes

    Love this place! An old fashioned family run coffee shop. One of our favorite breakfast places. Corned beef hash and eggs, waffles with strawberries and all the traditional stuff. Fast, friendly service.

  • Jan 23, 2018 by Edith Gaddis

    The food and staff are wonderful. Rhonda is the owner and she will always make the time to come and see if everything is going well. The waitress's are so welcoming and friendly they make sure that you feel like family. My client and I have been coming here for overs a year and when I lost one of them everyone here was very comforting to myself and her husband. I would like to thank all of the staff here.

  • Jan 20, 2018 by Tony B.

    The cook is a big reflection of management that sets the stage for the rest of the staff. All the staff is always in such a hurry, creating a stressful environment along with all the noise equipment that is squeaking in the back ground. My order is not written down so it is not communicated to the cook. The cook a short order cook really does take short cuts like my over medium eggs is served to me all the time with runny whites, if I ask for crispy bacon I get over cooked burnt beacon and it goes on... Asking to have my under cooked eggs replaced they are scraped off the plate and that I can except, but I can't really except that the eggs are now dripping off of the plate as it is served to me a second time. I find it one insult after another. Breaking a habit of 30 yrs will be hard but Margies is looking better to me all the time even if it takes me twice as long to get there. I have to stop banging my head up against the wall and expect a different outcome. The past is gone along with the owners, self respect and pride.

  • Jan 07, 2018 by Steve Labuff

    Local favorite! Bowl of oatmeal was smaller then other quality Cafe's

  • Dec 28, 2017 by Peter Romwall

    Old fashioned diner with a counter. It has a big menu and two daily special whiteboards. I had a delicious blueberry waffle loaded with fresh blueberries. I also had a plentiful side order of crisp hash browns. Service is friendly but efficiency depends on the server. There is a real pro working along side a server who is nice but sometimes befuddled.

  • Dec 13, 2017 by Robert Williams

    All I can say is dam good the best in town I give it six Stars

  • Nov 15, 2017 by Will C.

    Here's a little tucked away gem of a restaurant. It's worth a 5 star, but I took a st ar away for being .a little on the pricey side of "Budget" appearing.  Maybe my pricing standard is not as high for those who own half-million dollar homes in this town. These guys offer a little known Hawaiian, albeit surfers in Hawaii, dish called a Loco Moco,,,,,Spanish speakers should refrain from chastising the name. The dish is an ideal mix of carbs, protein, and fat. The dish is founded on a bed of rice, then a slab of hamburger is placed over it, then 2 eggs on top, and thennnnnn......brown gravy (or ask for country gravy) poured on top of all that. Life is good! I had my eggs over easy, but you can have it anyway you like except hard boiled, but ask the wait staff if you really want it that way. Try to get bite sized portions of all 4 items on your fork and put it into your mouth for a real experience.....yumMM

  • Oct 27, 2017 by Eric Coulton

    Excellent food and service. I eat at the Budget all the time. One of San Luis Obispos best breakfast locations.

  • Oct 25, 2017 by Bryan H.

    I hate to do this but after waiting at the DMV for 2 hours & then coming to eat here, it was a big mistake. Upon entering the restaurant we were'nt greeted with a hello, instead the waitress just took a quick look at us & kept on working. This should have been the first note to just walk away & to eat some place else. Like another review stated, you feel un-welcomed. Service was service, but do expect a snobby attitude from one of the waitress working. Every question we had was responded with a smart ass answer, making our table feel like idiots. I ordered a LG orange juice but received a small, but when I ordered a LG water, sure enough they got that correct, maybe because the water was free. A bit sketchy if I do say so. Don't even get me started on the food, the bacon was overcooked, the eggs were rubbery, the french toast tasted like egg, & the potatoes were burnt. All this was overlooked & as much as I tried to justify the experience as just a bad day, it wasn't, because the truth is, this is just a bad place. Save your money, eat elsewhere... I mean Dennys has better food than this place.

  • Sep 18, 2017 by Robert Williams

    It's the place to go for breakfast is the best service is great too

  • Aug 29, 2017 by Katie B.

    Meh, it was just ok.  I was excited to try the Teriyaki Chicken Stirfry Lunch special.... Never Again... it is a clean little restaurant... the service was "decent" - but that Teri-yucki lunch was No Bueno! I'll give it one more shot and try breakfast for lunch next time and we'll see how that goes! I also thought it was rather pricey for what we got... it was $28 for 2 sodas, teri-yucki lunch special and the fish sandwich....then with tip it cost me $32. Like I said, "meh".

  • Aug 27, 2017 by Kate Brennan

    Meh...I was excited to try the teriyaki chicken lunch special...until I did... Not a fan... I will try one more time and have breakfast.

  • Aug 18, 2017 by Deysi Perez

    Love the pancakes and waffles but some of the waitresses need to be retrained the times my family, friends, and I have gone for breakfast the service was terrible.

  • Jul 13, 2017 by Geoffrey Chaney

    Love this place... prices are great and the food is good too!

  • Jul 09, 2017 by David Darbyshire II

    Excellent good and service.

  • Jun 24, 2017 by Carolyn E.

    I've been coming here for decades and the fact that this place is always packed speaks volumes. This is a great place for American breakfast. Absolutely my favorite place for pancakes and French Toast.  And they know how to scramble eggs just right too!  Breakfast is served pretty fast as well.   Give it a try.

  • Jun 19, 2017 by Patrick McCoy

    Dropped in after dropping of a vehicle at Big Brand and it was a short walk up higuera. Good coffee and carrot nut muffin is delicious. No wifi i can discover which is why the 4 stars but atmosphere is cozy and staff are friendly amd courteous

  • Jun 06, 2017 by Steven Long

    Nice small place, great food and just the right amount of attention paid by the waitress.

  • Apr 12, 2017 by Edie Gaddis

    Very good food, and the staff are wonderful.

  • Mar 08, 2017 by Robert Cone

    Nice and cozy breakfast and lunch spot. Friendly staff but I feel it is a bit ill-named as I would not consider their prices to be "budget". Expect to pay more than say at a Denny's for example.

  • Mar 08, 2017 by Daniel Mitchell

    Used to eat here frequently. Stopped when I got burned hash brown potatoes one too many times. The food is mediocre at best and overpriced. Bathroom and dining room woodwork and carpet very dirty. Wonder what the kitchen looks like? This was a good spot 20 years ago. One upside is the help, who are usually friendly and efficient.

  • Jan 26, 2017 by D.P. H.

    Ate here years ago and it was very good. Thought I'd take my daughter there for breakfast after a trip to DMV. Not good any longer and won't go back. Waitress was as unfriendly as the DMV employee we just left across the street. Some of the food was under cooked. When paying the bill, the counter person apparently found the waitress undercharged my $28.00 bill by two whole dollars. Instead of being good customer service and writing it off, she charged my debit card again for the two dollars. She then walked away when I had questions about the multiple sales receipts. Oh well.

  • Jan 04, 2017 by Rick B.

    We stopped by this place based on a recommendation from a local business while driving back home to southern California and if was the  worst recommendation we received. Waited to be seated and waitress kept herself busy sweeping and serving other customers already seated. Poor service from the get go , it was very apparent we weren't wanted in this place,  she had already asked how many in our party when we walked in and I said two. After spending 4 minutes keeping herself busy sweeping and refilling coffee she comes back and asked how many people in our party again.  We were the only ones waiting to be seated and the place had at least 1/3 of the tables empty. After asking for the number of people in our party the second time she told us today the only table available was the one at the entrance of the establishment and that if  we wanted another table we would have to wait. There  were  at least 6 more tables available. At this point I was done with this place,  I told my wife, let's go we're not wanted here.  We left this place and visited another location near by and it was a night and day difference.  We were cordially greeted and serviced promptly and our food was delicious. If I could leave a negative star I would,  basically if you're a minority,  don't visit this place. It's sad this day in age that we have to deal with this type of service.

  • Dec 08, 2016 by Gary Stevenson

    Always a great breakfast spot. Employees are great and I love the small town vibe!

  • Nov 27, 2016 by Bonnie M.

    This is one of our favorite places to eat breakfast or lunch. The food is home made using quality ingredients. Very tasty and service is great. The employees are long time employees and do a really good job. Also it is pleasing to see how respectful they are to one another. Reasons to eat there are good food, good service and a place that feels good all around. So many of the customers are regulars like us. They must see the value like we do.

  • Nov 13, 2016 by Joe F.

    We just ate lunch at the Budget Cafe, on the recommendation of a friend.  Perhaps breakfast would have been better. On the plus side, the place in clean and inviting and the service in great.  The food, however, was another story.  The mashed potatoes were obviously from the box, but were not even successfully reconstituted.  They were just dry powder under the mediocre gravy.  The turkey sandwich was white balloon bread with processed meat and the aforementioned gravy dumped on it.  The waitress cheerfully exchanged my husband's powdery mashed potatoes with french fries (clearly the frozen and reheated variety) that were almost as disappointing.  My burger was dry and tasteless, on a white bun with iceberg lettuce and two slices of anemic tomato. We knew that the Budget Cafe is not about haute cuisine, but this comfort food was decidedly not comforting.

  • Oct 30, 2016 by rhonda todd

    Comfort food in a comfortable setting at a good price served by nice people.

  • Oct 18, 2016 by Deann G.

    We were served food that was over salted, and the waitress did not offer any alternatives, a family of three had an horrible experience with food and service, and tried to  contact the owner regarding this matter.  No RETURN CALL BACK. Cheese Omelette  a little girl went very early, to have a basic meal for gymnastics competition,presentation, quality of the eggs were too SALTY. Waitress, STATED:"WELL we don't put any salt in our FOOD" and walked off".  Our family had over cooked bacon and NOT ANY ITEM WAS CONSUMED. NO COFFEE refills and my child went hungry to her gym competition. Take NOTE:  Over $35.00 for a meal that was inedible   This underwriter always tries to be objective, however this Budget CAFE  not a place to have a meal.

  • Oct 17, 2016 by Samantha B.

    there are better places that taste much better and not toooo expensive!!!!  the only good thing are the fries.. will not be going back

  • Sep 14, 2016 by Amber Ace N.

    I hate to be the person who only leaves a review when its bad but the first two times I had eaten here the food was decent, enough to come back. Third time is not a charm, I ordered the French toast and it was awful, my boyfriend didn't even want it and he'll eat anything. It was way too drenched in egg to where it didn't even resemble bread anymore and was not sweet at all. My boyfriend didn't enjoy his meal either. The waitress was pretty disinterested in her job or making sure we were enjoying our food. We would rather wake up at 6 am and rush to Louisa's before the crowd then ever go to budget again which is pretty dissapointing because we enjoyed eating there before. From what I've heard from other people is they are on the decline, hopefully they get it together, though even if they do not sure we'll be back.

  • Sep 04, 2016 by Marc N.

    The food is good but the restaurant, employees, bathrooms, and kitchen are disgusting! I can't believe they are still in business!

  • Jul 05, 2016 by Grace S.

    Love the food, but the service was beyond awful. First, I came in with my mom and we waited at the host stand to be seated like you do when you come into a restaurant and see a host stand. The blonde lady at the counter told us to sit anywhere like the words were being flashed on a neon sign. We choose a table and she comes over to greet us by saying "you chose the only dirty table." So sit anywhere but that table then? She comes back to get our orders and looks at my mom like its a unlawful to get ham on a vegetable omelet. While she is writing down the order, I wait patiently for her to turn to me and ask me what I would like so I know she's ready for me. Instead I get an abrupt "are you ordering." Definitely wouldn't stick around for just a coke. After I said to my mom a bit too loudly that I was writing a review on Yelp, she seemed to soften up a bit. She even inflicted her wrath on the poor cook, which we heard word for word from the other side of the restaurant. If my mother had not been with me, I would've asked to speak to the manager because from the point of view of someone that works at a restaurant, that service was unacceptable. Our servers would be in big trouble if we acted like that. It honestly just had me in a bad mood throughout the entire meal, which is not what I had in mind when I asked my mom out to breakfast.

  • Jun 26, 2016 by Lydia C.

    The name of this restaurant is kind of funny. The restaurant must be on a budget, but not the prices. It's very expensive and very low quality. I got a vege omelet and it had frozen vege medley in it, gross! Who wants frozen carrots and broccoli in their omelet. Does it really cost that much more to get fresh veges?

  • Mar 11, 2016 by Happy S.

    I'm disappointed... My mom and I used to go there and really liked it but the place has declined.... They serve large portions and while it is busy we don't usually wait in line. Today my mom and I went... We got seated right away but there was only one server and it was 15 minutes before were greeted and given coffee... The way she held the coffee when she walked by I thought it was going to slip out and burn someone....  When she came back .. I asked her if the sausage on the breakfast menu was pork or beef and she told me ALL sausage is pork.... I said generally breakfast sausage is pork but not all is and then she went on and on how ALL sausage is pork... I don't really care that much which one it is but she went on and on and on.... Most people know there are several types of sausage..... We ordered ... then, We saw her when she brought the breakfast and that was it.... By then another server came in and was walking by and we asked for coffee refill... The breakfast is huge but the pancakes we not light and fluffy... Very yellow in color too... which kinda turned me off.... The worst was the bacon it was large pieces but completely dried out... I thought maybe it's just mine but saw it like that on others plates.... I wish I had taken a picture.. Also, a customer stood  up and started testing the restaurant vacumm while we were eating... I saw a whole bunch of dust flying up.... Yuck... One of the servers went on to demonstrate how to empty it. .. Yuck again I don't eat all day long....so when I do eat I really want something good... I don't need huge quantity either.. Just looking for quality didn't find it here this time :( Hope they improve so they can stay in business

  • Jan 22, 2016 by Carl L.

    I was Looking for a new breakfast place in the area that I haven't been to before and this place was it! The soup was fantastic and so was the omelette. Planning to come again!

  • Oct 17, 2015 by Tami G.

    Stumbled upon this place across the street from the DMV. Kinda like a Mel's Diner:) it was pretty busy at lunch time and only 1 server who wasn't the friendliest. We ended up eating outside as my eating partner could smell someone smoking in the kitchen? I don't know! The price was definitely misleading as it certainly wasn't budget but in all honesty it was really good! I will go back again!

  • Oct 12, 2015 by Holly A.

    Sorry to say, as I'd love to love it and go back every Sunday. But they need to realize there is more to a table than taking and order and dropping a check. Especially when the food takes nearly an hour to arrive, and it's for a hungry five and half year old boy.

  • Sep 21, 2015 by Kristina V.

    Good down home cooking.  The blt, add avocados... yum! Bottomless ice tea, great service. Wonderful local spot.

  • Jul 25, 2015 by David M.

    Eggs Benedict was on the specials board today, $12.50, but I would have paid $10. The yolks were a bit runny and the English muffin was not as crispy as it should have been. The home fries were on point, though. But the service was exceptional. A genuine smile with my coffee pour every time. It feels like a diner in here and that's a good thing. Apparently this place is an institution in SLO. They close early but they are open early. If there was a bar nearby, the owner would make a killing, but there isn't and bars close at 2 am. This needs to change. Will probably come back again when friends are in town. Smoke weed every day.

  • Jul 03, 2015 by Tiim N.

    I'd been to Budget Cafe once, a few years ago, and remembered it as being good.  Today was a disappointment.  I don't know if the problem was with the kitchen or with the servers, but they were totally unable to keep up - and the restaurant was only half full.  I was served one cup of coffee, then no offer of a refill (or any contact with my server) until my meal was served 15-20 minutes later.  I ordered their Mini Ranch breakfast - one pancake, two eggs, two strips of bacon - pretty basic.  The food was fine - but nothing to write home about.  I'm glad my server told me their bacon is normally very crisp - I ordered mine medium, and it was still more well done than I'd have liked.  During the time I was there, two orders were returned to the kitchen - at least one because it was served cold.  Mine was warm, at best.  I drove by Denny's on the way - kind of disappointed I didn't stop there.  My meal would have been less expensive, and likely at least as good!

  • Mar 07, 2015 by Robert A.

    Ate there a few times, my mom use to like to go there. Simple home cooking, my only complaint, the  hollandaise was from a can...

  • Feb 26, 2015 by Judith S.

    I love the food at "Budget Cafe" especially the HOME FRIES!!! But unfortunately my last 2 times that I have eaten there weren't so PLEASANT! There is this waitress with short, blonde hair that I think she is a racist or something. My first bad experienced was with a friend for went to have breakfast, we ask her if we can move to a booth table and her face expression was really rude. And we haven't even ask for our drinks yet. She said: Okay!!! with the ugly expression on her face. So my friend and I were really pissed off and left the restaurant. Today my husband and I went again to have a delicious breakfast, because like I said I love the food at this place. Our waitress was a really nice women, no complains with her at all :) But when my husband went to the cashier, there was that same racist waitress. My husband paid with a credit card and when he had to sign the receipt, she just left us there. She even didn't take the receipt back or even said: THANKS FOR COMING! or HAVE A GOOD DAY! or just a simple THANK YOU! even if she doesn't mean it. I was really mad at her attitude that's why I'm witting this complain. GIRL JUST BECAUSE WE DON't LOOK AMERICANS, PLEASE DON'T TREAT US LIKE YOU DON'T LIKE YOUR JOB!!!!

  • Nov 15, 2014 by Missy D.

    Good food. Prices are outrageous tho! "Budget" cafe is wrong! Staff is friendly. But I'd rather pay the same $ for better food!!

  • Aug 29, 2014 by Robbie S.

    Yum yum Quick and fast.  Rhonda the owner is totally great and really cares what others think about her restaurant.  She always wants to please and does a great job. Perfect menu!   Keep it up Oh. Like the Facebook page too.

  • Jun 21, 2014 by Jerry D.

    My wife, our two boys, and myself came in for breakfast this past Sunday (04/15/14). The restaurant is homey, and inviting. The staff is welcoming and attentive. The food is delicious, we had a variety of breakfast items, and it was all delicious. The Budget Cafe is our new go to breakfast place on the weekend, and we can't wait to go back.

  • Mar 25, 2014 by Nick P.

    Interesting diner feel. Not particularly cheap considering the name but not too bad either.

  • Mar 21, 2014 by Laurie C.

    I do not understand why this place received a 4 star rating :-0  The only, and I do mean only, valuable offering would be the friendliness of the waitresses .. All two of them!!  The food had no homemade qualities whatsoever... zero quality to their ingredients used!!  All five of our items were flavored a cut below a IHOP or Denny's ... which gives you perspective on the blandness of their menu items. Our goal was to find a quaint hole in the wall restaurant with awesome food...we found an overpriced hole on the wall. :-( Sorry folks

  • Feb 25, 2014 by Kevin M.

    Located in a strip mall but you pretty much forget that once you're inside.  The interior has a comfy diner feel - nothing fancy.  Our server was just very friendly and speedy.   We ordered off the menu.  It was not bad...it was just average.  We ordered steak and eggs and it was okay.  We also had chicken fried steak which was not freshly prepared, rather a frozen item that is purchased from Sysco.  It was disappointing.  The gravy tasted like a mix and I didn't finish either the CFSteak or biscuit & gravy.  The country fried potatoes were freshly prepared but cut very small, almost diced...kinda weird, but they tasted ok. It wasn't awful but it certainly wasn't fantastic.  Would I go back?  Probably not.

  • Feb 05, 2014 by Katherine M.

    The foodservers are almost always friendly here.  I've never had a bad experience.  My husband and I always go for breakfast.  Last time I went, our foodserver was very nice and made sure to check on us.  The food is a decent price.  I told her to tell the cook that he or she made the best waffle I had ever eaten.  The cook(s) always prepare my eggs, toast, and bacon just how I ask for them.  Yummo.  They could use more seating to accommodate their growing clientele.

  • Jan 28, 2014 by Ed M.

    This place impressed me with their good old down to earth home town service. Other restaurants take notice. This is an old school diner with excellent service. Thank you budget cafe. I really enjoyed it.

  • Jan 27, 2014 by Charley C.

    I have had breakfast here twice in the last month and find the staff to be on so friendly, the service to be above average, and the food preparation and quality to be very nice.  So if you want a nice breakfast, at a place that is out of the hustle and bustle this is the place. to go. Small and homey and I will be coming back again!

  • Sep 06, 2013 by Tony J.

    This place is the type of place you go to when every other place is busy. It is not horrible and it is not great. The food here is good. The Belgian waffles are cooked fresh not from frozen. The omelets are good, just your average type. The only thing I'm excited for when I come here is the home fries. They are delicious with the pepper plant sauce. The prices are a little high for being average quality. I'd recommend coming here only once in a while. There is plenty of other place to go for breakfast.

  • Aug 18, 2013 by John C.

    This place is outside the inner-city, so you can actually find parking during your lunch break and don't have to compete with moronic tourists and mindless students. The food is good American, service is great, and the prices are right. I enjoy the old-style cafe ambiance: booths along the walls, counter seating along the back, tables in the middle, and glass front. There's one table out front for those with petishes.

  • Aug 16, 2013 by Bob T.

    "Budget Cafe" yeah right. They are on a budget, not you. Why would anyone go here when you can get better and cheaper food at DENN'Y! Yes it's that bad.

  • Jun 15, 2013 by Matthew M.

    This place has a loyal local following, great food and service.  Anywhere you get a choice between toast or biscuits and gravy is good with me!

  • Jun 13, 2013 by Mo M.

    Anytime it rains I am thinking about the Vegetable or Navy Bean Soup with Ham, from here. I miss the Budge!

  • Jan 20, 2013 by Susan C.

    I'm not sure what happened, but sometime in the past few years, it seems this place changed hands and it is not *near* as good as it used to be, and that is sad. The last time I was here for breakfast was at least over a year ago, it was cheery and bustling. The clientele are in SLO and hence just happy people anyway!  But this last time we went in for lunch, and it was not a good experience for me. My grilled-cheese-and-ham tasted and smelled like old oil (not butter, like it's supposed to!). My husband's burger was just OK, and his clam chowder was so bad he sent it back (a rare occurence for him!). The place didn't seem clean, and I felt like corners were being cut. But worst of all, the prices were sky-high. If you're called "Budget Cafe", try to live up to that. A remodel (especially of the front door area that always cause a bottleneck) would be awesome. A new coat of paint, flooring, etc, some cool knickknacks on the shelves, some music, and a little culinary attitude adjustment  would do wonders.

  • Dec 16, 2012 by Cris B.

    Good little breakfast, nothing to write home about. Very friendly staff and there are always tables available. Best part is being able to sit outdoors with my dogs.

  • Oct 02, 2012 by Miranda M.

    Consistently good and one of the few places in this area that actually makes real hashbrowns.

  • Sep 05, 2012 by Aleta D.

    Classic greasy spoon diner, with tasty food but don't expect anything healthy. It certainly has its fans; there are so many regulars that the waitress asked if we needed a menu.  It's certainly not hip but it fills your belly.

  • Jul 27, 2012 by J D.

    It is a budget cafe indeed. I like the neighborhood feel. The waitresses are always friendly and they have a classic menu. It's easy to stop in and rely on your traditional comfort foods. They also offer daily specials which is where you can look for the items with a little more flare. A bit pricey for what exactly is being served, nonetheless, always a good experience.

  • Aug 23, 2011 by A.J. H.

    Great food.  Eggs beni was the bomb.  Thanks Kathy for the awesome service.

  • Jul 22, 2011 by Minas K.

    Good portions,food and very friendly service that's what makes Budget Cafe worth going too. I have only had breakfast, but every time I have had good food with good service. If you like crispy bacon this place is for you!!

  • Apr 30, 2011 by Vicki H.

    This is the perfect breakfast spot (I haven't eaten there much for lunch, although I tried a special Chinese lunch one weekday that was delicious). Their specialties are healthy "comfort" foods. Breakfast always means hot fresh coffee poured steaming into your cup BEFORE you think of asking for more, over-medium eggs always right, and the best hash browns and link sausages anywhere--especially the sausages. (They have patty sausages too, but the links are better.)   The Budget Cafe has comfortable booths lining two walls, as wall as a breakfast counter, small tables, and eating space out in front. It's always spotlessly clean and the waitresses and owner are friendly and competent. The prices are modest and the atmosphere homey--for singles, couples, and families.

  • Aug 20, 2010 by Johnny O.

    I was super hungry one day, and had a 30 min lunch. I called in my order and made the worst mistake. This restaurant is just bad. Bad dishware, and food. I felt like i was stuck in the middle of nowhere eating bad food. The service was good, people are friendly. Can't blame them for bad food, they don't own the place. If your hungry and want something quick, i would suggest a pizza from Costco.

  • Jul 22, 2010 by Denise G.

    SO good. I moved away and crave their food so much.  Have to go every time I visit and it's always the same.  I highly recommend going!!

  • Jun 04, 2010 by SLO Life J.

    The name adequately describes the prices, but this has become a favorite neighborhood hangout because of the friendly service, the all-American standard food, and of course the prices. :-) Nothing gourmet here...just your cafe basics like breakfast dishes, burgers, tuna melts, chef salad, pork chops, etc. What I do particularly like are the omelets, which are uniformly large full to bursting with whatever filling you ordered, and cooked light and fluffy. I avoid the home fries (too greasy) in favor of their regular french fries, which are not. Breakfast appears to be available all day, but be aware they close at 2 PM and are not open for dinner. Very friendly service, great coffee. It;s a bit noisy, and almost always crowded during weekday lunch rush.

  • Dec 01, 2008 by fred m

    Went in and the waitresses/owner was rude. We asked for a menu. They are not only over priced, but they charge 2 different prices for the same foods. They also didn't like it cause we were in our pajamas, which all college kids run around…

  • Mar 23, 2006 by Nick G.

    I didn't have much money on me, so I decided to give the Budget Cafe a try since the name implied that it wouldn't cost much. Well, it was a little misleading. The prices were no lower than any other cafe or diner around. They were not…

  • Jan 13, 2006 by Caroline C.

    i should have known when i saw the name, but it was just so close to my work, and i was just so hungry. i can cook myself up a better wonderbread-less breakfast with very little effort for less money.